9 independent reviews for Husky safari in Finland

Reviews for Husky safari in Finland

SHOW
4
4
1
0
0

review 26 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It is difficult to say really as it was all amazing, but probably the peace and the wide expanse of clear sky.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you follow the advise from the travel company as to the kit you need. We all did and only felt the cold once but we were having lunch in an open space on the edge of a frozen lake!!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was outstanding, we were a group of 5 ladies and we wanted a challenge and something out our comfort zone, and we got that. We were all so proud of what we did, it was hard work, but it wouldn't have been a challenge had it not been.

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Val, The team here at are delighted that you and your group had such an amazing time on the 5-day husky safari. We are grateful for your lovely review and it was great to hear our pre-travel advice ensured you were equipped for the Finnish winter weather (you can't linger too long over the outdoor lunches!). In answer to question three - we are pleased to have worked with the fantastic team in Harriniva for so many years now as we feel the tour benefits the local people and has a reduced environmental impact. The guides here view operating in the National Parks of this wild region as a real privilege and they have enormous respect for the environment. All guides operate a strict leave no trace policy and they ensure that this is followed by all participants during this five-day safari. Dog sledding itself is a relatively low impact activity and obviously, requires no fossil fuels in order to operate. Routes are typically set trails and well maintained and due to the low temperatures and permafrost, there is little trace of any of these routes come the summer months. Tourism in Finnish Lapland has become the main income source of employment and income and today 65 % of the workforce is in the service industry. We embrace this philosophy on our husky safari in Finland, employing local activity providers and using only locally-owned hotels. In this manner, we help to maintain jobs in an area where unemployment was, until recently, very high. Additionally, the use of local suppliers ensures that the tourism spend filters through to local economies via the tourism multiplier effect. Thank you once again,

review 4 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Traveling through the snowy wilderness with only the sound of the dogs paws and the sledge. Standing on a frozen lake (-20 degrees C) watching the northern lights. Learning to understand and care for my husky team.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack light - the outer gear provided is good. Get fit - chopping frozen reindeer meat, lugging wood and water to the wilderness cabins is hard work in deep snow. Bring a camera - our camera worked but our phones switched off in the cold.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The Husky farm is family run and the local guides have a deep love for the area. Dog sledding seems a low impact way to travel through this incredible area. All rubbish was packed out.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We travelled as a family of 4 with our 2 adult children. (18 and 22). We all agree it is the best vacation we have ever had.

review 17 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Anytime on the sleigh with the dogs.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring hand and feet warmers.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 16 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Driving the sled out first thing in the morning at -20° in the sunlight. There was hoarfrost on the trees which make them look like Christmas trees as they sparkled in the sun. There were ice crystals in the air which looked like glitter. It was extremely beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Everything is provided so you don't need to bring any warm weather kit. Just some thermal base layers. There is no need for any special skill or fitness before starting this trip. You need to be a little prepared for the non- luxury wilderness aspect of this trip as the wilderness lodges are quite basic with outdoor toilets and you are expected to take part in the camp chores like hauling wood, fetching water and feeding dogs. These are all part of the experience and I found them quite enjoyable.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not especially. Although I think making use of wilderness areas and the locals generating income ultimately does help to preserve them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was great fun and I really enjoyed it.

review 6 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The thing was standing on the sled with a team of very exited Huskies pulling us along.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Get some hand warmers for your mittens.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

it certainly was environmentally friendly, all we left was tracks in the snow.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was the second time we have done this tour, the other was 10 years ago. It was still one of the best vacations ever and we have travelled a lot.

review 15 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Bounding through the snow-covered woods, balancing on the runners of the sledge with the dogs running in front of me.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The cold weather gear provided at the centre is excellent. You won't need as many layers as you think you will. Even when it's -24!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

With dogs, as opposed to snowmobiles, the environmental impact was low. Similarly the basic but comfortable cabins kept environmental impact to a minimum.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant! A special thank you to Hanski, our guide, who worked so hard.

review 21 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Scenery and isolation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take lots of warm clothes in a small soft bag -not too heavy. Even if not a dog lover go you will soon become one !

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes provided work in hotel.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 7 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Exploring parts of Finland that are not frequented often. Bonding with the dogs.This is not a vacation but a true adventure 300 kilometres of wilderness country. Its a time warp living away from all the rat race of modern society.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Definitely not for the novice.On reflection, make sure you are not traveling too light and that your dogs are suitable for you I.E.not running too fast.The more weight you have on the sled the better the control.Keep an eye on your brake; mine failed twice, probably because I was traveling too fast and needing to brake often to prevent me from running into the person in front of me. It was fairly obvious that my dogs were running too fast as the others sleds were a long way behind me. Finally,constantly breaking on rock solid ice is not a good idea.Some of the trails were like bob sleigh runs.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Overall, yes the adventure did benefit the local people and we also left a low carbon foot print. Left nothing behind but foot prints and took nothing but pictures! The seven day safari basically does what it says on the tin.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Overall I enjoyed the experience; the food was excellent and I could not fault the guide's bush craft, but, sadly, I found the safety aspect to be below average which cancels out much of the enjoyment.

Read the operator's response here:

We were very disappointed to hear that Mr. Warwick’s experience whilst on our husky safari was not what he had expected. Alan also took the time to complete our online questionnaire and provide us with valuable feedback following his recent trip to Harriniva – we were very grateful for this. We cannot stress enough that the safety of our clients is of the utmost importance to us and that we take these comments very seriously. We forwarded his comments to our suppliers and they asked us to pass on their sincere apologies that the safety briefing was not as detailed as expected. They have taken all of his feedback on board and will review their safety procedures for next season in light of the informative feedback Alan offered. Having worked with our suppliers in Harriniva for over 10 years we are very confident that this will happen. We were very disappointed that it affected Alan’s trip as the feedback for this trip is usually excellent. Having spoken with Alan he appears to be happy that the issues have been dealt with satisfactorily.

review 29 Dec 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It almost goes without saying that the scenery is breathtaking from the outset but the real memories are the dogs and the bond you form with them. Cruising through the wilderness with your own team is a mixture of calm and excitement that is nicely balanced by caring for your dogs when their work is done.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Leave your smart phone behind and forget about the outside world for a few days.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The whole experience was conducted in a very ethical way with strong attention to the dog's welfare and an appropriate level of environmental awareness.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The memories formed on this vacation will last a lifetime.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies