12 independent reviews for Amalfi Coast self guided walking vacation

Reviews for Amalfi Coast self guided walking vacation

SHOW
4
8
0
0
0

review 4 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of the hiking was wonderful and the beauty of the area was inspiring.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The hiking is pretty challenging just because of the many steps that you need to climb and descend. The crowds were getting worse as we got closer to June, so travel in this popular area is best during less popular times. Capri was beautiful, but really too crowded to really enjoy for us.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 20 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our visits to Paestum and Cetara

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you are fit enough for the walks

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to benefiting local people. Not sure about the rest.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

On the scale of 1 to 10 about 8

review 23 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walks (Amalfi coast and Capri) in a landscape as rocky as green (with flowers).We stayed two nigts in Capri (which is really preferable in comparison with a normal day tour to Capri - it gives you the freedom of some walks outside the mainstreams).

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't book this tour in summer (july, august), too hot and too crowdy with people

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We have been only in contact with local people

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very fine

review 15 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The gardens and views at Villa Rufolo and Villa Ciambrone in Ravello were breathtaking and beautiful. And our favorite walk was the walk through the Valley of the Mills to Pontone - a lovely combination of walking through the many steps and paths in the town of Amalfi, and a woodland walk by a stream with waterfalls and picturesque ruins of old stone mills.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take the Sita buses from town to town and to the starting points of walks. Get yourself a copy of the bus schedule at the tobacco shop that sells bus tickets - the schedule will become your bible.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, walking the many pedestrian routes and paths where cars cannot pass was a lovely way to travel in a time-honoured tradition that is good for the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good, very enjoyable, loved the choice and variety of walks, and depended greatly on the excellent and comprehensive walk guides (booklets) supplied by our tour operator.

review 12 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walk we did high up in the Vallee Del Ferriere was probably the most memorable because of the views and the tranquility after the bustle of Amalfi. The gardens at Ravello were a real treat.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for lots of climbing involving steps. One walk had a piece with 430 steps. If you want to treat yourself to ice cream be repared to pay 8 for a double cone. bus journeys take much longer than you think. To get to Amalfi from Naples Airport I can recommend the Airport Bus to Naples Central Station, the a trai to Salerno and then the ferry from Salerno (5 mins from the train station) to Amalfi.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We tried to use local family bars and restaurants wherever possible and local buses although how environmentally friendly these buses are I wouldn't like to say.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. we intend to return at some point to the peninsula.

review 8 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walks - Ravello / Maiori to Minori / Path go Gods

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The Walks are wonderful. Be prepared for 10 mile days. Some walks include descents with over 1500-2000 non stop steps - make sure you have healthy knees. Start early so you can take breaks, especially of you do the walks in winter, like we did. Fort the Maiori to Minori long walk via Novella & Sambuco = the instructions after you leave town are not great = confusing about distance to walk to the Convent (a lot longer....) and then they are not specific enough to find the steps from Sambuco to Minori. We had to ask....

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly. We spent money eating in local business, which creates jobs and helps sustains the villages, but that is the case of tourism anywhere. There was no specific environmental /conservation aspect to the walks (unless you regard walking as conservation... we simply consider it walking).

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent!

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted to know that you had such a good time in Amalfi. We would like to clarify for other potential travelers your comments regarding distances and gradients. Your booklets made provision for much shorter walks if required, eg 5 or 6 miles for the easier options. Also, on the two walks where there are steep descents, you obviously chose the option to walk down the steps. However, our notes clearly indicate on these occasions, for example on the Walk of the Gods, that instead of descending 920 ft/280 m on stone steps, you can instead take the bus. We carefully designed the walks to be accessible for anyone and we would not wish anyone to be deterred if they have knee problems as by following the many alternative options we provide, they can in fact follow all the walks. We are sorry to learn that you had some difficulties with route finding on the Maiori-Minori walk. This problem has not arisen before so there may have been some recent changes which we will ask our local guide to check out for us. We are pleased to read that despite this problem, this was one of your favourite walks. Finally, with regard to the environmental impact, we make extensive use of public transport. You would have received detailed directions for airport transfers by train and bus and details for using public transport to access the walks. We do not encourage the use of cars on Amalfi's narrow, crowded roads. You mention eating in local restaurants. We recommend many local restaurants so that business is spread between them rather than being confined to one hotel. However, we appreciate that during your winter visit, many restaurants are closed. We hope that our comprehensive commentary notes providing background information on the local economy encourage our visitors to purchase some of the local products for which Amalfi is so well known, such as the specialist paper obtained from the paper mill, Amalfi lemons and related products.

review 21 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of our vacation was the beautiful walk along the "Path of the Gods" high above Positano on the Amalfi Coast. The views were stunning and the walk invigorating. We felt like we got to see a part of the coast that many visitors never see. We also loved our walk into the "Valley of the Mills" from Amalfi which enriched our understanding of the important history of the area. Our walks from Ravello to Scala, from Pontone to Atrani, and our walk on the island of Capri to Villa Jovis were all beautiful as well.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Read through all the walking directions before you go, and be sure to understand how to read the bus schedules for the rides back (if you do prefer to take a bus back to your original destination). Some of the busses from the smaller towns have reduced schedules on certain days of the week. Riding local the bus was a highlight! Seeing how bus drivers navigated hairpin turns on narrow hillside roads, with oncoming traffic was quite astonishing!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, definitely. Staying in one of the local towns (rather than just visiting for one day from a big cruise ship, for example) allowed us to spend evenings having nice dinners in small family-owned restaurants in Amalfi, Positano & Montepertuso. Walking & taking local busses rather than renting a car obviously reduced environmental impacts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was one of the most scenic vacations we have taken. If you love sea views and picturesque coastlines, quiet walks through hillsides & valleys, wonderful Italian food at the end of a day of hiking, you will love this trip.

review 28 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being in a very scenic location with lots of old charming cities. The weather was very pleasant at this time in September and made sightseeing a pleasure, If you want modern glass box hotels and glitz this is not the place to choose.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The Amalfi coast has mountains dropping into the Mediterranean and all walking will have lots of vertical ascent and descents. There will be lots and lots of stairs and twisty steep paths. If you cannot comfortably walk up and down this type of terrain then choose the sightseeing via bus or boat. - it still is very scenic. There is plenty of transportation vias bus, boat, taxi to adjacent cities and sights. Italian food is some of my favorite and you will have lots of local excellent cuisine to try,

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The main business in Amalfi coast seems to be tourism. Floods of tourists always have environmental impact but that notwithstanding the cities and surrounding areas seemed to be nicely clean, trash free, and charming. The Mediterranean water looked clean and transparent and was inviting for swimming.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Going to a charming place with beautiful vistas and pleasant climate and friendly people is we found highly enjoyable. It is a nice change from totally flat areas where we live.

review 24 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The landscape and super food

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Comfortable shoes! And be prepared to put on some lbs!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

9/10

review 2 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Two really: the views and the people. Both spectacular!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you're traveling with small children, bring a backpack rather than a stroller. The place is pretty vertical and the pathways are not made for wheels.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope it benefited local people with our tourism and conversation but that is probably for them to say!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Spectacular! Hotel was wonderful and I can't say enough positive things about the vacation provider. June was responsive and extremely helpful in every regard. The walks were exactly as represented and we look forward to using them again.

review 14 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It is impossible to say which was the most memorable walk. Each was different and had its own special qualities. Perhaps the most memorable moment was watching dolphins and seeing a large tuna fish on our way back from walking on Capri.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Prepare well for all the stairs you will have to climb and descend and don't forget calf stretching exercises at the end of the day!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The hotel employed local people and bought locally produced products. Although we had a hire car, on many occasions this vacation encouraged us to use local transport in the form of local buses and boats.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. It was easy to see that this Company really cared about its clients and its vacations. The organisation was faultless and the Company kept in touch with us right from our first enquiry right up until the final evening when we joined June and Aubrey for a farewell drink. The Hotel Aurora was perfect - wonderful service from all the staff, spotless rooms and excellent breakfasts on the terrace. The general information pack was very well thought out and the walk notes very well written. We particularly appreciated the tips which had clearly been borne from people with vast knowledge of this area.

review 27 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were actually many memorable parts, not least the lovely walks with their wonderful views way off the well beaten tourist track. It was so good to stand high up in the mountains gazing down at endless groves of huge lemons with the sound of a waterfall in our ears. We could see Amalfi so far down there in the distance like a tiny toy town and thinking how great to be up here in peace and solitude whilst others down there are elbowing their way through the crowds and foraging around for souvenirs. We were finding out what this area really has to offer. These were recurring memorable moments. My very first was the day we arrived in Italy watching the beauty of the Amalfi coast unfold before my eyes on the bus from Sorrento to Amalfi.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go early or late in the season (we went in early May) as I imagine it gets rather too hot to walk comfortably in high summer. If you get the chance, go to see the Amalfi Festival in the Arsenal. Stay in the Aurora hotel for good service and an excellent breakfast on their lovely terrace and, if you can, book a Terrace Room on the top floor! Take an early bus to Ravello and you will be rewarded with glorious peace and quiet before the crowds arrive. Read the walking directions thoroughly and take up the recommended restaurants en route. You really will not regret it. Finally, if you are catching a bus back to the airport use the red Sightseeing bus to get to Sorrento (or go there for a visit on a day off). For a couple of euros more you are treated to more comfort, a commentary and soothing Italian music all the way.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think our presence in Amalfi benefitted local people as not only did we use the local restaurants most evenings we also bought provisions for our picnics from local grocery stores and greengrocers. We also used the local bus and ferry services rather than taxis to reduce our environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a wonderful area to walk and I would highly recommend it. Yes, you could organise the whole thing yourself, buy maps etc but the beauty of this vacation is you just don't have to do all that. The walking notes and accompanying commentaries are clear and interesting, maps are included and recommendations abound. It left just so much more time to enjoy the walks knowing the chances of getting lost were miniscule and no mugging up every night to sort the next day's trip out - just open up the relevant booklet and away you go. We have always organised our own trips before thinking perhaps it was a bit 'soft' to take a trip like this. Nothing is further from the truth - you still have your independance but have been given lots of information in advance to enable you to make the most of your stay without having to do the research yourself. The people who organise these walks visit the area regularly to check out the accommodation they recommend, the walks etc and therefore have a close knowledge of the area. We couldn't fault it.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies