11 independent reviews for South East China photography vacation

Reviews for South East China photography vacation

SHOW
7
4
0
0
0

review 21 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were many memorable moments on the trip, in general visiting areas representing 'real' China i.e. the ethnic minorities have given me memories that I will never forget. Photographically I have returned with what I believe will be many excellent images.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you're seriously thinking about this trip don't hesitate - book it! Oktay and our local Chinese guide Shandy organised and manged the trip extremely well including those parts which were a bit tricky or unpredictable.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I feel the trip had a low impact on the at the places visited and supported the local communities much more than a 'large company' trip would have

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I have traveled on similar trips with other companies and I would rate this trip highly. All my expectations were met including the hope that I would be traveling in good company without any worries along the way. I have returned with many happy memories and I would not hesitate in recommending this trip to my friends.

review 16 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Every day was a new experience The minority villages were like stepping back in time. Photographing the sun set from the top of the wheat fields was calm,peaceful and beautiful. Sunrise with the Cormorant Fishermen. The colours of the sunrise on the River Li with the reflections of the Carst Mountains transposed you into the middle of a large colourful painting. Rich in beauty and colour

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It's changing fast don't miss it. Bring good walking shoes. Go with an open mind and heart. I can't wait to go on another trip with Oltay and Shandy they were both very generous with their time, nothing was a problem to them. A very big thank you to you both.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a wonderful vacation/experience The weather was perfect, We had a very good choice of food. Beer very good. Wine ghastly. Excellent company we laughed a lot. Oktay helped us with any camera problems and gave us some very good advice. He went to the trouble of following us up after our return to see if he could help us with our photo's

review 28 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This trip offers so many great memories which get even better as I reflect on them following my return. Being the only "big noses" around for over a week... staying in and wandering around Dong villages where seeing even a wheel was unusual.... sitting in the working man's club while the locals smoked pipes and played Majong cards....coming across a Kindergarten of over 100 children singing Twinkle twinkle little star in local dong language.... traveling up the River Li at 3am to catch the Cormorant Fishermen... the fire cracker procession...

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to be flexible and do not expect a rigid itinerary as local arrangements can and do change. I only really discovered where we had been after seeing the GPS tracking map when we got home! Always carry with you a hotel card with its address in Chinese .. just in case you get lost. Free WIFI was available at all our hotels but don't expect a rapid service and get used to not having access to Google or other search service during your stay.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This vacation undoubtedly benefited the local people. We stayed in small local boutique style hotels and hostels. We ate in local restaurants and supported the Dong communities we visited.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A great experience, with a great host and an invaluable local guide. I was the least experienced photographer on this trip having only just purchased my first DSLR. My learning curve climbed more steeply than the Karst landscape around me. Even without the very unique photography opportunities this trip provided, it would have been a superb vacation where you are immersed in rural SE China.

review 14 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The fisherman was very exciting because I had never shot at night in circumstances like these. It was fun and I learned a lot, and even got some very good shots!!!!!!! but there were many highlights. walking down to the waterfall and taking pics of the Yao and their long hair was fun. the bridge was beautiful, and meeting people in the streets and taking their pics. was fun, a very different approach from the one I generally use. the local festivities were interesting, we were lucky to be there at the right time....

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

relax and enjoy and keep you eyes open to see as much as possible

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I enjoyed the whole trip. I think it was well planned, even leaving it open to changes, tour leaders know their way around well and we had plenty of interesting photo opps. and they are always available and helpful. I would rate it 10 out of 10.

review 3 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Getting up early followed by seeing the fisherman on the river, very closely followed by meeting and having lunch with a family and meeting those men playing cards

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax about eating, Oktay is super careful of your health. Pack light as you will be lugging your gear around.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we use locals a lot, employed local guides drivers and models. It was a great trip as we got to interact in a great way with lots of local people. Shandy (our local guide) was great in facilitating information exchange when there was no common language.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

9 out of 10

review 5 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting people in their daily environment: harvesting, rice picking, at home and having the opportunities to take pictures of that.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Visiting a beautiful part of China, with small rural villages, lovely landscapes and nice people. Traveling in a small group offers the opportunity to take nice pictures.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The way the trip was organised benefited local people, I think.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Highly recommended photographic trip.

review 5 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Engaging with the local people, in particular families in Chengyangzhai

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Approach with an open mind to cultural differences. Be prepared for some potentially long days on your feet, with your camera gear!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a fantastic trip, well balanced and well organised. Oktay was very friendly and approachable and provided fantastic technical photographic support to those that needed it, when they needed it. He was also very knowledgeable when it came to local cultural matters and engaged well with the local people. For those times when his knowledge fell a little short, the local Chinese guide that accompanied us for the whole trip was invaluable, she was also very friendly and helped make this trip unforgettable.

review 13 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Oktay gave me a wonderful introduction to China from all his (and his assistant Sandy's) experience. He knew just the right places to go for photography and the right people to meet. Oktay is a great professional and I had an excellent and instructive time with him.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If possible go to both Guilin and Shanghai with Oktay - the contrast is extraordinary.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we used local resources; we went to out of the way places, photographing them, which will help develop local tourism; on several days we just walked or bicycled and didn't use road transport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very highly.

review 23 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Spending time taking photographs in the rice fields

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Oktay the photographer is very good , he is very good in answering any queries you may have. If you wish to spend time in Shanghai on your own be aware that they do not speak English

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I enjoyed this tour - the company was good and the photographic opportunities were wonderful

review 13 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The early morning that we went to photograph a fisherman and his trade. This trip was very well organized and went on perfectly. From airport delays to hotels changes... Every thing was planned and went on without without any delay or confusion. The local guide, Sandy, organized meals, transportation, hotels...and did so that nothing went wrong.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Okay had give us instruction as to what to bring, help with planes... I don't know what needs to be added.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Small group, paying some of the people that helped us getting good photographs instead of "using" them, paying local people fairly...was all benefitting the local economy

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful.

review 11 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I enjoyed it all. Perhaps the most memorable things were getting involved with local people in the villages - helping ( for a short time ) with the rice harvest & eating in the farmer's home, wandering in the village & getting a small glimpse of peoples normal lives. Also our local guide, Shandy, who was with us all the time. She was undoubtedly the best & nicest local guide I have ever had, so caring, thoughtful, efficient & altogether a delightful person to be with.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes undoubtedly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. I loved it. Great photographic opportunities & a real opportunity to experience a wee bit of local life.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies