8 independent reviews for Lycian activity vacation

Reviews for Lycian activity vacation

SHOW
3
4
0
1
0

review 11 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I loved most of the vacation and all of the activities. I thought the guide was spot on and attuned to the groups needs and level of fitness. Everybody enjoyed it, even though we were all so different. The activity that I particularly enjoyed was the canyoning. It was amazing! We walked through some amazing fields full of wild flowers and through some forests that were so quiet but full of bird song and turtles! We were shown how to jump without hurting ourselves and we were off! Following as the river flowed, jumping into pools, abseiling, swimming in beautifully blue water and just having fun. Some of the group really enjoyed pushing their boundaries and jumped of some big rocks only to come up smiling. A great vacation!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The hotel we stayed in is really great. They have a lovely pool and a great view from the balcony. I had an hour or two where I just sat in the sun looking over Kas reading my book. A good book is important to just relax and enjoy the sun. I would also suggest some good saddles with straps for the water adventures and a water proof bag to carry your camera. I missed out on some good shots. Try the kebabs in the little shops, they are amazing and look for restaurants full of local people, they are usually the best!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Of course! The guides were all Turkish, we only ate in Turkish restaurants (by the way, the food is amazing) and the accommodation is locally owned. There was also these little things that I spotted, for example the hotel had a big bottle of water and they encouraged guests to re-use the ones they had to reduce on plastic wastage. Also the guide obviously cared about the environment he was working on to the extent he was saving insects from the water. He also made sure we didn't pick up turtles because they lose track of where they are going. We visited a former guide's family and we ate lunch at their house which was just a perfect break.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic! The down hill cycling was a lot of fun and they allowed you to go as fast as you liked and I like to go fast! They created a nice atmosphere within the group and we soon all gelled and had a lot of fun!

review 5 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Every thing was amazing. I had one of the best vacations ever. The different activities showed different sides of Turkey you wouldn't normally see on a 'normal' vacation!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take more than 1 pair of shoes, and bike pants... trust me!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. The guides are all from that area, and so know all the good bars to go to!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10

review 11 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We had a day of canyoning in the mountains of Kas and it was amazing - huge adrenaline rushes and great bonding with the rest of the group.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring a good appetite; the food is amazing!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes; all the activities were run by locals and they were within close proximity of where we stayed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was great - not perfect, but would definitely recommend.

review 5 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Without a doubt the canyoning with the abseiling and pool jumping - quite a challenge :-)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a thermal t-shirt for the canyoning day - it's quite cold at times. If I did it again I would ask to go further up the gorge and not bother with the walk to the beach which wasn't hugely inspiring - but that's just me.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes but it would have been nice to have been taken to some of the smaller restaurants on the side streets instead of just the large touristy ones. Food was great though!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Exactly what I hoped it would be - both my son aged 16 and myself were kept fully occupied and looked after very well by our guides without over the top health and safety stuff.

review 8 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I loved the canyoning and white water rafting - lots of laughs and challenges to get your heart racing. The mountain biking day was one of the best days as the scenery was gorgeous and the village lunch a fantastic experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It does get chilly in the evenings (and in the canyon) so take plenty of warm clothes along with your summer stuff.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic week - guide and driver were brilliant; fun, experienced and organised. The activities were all fun and the group was brilliant - wonderful week overall.

review 25 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

White water rafting was excellent, very well organised with extremely good guides.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be aware of the time spent traveling to destinations. 3 hours to rafting site and length day spent at activity. Very full days and quite exhausting. Canoying was 9.00 start back at 8.30 in evening. Also quality of accommodation was poor. OK if you are expecting back packing or hostel type but rooms are very basic and have to pay for airconditioning in first hotel when temps were 45 degrees in the shade! Hotel Oreo looked like in had shut down for the winter. Furniture and communal areas very tired. Breakfast was basic and tables not cleaned after other guests.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Obviously tourists benefited the local economy (shops, eating places etc)

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Having been on other activity vacations this was not the best. Would rather have paid more money for better accommodation. People were very friendly and caring. Not enough information was available beforehand on accommodation and traveling times to various activities.

Read the operator's response here:

We are sorry that Mr Hills did not find the information in the trip notes accurately reflected the trip and the traveling times between the various activities. This has been rectified this year and we appreciate his feedback. This accommodation has been used by us for many seasons with positive feedback.

review 30 May 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Several things made this trip memorable. 1)The people I met - a real mix of different ages and backgrounds that you wouldn't necessarily meet at home within your normal social circles. We all got on really well and I felt it was definitely a "group" vacation where we all socialised together even in our spare time. 2)Experiencing new activities like canyonning which was both exciting and challenging. 3) Doing things you wouldn't be able to do as a tourist visiting the country on your own, like having an authentic Turkish lunch at the house of a Turkish family in the middle of the mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't be worried about going on your own. I was one of 6 people in our group that was traveling alone and within a few minutes of arriving you knew everybody and it was like you were there with a group of your friends.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Our tour guide and bus driver were Turkish and the place we stayed and ate at were run by locals.

review 26 Sep 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Canyoning. Absolutely brilliant and I want to do it again, soon!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ignore the trip notes. Apart from a sturdy pair of boots and a little bag for water you don't need anything special.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It certainly benefited some locals. We ate in local houses or restaurants and all the staff were local. I'm not sure it is possible to travel by aeroplane and feel that you are not destroying the environment!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies