8 independent reviews for Cross country skiing in Norway

Reviews for Cross country skiing in Norway

SHOW
1
7
0
0
0

review 16 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scenery In Norway is beautiful especially after having a meter of snow the day before we arrived. It made the cross - country skiing area very beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Get yourself very fit, you use different muscles for cross - country skiing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes a local guide Ingrid who was excellent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good an excellent group of people.

review 23 Feb 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The place and the people that participated on the trip. The instruction from Ilsa was excellent, the lodge was very clean and well kept and hte food was first class.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring more outdoor gear then is on the list. Gaitors are critical, but are not included on the list. Also, this is backcountry skiing or alpine touring, not cross country.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The vacation did use a local lodge and there was little impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

the vacation was excellent. The only downside was that people were not screened for fitness level of skill and that held back the other participants.

review 9 Mar 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The friendliness and expertise of the leaders, the scenery and plenty of good food.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take gaters. They’re not on the kit list but you will need them for any off track. Bring your own alcohol. You don't need to bring your own tea or coffee. There is no day off on the 8 day trip. There is a free ski bus down to Rukjan if you want to visit the town. Bring a packed lunch for the flight out.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The centre was very environmentally aware, recycling and minimising food waste, double doors to minimise heat loss.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent vacation, great location, great staff. Brilliant off track skiing. Friendly people, family atmosphere.

review 25 Mar 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The 30km ski trip on the fifth day ­ breath-taking scenery, and constantly changing ­ extremely exhausting but tremendously rewarding.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book an extra week, so you can build on the introduction to the sport from the first week.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, I expect so.

4. Any other comments?

Ingrid, the instructor, was fantastic. Excellent at her job, she took time out for everyone, so we all benefited from first-person instruction, though part of a 14-strong group. She's simply marvellous! The snow conditions and weather were perfect, and the trails varied and interesting. The hotel was great, very friendly staff and very comfortable, and the food was plentiful and well prepared. And yes, I will be going back! 5 stars, I can't find any faults with the vacation.

review 1 Apr 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Literally, going to the hell! "hellvete" in Norwegian are broad, deep pits carved out in gorges where streams flow; in winter they become a fantastic cathedral of rock and ice and you can reach their bottom.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Achieve some sound competence in cross country skiing, learn how to wax or bring your own no-wax skis.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, indeed.

4. Any other comments?

Probably this operator underrated the technical difficulties of a trip to Espedalen valley; it is not enough to state "a week two course, not for beginners". For bold and gallant Britons, this means that when you can tell the tip from the tail of your skis... go cats go! In a more modest continental mood it means that you should have a minimum of experience in ski touring as well (see the last day trip). Another British company rates Espedalen grade 3 on a scale from 1 to 4.

review 25 Mar 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Perfect blue skies and soft powdery virgin snow - irresistible scenery with enough exercise to warrant the gargantuan suppers!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Norway is expensive. Consider bringing a bottle for a late nightcap in your room. Also bring an extra pair of gloves as hands are the most likely to get wet and cold.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local cafes were used and a local dog musher, but the vacation was all inclusive so not much need to buy locally. Low impact travel by skis.

4. Any other comments?

The pool and sauna were an asset for weary limbs. The dogsled trip was a worthwhile investment for some novel and exciting travel.

review 18 Feb 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It's really difficult to pick out an individual event on moment. It was a accumulation of things.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be fit! Take plenty to read.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It undoubtedly benefited local people, in that it provided employment, and I suspect that the Norwegian Exchequer has a shrine to "Foreign tourists who buy the occasional beer", possibly in the shape of a small hospital or airport paid for by our taxes. As to minimising environmental impact, frankly no, it is impossible to imagine that people flying 500 miles to spend days schlepping through forests on tracks which are renewed every day by heavy machinery is exactly environmentally friendly, but conversely the fact that we did it gives the forest environment a financial value, which regrettably is the only thing that gives it, and the animals etc that live in it, any hope for future.

4. Any other comments?

I really enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to doing it again next year.

review 11 Jan 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Learning to cross country ski and the Norwegian countryside.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

To travel with this operator.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Difficult to know.

4. Any other comments?

Our guide (Ingrid) made the vacation - she was wonderful.

Vacation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the vacations. In addition, we don't run these vacations ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies