8 independent reviews for Majorca self guided walking vacation

Reviews for Majorca self guided walking vacation

SHOW
1
7
0
0
0

review 6 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Upon arrival, Mathew got us oriented ready to head out the door in minutes. We trail run, and he had us on a trail that was perfect in the time it took to change. We discovered that this is the way we want to experience other places…walking.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

For the walk to Cala de Tuent, adding a route direct from the plaza in town as an alternative to using the bus to go to a trailhead up the hill might be helpful for those crazy ones like us who went from town.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As walkers we were low impact. We loved the fact that we used very little transportation to have such a wonderful week of hiking. We enjoyed supporting local business throughout our stay.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and wish to return in the future to more of what we did there. The suggested hikes and the information provided were perfect for us, and made it so easy and comfortable to do. Our accommodations were excellent, and the staff there were friendly and eager to help and make our stay a wonderful time. We were able to easily do the hikes without the need for a rental car, which we enjoyed. The documents they provided were complete, accurate, and easy to follow. Their suggestions with alternatives were nice so we could be flexible and go wherever it felt right each day, or partial day. We look forward to more travel like this. Thank you for what you offer.

review 4 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beautiful azure blue sky and Autumn sunshine, closely followed by the stunning Tranmuntana mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't book your flights with Monarch.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I assume so. We ate in local restaurants which didn't appear to be 'chains'. We used the local buses which were fine although not quite on perfect Swiss timing!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Had a fabulous time and really enjoyed this unspoilt part of Spain, not too crowded in Autumn.

review 24 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Arriving during the local fiesta!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Eat at the local restaurants and use local buses etc. - all are reliably good and good value.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully it did as we mostly walked everywhere, used local restaurants and transport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Our tour operator provided us with some amazing walks and great directions to get us to our B & B.

review 16 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Completing a number of really enjoyable walks following comprehensive instructions.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Read the walking routes thoroughly in order to get the most from each walk. Take walking poles.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we used public transport when appropriate, we ate locally produced food and shopped in the local market.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a brilliant vacation. The company gave us confidence from the outset. Our queries were promptly and efficiently answered. As we set off we felt well prepared and consequently relaxed and ready. To enjoy ourselves.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you so much for your review Rosie. We are delighted to know that the vacation met all your expectations and that you had such a good time. We are pleased too that your seven days in Sóller provided the relaxing break you both needed.

review 7 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

walking in the limestone mountains of Serra de Tramuntana and lunch on a restaurant terrace overlooking an isolated bay we had walked to

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Good provision of information about vacation: walking (map) and instructions for walks. No need to buy a map.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a local guesthouse, used local restaurants and bars and taxis

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - a good mix of more leisurely sightseeing in picturesque villages and fairly strenuous walking in the wilds

review 6 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The wonderful circuit hike from Soller to Port Soller that was recommended by our hosts Matt and Nina at Casa Bougainvillea. The walk was one we could do over and over again. And the food and views along the way and in Port Soller were outstanding.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you stay at Casa Bougainvillea (and you should), be sure to ask you hosts (Matt and Nina) for advice on hikes and places to eat, etc.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We tried to patronize the small restaurants and orange juice stops whenever possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent---one of the best we have ever done.

review 29 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scent of the orange blossom.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it in early or late season so it is pleasantly warm for walking.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. The hotel was locally owned and felt like the family that owned it cared for it and their guests. We also enjoyed a visit to the agricultural co-operative in the town and its associated information centre, local enterprises. We were encouraged to use public transport and did, though a full bus one morning meant we had to take a taxi. One of our walking routes had to be adapted to avoid an area under rehabilitation through the Mediterranean Wildlife Foundation - staff were on hand to explain and reroute.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great trip. Varied walks, good accommodation, and excellent weather!

review 2 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Beautiful countryside, and excellent walking. thanks to the walking guides and supporting information provided by the tour company. The hotel Ca'l Bisbe in the evocative town of Soller was also excellent

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Obviously avoid the high summer if you don't like walking in the heat.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We made extensive use of public transport which is cheap, reliable and serves most places of interest. The area is dependent on tourism. We ate at the local cafes and restaurants. The hotel has environmentally friendly policies

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An excellent vacation, well planned and set up by the tour company.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies