8 independent reviews for Loire Valley self catering farm cottage, France

Reviews for Loire Valley self catering farm cottage, France

SHOW
3
5
0
0
0

review 23 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We really loved swimming in the local river and our trip to Chateau Chenonceau. Vincent and Sandrine were absolutely wonderful hosts and shared some amazing local food with us and we had a very nice evening star gazing with Vincent's telescope!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

As below, they don't like baggy swimming shorts in the pools here.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Depending on what you do, it should benefit local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Really good fun, the cottage was a lovely rustic little place and Vincent and Sandrine were great hosts.

review 20 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cycling around the Brenne National Park, and then going for a swim in Bellebouche.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Long swimming shorts won't be accepted in the local swimming pools!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We had the opportunity of cycling into the village for our evening meals. Our hosts left locally produced food in our cottage on the first day. And the local shop was where we bought our daily food supplies.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Terrific! The accommodation provided a great base to explore the Loire Valley, and it was great at the end of the day to come home to our little cottage in the countryside.

review 8 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Driving around the chateaux and the beautiful Touraine.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

See that you have enough time for driving around. Nothing is as close as it appears. On the other hand, the traffic is very light. Also, bear in mind that restaurants are only open for lunch and dinner, and shops are open in between.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I'm not sure about conservation - we did quite a bit of driving. But we did buy local and spent a lot of money in the area - which I guess is part of the point.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Five stars for getting the right amount of things done & rest. The countryside is beautiful, the gite and courtyard were lovely, the hosts wonderful and the chateaux have to be seen at least once in a lifetime.

review 6 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Going cycling for the first time with our 15 month old, through gorgeous French countryside.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Despite reading reviews about how well equipped the cottages were for families with young children, I still over packed - but I didn't need to. Nicole and Alex provided everything we needed. They are incredibly friendly and have great suggestions for how to get the most out of your stay. It was a home away from home, which made the vacation all the more restful.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. Not only is Les Limornieres doing so much to reduce their environmental impact, they also made it very easy for us to support this. We were provided with a lot of information about local shops and services that we could use and definitely felt that we were supporting local people through using these.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was the perfect family vacation with a 15 month old. The grounds of Les Limornieres have swings, trampolines, slide and chickens. As well as this they provided so many other things - bikes, paddling pool, chalk board, toys, books and more. It meant that our daughter was very well entertained, which made for a more peaceful vacation. I would totally recommend it - especially if you go on vacation with extended family. With 3 separate cottages all surrounding one courtyard, it provides the perfect place for a shared family vacation, but still giving you your own space to retreat to!

review 1 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Nicole and Alex have created such a beautiful place. Nothing has been forgotten, from the playground for children (and adults who still think they're children), to the use of bikes, all the tourist advice and lovely hospitality. The peace and quiet of the lovely countryside. The quiet roads for walking and cycling. The beautiful small towns within easy driving. Lovely picnics by the rivers.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ensure there is plenty of space in your suitcase to bring back as much lovely local goats cheese and other lovely French stuff! Bring your walking shoes. Use the bikes and leave the car behind as much as you can.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Whether eating out or eating in, we bought all our food locally. We tried our best to drink as much wine as we could, with great success. Alex and Nicole encourage responsible recycling and have a compost heap. They also have visiting cats, so no food waste at all. We also used the bikes, so leaving the car at the gite.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Despite some inclement weather on a few days, it was one of the best vacations we have ever had. We didn't want to leave. We would love to get back in the near future.

review 31 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cycling round tiny villages in the French countryside past fields of sunflowers, stopping off for some well earned coffee and pastries along the way! Also eating dinner in the garden on the lovely warm evenings, enjoying local goat's cheese and freshly baked bread.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Borrow bikes from the cottage owners and leave the car behind, even just for a day - cycling in this part of the country is very rewarding as the roads are quieter than in the more touristy parts of the Loire. However it is worth remembering to stock up on provisions regularly as many villages have no shops, or only a simple bakery with very limited opening hours.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we shopped at local markets and stores, ate locally-grown fruit/veg and locally-produced dairy. Also visited local restaurants. We cycled and used public transport rather than driving.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A wonderful week, we were worried it might be a bit boring as it's very rural and remote - but actually it's a lovely slow pace of life and lots of hidden gems (chateau, markets, beautiful villages) to discover.

review 2 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Canoeing on the river!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book early! This place is perfect for your French vacation: lots of things to do locally, excellent location for day trips to the loire valley attractions, soooo relaxing if you don't want to do anything at all! If you have kids, the will disappear in the play area for the whole day!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 30 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A great start to a long tour in France, very peaceful and relaxing. Superb facilities for children. Knowledgeable hosts striking correct balance between interaction, advice and privacy. Ready to go the extra mile.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Request barbecue night, a nice opportunity to spend time with your hosts and meet other guests. River-swimming at Lesigny.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Good information provided in cottage regarding local day-trips and producers (food, wine). Imaginative use of recycled materials inside and in the delightful garden.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wish I'd booked for longer, hope to return, happy memories for parents and kids alike.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies