9 independent reviews for Rajasthan tours, India

These full and frank independent reviews are from travelers who have booked directly through Responsible Travel. They are not edited by us or any of the companies we work with. Find the real story, from real travelers below.


review 5 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing tigers in Ranthambore National Park- yes two less than twenty feet away. I had no expectations of seeing so to come across one resting beside the track who was then joined by another was amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

As the trip moves on almost every day there is quite a lot of unpacking/packing so make life easy for yourself and pack light!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Travel covered most forms so included public trains and buses so no additional load on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Travel to fill all your senses with many surprises and some chance to relax along the way.

review 22 Mar 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It is impossible to choose from so many wonderful experiences. The Rajasthan palaces and forts were stunning in their scale and beauty and it was amazing to stay in two that were now offering hotel accommodation. The bright colours of the saris worn by women at work in the fields was a very memorable sight too.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It was a well planned itinerary covering a wide range of cultural and leisure activities making the most of the two weeks in India. Don't hesitate to book. Just go! It was amazing. One thing we found a minor problem with was the lack of credit card facilities so be prepared to use ATMs to get out cash. ATMs are widely available but could be temperamental, working some times and not others for no apparent reason. We were taken to some 'factory outlets' which were expensive and Used the hard sell. Think carefully before buying from these places. It is better to wander through the shops and markets to check out prices, quality and choice.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The operator uses local transport, including trains. The hotels were small businesses and not part of large world wide chains. The company has a carbon off set scheme with a large tree planting programme to help off set the impact of the vacation on the environment. It included visits to local markets, villages and farms which allowed us to see the real India and understand the lives of the people. It provided a canvas bag to use for shopping to reduce the use of plastic bags.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a brilliant vacation, good value for money and I would enthusiastically recommend it to others. Our group was a mix of ages from 20 year olds to over 60's so it is suitable for all wanting to experience India.

review 23 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Most memorable - the amazing places we stayed and the wonderful people we met most exciting - being driven through the streets of Delhi, it got the adrenaline pumping anyway!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We went in January, it was pretty chilly, especially on some of the early mornings, take some warm clothes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We didn't see any direct impact on the local people as a result of our vacation or tour providers. Although we stayed in some locations where the hotel was the main source of employment, but I expected to see more projects in the small, rural areas we visited.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was fantastic, it was my first 'tour' vacation and I enjoyed leaving all the planning (and worrying) to someone else. There was a good balance of organised activities and free time to do our own thing. We visited some amazing places, met some lovely people, saw amazing sights and ate an awful lot of curry! I much preferred the rural areas we visited, the people were lovely. I became a bit tired of the frenetic mayhem of Delhi and the constant pestering from locals.

review 20 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We had many memorable and exciting experiences from this trip. Some of the local villages we visited were fantastic in terms of getting a glimpse of rural life in Rajasthan. We also stayed at some very interesting accommodation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring supplies of tissues of all kinds - toilet, face, hand and wet wipes - they will come in handy! Pack your suitcase with old clothes that can be donated to charity at the end of the trip.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Possibly some benefits to the local people in terms of spending money there but no long term benefits.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The tour was fantastic - one of our most memorable trips. We had a great tour leader (Veerendra Rathore) who went the extra mile for the group.

review 8 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The Camel Fair at Pushkar. To see so many camels and horses assembled in one spot was awesome.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do take Olbas oil as the fumes from toot toots and cars is unbearable and a few drops on a tissue held to the nose really helps.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Oh definitely. We used local guides, visited small villages and bought goods we saw being made in their homes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic.

review 8 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable parts of the vacation in Rajasthan were the diversity of the scenery and the people. The colours and the smells and the respect for cows are also etched into my memory. Despite the busy and often scary driving all motorists avoided the cows with skill and care. This level of respect could be used to develop other areas where respect and care does not so readily exist. People were generally very happy and were very welcoming. It was a lovely vacation and one I will remember for a long time.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for a diverse level of accommodation and prices charged for basic commodities such as bottled water. All the hotels provided clean towels and bedding so there is no need to take your own. If possible have a good camera with you as there are sights to see and to capture for the future.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I was led to believe that there was a 'good water provision in place' that would mean the purchase of bottled water was not necessary. This did not turn out to be the case and for the majority of us that meant buying approximately 4 litres of water a day in plastic bottles which amounts to 48 bottles a day! I think the vacation benefited those persons who own the accommodation and certain companies that we visited through the hiring of tuk-tuks or taxis. I think that we could have had a bigger impact on local small retailers if we had been taken or guided to the smaller shops and market stalls that were available in the cities we stayed in. I think more guidance needs to be provided to the visitors about the potentially negative impact they have on children and families by continually taking their photographs. Although many children already shout 'one photo', the children themselves are not aware of what happens to the photographs they so willing give or provide to long lines of visitors. The one phrase has been learnt from an early age and is in my opinion a form of tourist exploitation; each group building on this as it is seen as 'sweet' that the children want their photos taken. Guidance was provided by the Group Leader not to give money to the children but he did say it was ok to buy goods off children; this is debatable when the child earns money through this for his family or minder and may not be going to school as he has to work.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was at times quite tiring, but it was a wonderful experience and one that I hope many others take to see a small glimpse of a truly inspiring and diverse country.

review 4 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was unforgettable-especially loved the rural parts we visited and stayed in and the various transport and accommodation-much fun and very unique! Every day waking up was like Christmas morning, so exciting.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Keep an open mind and be prepared for lots of fun and laughter!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I hope so. The tour company work very hard to make sure this is carried out.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

India is amazing, the country, the people, the food - a very beautiful place. This is my second trip with this tour operator and I love the diversity that it brings. Our leader was fantastic and I would not have wanted to see the country in any other way.

review 14 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Perhaps it was playing Holi with the locals in a remote Rajasthan village. But there are many possible answers - including the Taj Mahal, of course.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

- If possible, go early in the season (not long after the Monsoon) when the lakes are less likely to be dry. - Don't pre-book airport transfers (at least for the return trip), as the operator grossly overcharges for this. - Pack plenty of Imodium.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - this was much emphasised in the Trip Notes and by the Group Leader.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Sensational - all that I dreamed it could be and more. The itinerary is very well planned to combine historic monuments, town life, village life and wildlife. The Tour Leader was excellent, worked tirelessly on the group's behalf, and soon became a real friend. Accommodation ranged from the fully adequate to the magnificent (converted hilltop palaces at two locations).

review 6 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Racing camels down the street in Pushkar!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I found it difficult deciding what to pack due to the Monsoon season. We found that it only rained 3-4 days during the vacation and every day was extremely hot and sticky. Pack cools clothes and don't worry about the rain too much. Take plenty of insect bite cream.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, although I would have liked to have felt more involved with local initiatives.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. The trip was exciting and interesting and the leader was great. However there were a couple of disappointing days. The website does tell you that the visit to Ranthambhore National Park is not possible during the Monsoon Season. It doesn't warn you that the camping at the lakeside is also cancelled during this time. Unfortunately no activities were provided as alternatives which lead to a couple of boring days.

Vacation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the vacations. In addition, we don't run these vacations ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Unedited reviews from other travelers

I am reborn! Simply the best vacation I have ever been on
Some great stories to tell the grandchildren. Would recommend to a friend
Very enjoyable
It was OK
A bit disappointing really
Convert currencies