10 independent reviews for Finland Northern Lights vacation, Wilderness Auroras

These full and frank independent reviews are from travelers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travelers below.


review 20 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The reindeer farm was a great day out. Then seeing the northern lights which lasted for hours and just got better and better.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just do it. It may seem a great expense but it is very much a once in a lifetime experience.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The local farmers and shops very much depend on us going there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Out of 10, 11!!

review 10 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everything because it was a new experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Let the company do it all for you. Trust your guide.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10 out of 10.

review 7 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Every minute I spent in Finland was truly memory making! To walk in snowy woods along paths through the trees, to hear nothing but the sound of my breath was so soul restoring. Every aspect of the trip was wonderful, the activities were tailored to individual needs, the guides and staff at the lodge were knowledgeable, helpful and good company in every way. All in all it was a truly wonderful winter break in every way. To sum up standing on a frozen lake gazing at a star filled sky at midnight then being blessed with the light show of ones dreams! That's one memorable night! Thank you all who were responsible for making it happen.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy every minute, take plenty of light warm layers and have lots of fun!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As Finland is suffering in this economic climate any thing to bring tourists is a good thing the country is vast and has huge tracks of wilderness so can take more tourist activity done in a sustainable way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 9 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We loved it all, from the shock of the cold when we landed, all of the activities, the people, the landscape, the food, the accommodation and the warm welcome and care of all the staff - truly fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just get base layers, all you need for the cold is provided.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all of this

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the best vacations we have ever had

review 2 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Catching the northern lights twice! This was just before Christmas night when the moon was shining bright and to be able to capture it all on digital camera despite the freezing -20c temperature on that night.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You have to be fit to be able to enjoy the snowshoeing and crosscountry skiing. Skiing involves quite a bit of your thigh muscles ans so does snowshoeing. The environment was really amazing and serene. Just what l really wanted, a real break from every thing. My mind was so refreshed after this wonderful trip. Don't over pack. I brought way too much winter clothing and could not do much shopping. be prepared to walk.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it certainly did.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This is one my best vacations where l really got a fantstic break in a pristine environment that is so pure. I felt so rejunevated mentally. Even my friends say so. The locals are very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and professional.

review 23 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The morning with the reindeer herder.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

What it says in the brochure is what you get.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely all of the above

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 15 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The organisation and fun of the activities especially the dog sledding, snow mobiling and the reindeer farm trip.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't hesitate to opt in for the activities as the search for the Northern Lights then becomes secondary. Don't rely on seeing them and don't spend hours in a car trying to find them - do the activities and hopefully see them whilst enjoying yourself!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Possibly

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic - one of the best we've ever been on. The scenery and experiences were so much different than I had ever expected

review 8 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the Northern lights and trying out different activities such as cross country skiing, husky dog sledding and riding on on a snowmobile.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The trip dossier gave lots of relevant information, so just relax and have fun.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it did in respect of the environment and that local staff 95% are hired in the hotel.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was fabulous. Lovely resort, great food, friendly and welcoming staff, clean hotel and beautiful countryside. 10 out of 10!!

review 3 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The sheer scale of Lapland and being able to get a feel of how the Sami live (reindeer farming, sledging with huskies, ice fishing). Wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

One good set of thermal underwear and woollen clothing is all that is needed. Excellent cold suit, heavy duty gloves and boots provided. Very relaxed atmosphere so no smart clothing needed. ie Don't spend a fortune on special clothing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly supported local economy - and culture and environment will only survive if visited and valued.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Loved it - first time this far north, and a wonderful way to see in the New Year and our 60th birthdays!

review 21 Jan 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The entire trip was a great experience! From the moment you land to the last day was very enjoyable. And the itinerary was very well planned even for single traveler like me.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The package provided and dossier are very informative and has covered almost all the information.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable!

Vacation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the vacations. In addition, we don't run these vacations ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travelers

I am reborn! Simply the best vacation I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies