37 independent reviews for Vacation cottage in Snowdonia, Wales

Reviews for Vacation cottage in Snowdonia, Wales

SHOW
4
29
3
0
1

review 7 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We arrived at the cottage in darkness but when we woke next morning the view of snowdon was amazing in beautiful sunshine.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Look out for the 3 wheelie bins that are places on the cottages car park opposite the row of white terraced cottages at the top of the lane leading down to the cottage.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did buy a curry from the local Indian restaurant...

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fabulous and very memorable. It was our first time in snowdon and certainly won't be the last. The cottage was everything we could have hoped for and was very cosy with some of the best views of mount snowdon we could have imagined.

review 26 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The location of the cottage and magnificent view.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

As our travel advisor already mentioned, I would also highly recommend to hire a car when traveling to this destination and surroundings. The weather changes, I would say, every 10 minutes, so it is good to provide suitable clothes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It is difficult to say, but we definitely benefited from making friends with local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I would recommend this type of vacation to all my friends. Vacations were great!

review 25 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Stunning view from the cottage across to Snowdon which was free of cloud for 5 of the 7 vacation days (must be a record for April). Wonderful sunny weather with no rain allowed full use of the lovely garden (with bird feeders attracting woodpeckers, nuthatches and all the woodland tits) which our 3 year old twins really enjoyed. Perfect location for a family vacation with the Llanberis lake railway a walk away via the cafe and woodland walks of Menter Fachwen and the beautiful Llanwyddyn beach and dunes at Newborough Forest only 30 mins drive away. Castles and trains in abundance enthralled our twins and made for probably our best ever family vacation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack lightly and don't be put off by the walk down to the cottage. It is steep but consider it part of the charm of staying in a cottage in such a beautiful location. Our 3 year-olds made it up and down under their own power every day. The mile long road up to Fachwen is narrow with passing places and could make those with new cars (like us) a bit nervous, but just drive carefully and you'll be fine. Mobile phone coverage was good with ee/orange but Vodafone is useless in Snowdonia. Buses are pretty good in this part of Wales and do go through Brynefail from Bangor and Llanberis which is just a mile down the hill, so this lovely cottage can be a base for people who have no need/desire to use a car on their vacation. Go to the beach on really sunny days - itís not far and Llanwyddyn must be one of the finest in the UK. Bring lots of pound coins for the meter and for entry to Newborough Forest and the beach. The Welsh Highland Railway is superb - go to Rhyd Dddu or Waunfawr (a short drive away) and catch the train to Portmadog. Stunning route through Beddgelert and the Aberglaslyn Pass. So much to see and do but do leave time for just enjoying the cottage and its lovely garden.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our use of the cottage probably not greatly (with driving, eating in etc.) but is certainly possible to have a low carbon vacation based here with a bit of walking and understanding the public transport options.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Probably our best ever family vacation which will linger long in the memory and had a truly transformational effect on our twin boys. A stunningly beautiful location and very comfortable cottage with a very long list of things to do and see.

review 31 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of the vacation was the absolutely stunning view from the cottage, watching the mountains changing as mist drifted over them and then the light and shadows constantly changed as the mountains were revealed and highlighted. The most exciting part of the vacation was a trip to Zip World, about 1/2 an hour from the cottage for the longest zipwire in Europe. We travelled at 90 miles an hour above Penryn Quarry, it was fantastic!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Itís a steep climb down to the cottage, and a hazardous path to drive down, so you need to be reasonably fit to carry your stuff there. But it was worth it. There are lots of things to do locally: climb Snowdon, swim or canoe in Llyn Padarn, enjoy the electric mountain trip, definitely do the Zip world, learn about the slate mining and enjoy the views.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We visited many local attractions and supported local firms that way. Other than that, not really.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A really relaxing and active break, we'd love to go back.

review 24 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Memorable: view from cottage. Exciting: Visit to Zipworld.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

As an asthmatic I would worry about the damp, evidently present and somewhat characteristic of an old workers' cottage, in colder weather.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly. It could be clearer what is taken by the local recycling bin collection.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had very good weather and thoroughly enjoyed our vacation which included Zipworld, white water rafting, walking up Snowdon (including the extra from the cottage itself), other walks, castle visits and a beach stop.

review 2 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The view ! This is in such an idyllic spot , so peaceful and quiet. We loved watching snowdon come in and out of the weather. The terrace is a real suntrap when its sunny.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Best start the fire small and lay it at the very back until the chimney warms up other wise it tends to puff smoke out into the room a bit.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We loved the cafe in the woods and the steam train at the bottom of the hill.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

9 out of 10 . Very peaceful and private with fabulous views of the mountains.

review 29 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hiking the trails up to Snowdon. Sitting in the little cottage looking at the mountain as we ate our meals and knowing that we were up there!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go prepared for all weather possibilities.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We shopped locally and contributed to local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was wonderful and we would love to return.

review 25 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The location of the cottage and the spectacular views. Easy access to Snowdon and excellent walking and mountain biking.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The accommodation is very basic, but comfortable throughout and the wonderful setting more than makes up for this. The double room was tiny with a small and uncomfortable double bed and no wardrobe/hanging space. We think the size of the bed and the room (you could barely walk around the bed and there was no reading light on one side of the bed) should have been made clearer. Also, although the cottage sleeps 5, there were only 4 chairs at the table and room to sit four comfortably in the lounge. You need to take a supply of £1 coins for the electricity meter - we did not use much at all (around £10) but did not need to use the electric heaters. The visitors book mentioned lots of problems with damp - but this was not a problem for us, but we kept the windows open and the cottage well ventilated. The description of the cottage does mention the walk from the car parking area - this is very steep and unlit and you need to remember to take a torch if you go out in the evenings.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate out locally most evenings in pubs and cafes that used local produce. The slot meter for the electricity also helped us to reflect on our use of electricity!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A very basic cottage in a superb location - with stunning views of Snowdon and Lake Padarn and walks from the cottage. The owner was helpful and efficient in making the booking and the description of the cottage was good. I would have rated the vacation more highly if the double bed hadn't been so uncomfortable!

Read the operator's response here:

I am sorry these guests were not pleased with some aspects of the cottage. However I would contend the use of the word "basic". I try very hard to make the cottage comfortable, and this year there are new Laura Ashley curtains, new carpets, new bath, new shower, new microwave. Everywhere is freshly decorated. Previous reviewers have reported it being comfortable with everything they need. The cottage itself has a new roof and double glazing. The double bed is standard 4ft. 6ins size. Personally I find it perfectly comfortable. Although there is not a wardrobe in the room there is some hanging space. Although there are only four dining chairs normally at the table, there is an extra dining chair in the single bedroom for use when 5 people are staying, and the hand crafted yew table is quite big enough. Likewise there is an extra chair for seating in the evening.

review 22 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A peaceful place to be with fabulous views.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for the walk up and down the road to the cottage. It's perfectly do able though.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, if the vacation makers are prepared to use local facilities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good, well cared cottage which has a homely and comfortable feel. Our second visit so the proof is in the re booking. The owner takes care of the house and keeps it in good order.

review 15 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Arriving and finding the cottage down the path, then going out onto the terrace and seeing the fantastic views, something you never get tired of looking at.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Travel light! Make sure everyone is prepared and capable of walking to and from the cottage to the car it is well worth it for the fantastic views. We tended to just go out and back once a day and left things like walking boots in the car. We also found the walk to the car was a good warm up for the day's walking anyway! Take binoculars we spent hours watching the activity on Snowdon and the lake.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

With the cottage being in such a central location we didn't always need to use the car there are lots of walks and places to visit we went to the National Slate Museum twice its very interesting and well worth a visit. We used local shops cafes and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We have stayed in Snowdonia several times and think this is the best location we have stayed in. We found the cottage delightful and all you expect of a property of this age we enjoyed its quirkiness. We had one or two chilly evenings when we had a fire and also some very hot days sitting on the terrace. All in all one of the best vacations we have had.

review 25 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Snowdonia is a truly wonderful place and the cottage is in a totally idyllic location. We loved its stunning views, both tranquil and exhilarating and its remote feeling made it a pleasure both inside and out. The internal simplicity was refreshing and the garden and terrace joyous and relaxing. We had several long walks from this base covering allsorts of exciting terrain and the coal fire and stars made the nights equally blissful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for all weather eventualities and smile, and try the Celtic wine in the Honey Cafe but make sure you share your life story!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We endeavoured to spend our money in local businesses and found a really friendly man at a local garage selling coal firewood and local produce. We walked everywhere (which was quite strenuous but rewarding).

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant - we had such a lovely time and would love to go again.

review 17 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Arriving and seeing the stunning view over Lake Padarn from cottage/patio. Our 1 and 3 year olds running round cottage and garden really over excited. Surprise snow in April and a lovely neighbour bringing logs round! Watching steam train chugging up Snowdon in the distance.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The cottage... Website pics don't do the cottage justice; it's in a really amazing spot looking over the lake with mountain background. Everything we needed was in the cottage. Really thoughtful leaving some wood/coal (and £1 for meter) for use on arrival. Very clean. Lovely garden. Steep drive down to cottage but good exercise! In the area, with young kids, we enjoyed.... - lake side railway (lovely little steam train, short enough for younger kids) - slate museum (free, interesting and well laid out) - paint a pot studio in Llanberis (good for rainy day) - Pete's Eats cafe in Llanberis (great food, friendly, welcome kids too) - kidsí playground next to lake padarn - Llanberis pass (climbing) - Caenarfon castle - walking routes around Padarn Lake (lakeside walk was beautiful) - Menter Fachwen cafe (social enterprise cafe in padarn park area, tucked away, really warm welcome, stunning views)

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We tried to shop locally, but I'm not sure Spar counts! Using electricity on a '£1 coin in the meter system' was a good lesson in power consumption - it didn't use much more than at home but it's easier to keep track of.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant. We hope to go back and next time we'll climb Snowdon... the kids were a bit young this time.

review 30 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Climbing Tryfan Mountain in the Ogwen valley and finally visiting 'The Electric Mountain'.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Wrap up warm and be prepared for the British weather. Don't go expecting mod cons but enjoy the relief of not being connected!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It definately benefited people working locally in the tourism economy. True stone cottage with minimal impact on its beautiful Snowdonian surroundings.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful especially for October in Wales, UK.

review 6 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of the vacation was turning up at the cottage on a Welsh hillside and taking in the breath taking views of Snowdon and the lake at Llanberis. It was really good to look out in the morning and chose the perfect day to climb Snowdon.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

A perfect vacation for exploring the Welsh mountains, lots of walking and rock climbing. The cottage is so homely and peaceful with a big window looking out on panoramic views it is also just so lovely to be there and relax too.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we walked a lot cutting down on fuel and bought local products.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was brilliant for us, my two boys age 15 and 17 enjoyed the climbing and the outdoor activities and found the scenery nearly as breathtaking as they did on their recent trip with scouts to Switzerland. The cottage had loads of character and was a very special place to stay.

review 15 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The situation of the cottage itself. Wow! The marvelous views and the excitement of actually seeing Snowdon just before we left. The Slate Museum is well worth a visit and also the Hospital. Many lovely walks and well signed trails. The Electric Mountain is a great trip and can be done when the weather is bad. The Laburnum Arch at Bodnant. Conway Castle and Plas Mawr. To think that the castle was built in four years is quite something

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Stout walking shoes. The weather is very changeable so don't be put off by low clouds. Save your appetite for Pete's Eats. The portions are huge.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Tourism is vital to this beautiful corner of North Wales.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A wonderful week.

review 19 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Eating lunch on the top of Mount Snowdon, and having breakfast looking out at the incredible view every morning was magical. We also got talking to the guard on the train on the way back down and he was fascinating and full of tales - Steve I think he was called - top bloke!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Buy plenty of bird food! - we had so many feathered visitors, a grouse and squirrel also came every day to say hello. Follow the signs around the lake, the quarry hospital is a good place to look round and free. Take your camera - we tried all week to get a shot of the Jay that came to feed but it eluded us. Pete's Eats in Llandberis has big portions and made to feel welcome.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We shopped and ate locally so yes in some ways. Our recycling bin was full when we got there and didn't get emptied so we had to bring it home with us. The electric meter highlights your energy use and we didn't even use £10 the whole week!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic, magical, quaint little cottage. We did not want to leave and wish we had booked 2 weeks.

review 29 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The views from the cottage, the abundance of wildlife and unusual birds including the Nuthatch, Bullfinch, Jay, and the more usual birds, tits, chaffinches, robins, magpies along with their babies. The walk around the lake (5 miles) was beautiful, follow the white way markers (turn right at the top of the path), but deviate onto the yellow ones to find the wonderful waterfall where there was a heron fishing for his supper. One good thing about the rain is that it makes the waterfalls that much more splendid.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack light, the path is hard going if you are carrying suitcases. Having said that, it's worth the effort for the amazing views from the cottage. There are a lot of things to do in Llanberis but I would suggest a trip to Anglesey, South Stack particularly if you are interested in nature, and Beaumaris for a boat trip.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We used local shops and recycled where we could.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, the cottage was very comfortable. I would go again but my mother (83) did have a struggle with the path.

review 6 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The view without a doubt... and also having a whole week with just my husband and gorgeous baby boy! The view was stunning and the huge window and door out of the lounge means that you get a great view over Lake Padarn and Snowdon. It was also fantastic being in such a secluded spot - the walk up/down the steep path was worth it to be in such a private spot. We also had AMAZING weather so this was a real highlight too!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Despite having great weather, the cottage felt and smelt damp at times - you'll need to have the heating on to dry it out. - although this was a down point the good points by far outweighed this. We actually drove the car down the drive to pack up at the end of the vacation which saved on carrying everything up the v steep hill. The cottage is well equipped with crockery, kitchen utensils, cleaning stuff etc, although remember that there isn't a washing machine. Don't pay too much attention to the weather forecasts - we had thunder, lightening and flash flooding forecast and barely had a drop of rain - the weather is so localised, and even if the valley is experiencing bad weather, the next valley or the coast will often be better. The lay out of the bedrooms mean that you have to go through the twin room to get to the double. This wasn't a problem for us as there was only us and our baby, but would potentially be problematic for larger groups.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

To a small extent yes - we shopped locally, and paid to visit local attractions, but the cottage owner could do better to provide recycling facilities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic! We had a great week - many thanks to the weather which meant we could do long walks and be out and about. We sat out in the evening to eat when our baby was in bed and enjoyed the amazing views. A great week and we'd love to go back again.

review 11 May 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Obviously the position of the cottage, its seclusion, and the view.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Donít worry about the hill, its not as bad as you think and its very good exercise.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This is the ideal place to wind down and get away from it all. Wonderful.

review 10 Apr 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being in the mountains - fantastic location of the cottage, and access to the most beautiful coasts, mountains and monuments anywhere in the world. Discovering we could all get to the top of the climbing wall at the local centre (even stricken with vertigo!) - and get down again!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't let changeable weather stop you from enjoying everything the area has to offer!! When it's blowy and wet in Fachwen it may not be on the coast (or even in Llanberis!) The climbing shops have detailed 3 day forecasts. Take plenty of £1 coins for the electricity meter - and particularly at this time of year - make sure you put all heaters in the cottage on for a reasonable length of time. (The cottage is as damp as you would expect of a partially inhabited, 200 year old cottage half way up a mountain in one of the wettest parts of the country - but this shouldn't put you off going there in any way). If you have children accept they may not want to climb mountains every day - there's a fantastic play centre in Caernarfon - with a couple of slides big (scary!) enough to be fun even for adults... (it was recommended to us by 19 yr.old climbing instructor.) Our children enjoyed Greenwood Forest Park too. They also wanted to go canoeing, pony trekking, pottery painting, to the high ropes centre, do more climbing... but a week and our budget could only be stretched so far! If you're interested in castles/monuments consider joining CADW (Heritage in Wales) - membership costs around £50-60 pa for family (ie 2 adults and lots of children) and in the first year gives half price admission to English Heritage/Historic Scotland sites too. In subsequent years these are free too so its better value in the long run than English Heritage which costs more to join in the first place. You can also have short (week/3 day memberships). The path down to the cottage is steep (though now partially concreted) - either pack light, leave boots etc. in car at the top or take a trolley if you feel the need to take your own kitchen sink. (Though you shouldn't need to!) There's a hairdryer, iron etc. at the cottage but no flasks/butty boxes (we took a hair dryer but left flasks at home - sod's law!) Plenty of cards/games/reading material there too. Don't forget your camera. Take waterproofs/boots. Have fun!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Not as much as we would have liked. We shopped locally and visited local attractions, however we did use the car most days. It was a car journey to the recycling centre in the car park by Dolbadarn Castle - we could have walked there in about 40 minutes, but didn't fancy carrying our rubbish all that way, and it didn't take plastic (only cans, paper and bottles). There was only a waste collection from the roadside (unless we were particularly unobservant - please put us right if so!) The cottage is heated by rather inefficient electric heaters which were very thirsty - although the open fire in the sitting room was more sustainable. Maybe in summer it would be more efficient as the need to heat the cottage would be less?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a fantastic time, and loved being in such a beautiful part of Wales. All of us are relaxed, rested and even a bit fitter than when we left home a week ago. The location of the cottage is stunning and the garden beautiful. A great vacation - thank you Rosie!

review 17 May 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The spectacular scenery and walks available within a 15 mile radius of the cottage. Many accessible from the cottage itself. As well as the peaks and scrambles there are many rewarding and beautiful walks taking in old broadleaf woodland which were covered in carpets of bluebells.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The view from the cottage is probably the best to be had of Lake Padarn and the Snowden range. First glimpse from the cottage takes your breath away. The garden and terrace around the cottage are delightful and the solitude is well worth the steep access. However the amenities in the cottage are very basic and the cottage feels cold and damp despite electric heaters and open fire, especially in the double bedroom which also has an unpleasant odour presumably due to the damp.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, because there was so much walking available within a short radius there was little need to drive far. Llanberis also had enough amenities to sustain us throughout our vacation, shopping, eating out and tourist attractions.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We really enjoyed our time in Snowdonia, it is our 4th visit to this area and still we do not feel we have explored it sufficiently and will visit again. However the basic standard of the cottage was disappointing despite its location and solitude.

Read the operator's response here:

Other guests have found everything they want in the cottage, as can be seen from the reviews. I'm sorry that this guest was disappointed. It's not a 5 star hotel and the price reflects this, but most guests find it comfortable and well equipped. I have never found any unpleasant odours, and I have a good nose!

review 6 Jun 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of our vacation was when we set eyes on the cottage we had booked! Brilliant! ...and then we saw the view!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

My tips for travelers in this area would be plan well! There is a lot to see and do, some off the best things you will find in local brochures signs!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think locals benefit from tourist spending for sure! And I cant see that we or anyone else visiting those areas have any affect on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant! Didnít want to leave! Canít wait to go back!

review 1 Jun 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The view from the house was outstanding, seeing it every day was even better. It must have been the best view from a vacation cottage I have ever seen! I will always remember it. Also I thought the Ffestinog Railway was very exciting. I was allowed to take my dog on it and she loved it, she was sticking her head out the window and it was really funny. We only stopped halfway at TanYBwlch. It was brilliant for woodland walks as it was very peaceful and quiet.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The track down to the cottage is quite steep so the people stopping at it would need to be fit and able. Try and come when there is dry, sunny weather so you can enjoy the view more and sit outside.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. It was beneficial for local people because we got our supplies for the vacation in Llanberis such as food, equipment and fuel. We also went to local attractions such as the slate museum and the quarry hospital museum. It was also good for the environment because we didn't need to use the car as much because the walks, attractions were near by: such as the lake walk. You don't need to use the car at all because you start from the cottage.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was excellent. All attractions we went to were dog friendly, even the museums which was brilliant. It was also very peaceful as it was away from busy roads. The garden was beautiful; I enjoyed watching the birds on the birdfeeder. The vacation was just amazing everything was perfect! I will go again!

review 1 Nov 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It snowed, and the already amazing views became breathtaking. We set off up the Llanberis Path, and even though we turned back about 3/4 of the way up, it was such a beautiful day and we met such lovely people, and the snow made everything so magical, that it really didn't matter.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be aware that the double bedroom leads off the twin one - it affected the dynamic of our group in that we had to change sleeping plans. Make sure you have suitable gear to allow for all weather and don't sit around talking about it - get out there.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Having been made aware of the 'responsible' element, we made every effort to shop locally, recycled as much as we possibly could and looked at what we did with a critical eye.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

In terms of the place, absolutely brilliant. I would perhaps choose different people to go with next time!! Make that 'will' as I do intend to return.

review 26 Mar 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The breathtaking views and scenery around the cottage.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take lots of out door clothes!!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes all the little local shops were fab and we really felt our custom was valued.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Really fab little cottage - with everything you need and brilliant views from the living room and a great base for exploring the area.

review 12 Feb 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Climbing Snowdon in glorious sunshine, sitting on the terrace in the evening and enjoying the lights of Llanberis mirrored in the lake, being able to walk straight from the cottage and enjoy spectacular scenery without car travel.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Everything you need is in Llanberis, no need to travel further afield for necessities. The large cafe 'Pete's Eats' is a warm and friendly place, serving hunky proportions of good fodder and excellent coffee (he told us he 'fiddled' with the coffee/ water ratio in the machine! Its certainly not a greasy spoon and even has a book swap corner! The tourist information centre chap was really informative and helpful (middle of Llanberis). The nearby Snowdon pub (hotel) allows dogs (always a bonus!) and the whole area is very dog friendly. There is a steep walk to and from the cottage, but it makes the place feel even more secretive and charming.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We shopped and ate locally. I don't think Ive ever seen so many small buses tootling around, so there is obviously a very good transport service. Buses were picking up/ dropping off at the main Snowdon routes, so no need to even drive that far.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - The cottage itself does not exude decadence, it is simply furnished but very comfortable and has lovely views. If you need a break from the daily grind and enjoy simple living, fresh air and exercise, this is just up your street. On the other hand, I'm tempted to put everyone off so that I can spend more time there myself.....

review 12 Jul 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Rained the whole time, so outdoor stuff was difficult and the Snowdon train was only going up halfway (and not letting people off) because of high winds. Indoor things to do were lowest common denominator (karting, tacky so-called 'galleries' selling cheesy crafts and amateur pottery). Food was abominable in the local villages with a complete lack of acceptable eating out. Needed to drive to Caernarfon or Bangor for any half-decent restaurants and even then, what we found was pretty so-so. Not a destination for the gourmet. We live in a touristy area (the Mendips) and have our fair share of pubs and hotels that serve lazy slop to grockles, but in a whole week we didn't find a single decent place to eat. Shocking actually. Can there really be no demand for decent food?

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

House was rather damp so bring lots of dry clothes and £1 coins for the electric meter. Also the steep 150m climb to and from the car parking space (not 100m as advertised) meant you needed to be very fit. Any younger than my 9 and 11 year olds would have struggled a bit I think.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Not particularly, a 5h drive each way from Somerset felt equivalent to a short-haul flight in terms of environmental impact and it's impossible to get to this place by any sort of public transport. I can't emphasise how shoddy the overpriced cafeteria and pub grub was, while I can't say I found the locals very engaging or sympathetic at all.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Awful. On the odd few moments the weather cleared, the view of some of Snowdon and the lake was pleasant (we never saw the whole hill due to constant low cloud) but that didn't make up for a damp, hungry, rather boring and altogether fairly miserable week. Sunshine, some warmth and a good airing might change this place but in the wet, it was just grim. Back to Austria or Italy next time for us, I think.

Read the operator's response here:

So sorry about the weather - I usually try harder. Did you visit Electric Mountain or the Slate Museum in Llanberis (both excellent on a wet day)? As for the food - did you try the Peak Brasserie in Llanberis (excellent)? I have also found Gallt y Glyn very good if unpretentious, also the Indian in Llanberis. And the track to the cottage - it is 110m (I measured it). My son was running up it from age 2 onwards - other children have reported no difficulty. And as from this year it is now part concreted and much easier underfoot, though admittedly a little steep when carrying luggage.

review 15 Dec 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walking up and down the hill everyday - most exercise I've done since I left school!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is the perfect location for a retreat, not a sociable vacation. My friend and I used the time to relax, read and write.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We travelled by train and taxi and walked to the shop in the nearest town which was a few miles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Awesome.

review 27 Nov 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The cottage was absolutely lovely, a real gem set in the foothills of Snowdon with a magnificent view of Snowdon itself. The fact that the cottage was so comfortable added enormous value to the vacation as a whole.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

To make use of the wonderful log fire in the cottage; to have coffee on the veranda overlooking Lake Padarn and Snowdon; to take a walk through the surrounding countryside on one of the many trails. Future visitors should be aware that there are no local shops in walking distance but plenty of amenities in Llanberis itself to stock up on food etc. and also to note that the cottage itself is located about 100yrds from the road down a slope which is only accessible by foot (although there is a parking space on the main road).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I would like to think that staying in Snowdonia did benefit the local tourism industry. The many walks around the cottage and Llanberis minimised the need for a car and there is sufficient public transport available to the major visitor attractions in Snowdonia.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Overall, the vacation was excellent value for money, set in a fantastic location with stunning views and wonderful countryside.

review 7 Aug 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Eating breakfast on the patio, with a wonderful view of Snowden and the lake.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The only tip I would give for other travelers is to wear sturdy shoes for the walk to and from the cottage as it is quite steep.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We spent most of our time seeing the sights of Llanberis, we ate in the village and shopped there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

My family and I had a great time, we live in the city so the children loved being out in the wilds of Wales, we will definitely return to Llanberis and use the cottage again.

review 27 Jun 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Climbing Mount Snowdon

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just go ahead and book it, you'll love it

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10 Can't wait to go back

review 4 Jun 2007

What a fabulous week. Watching Snowdon from the sitting room (and bedroom) window - seeing it change from sun to mist and through the rainbow of colours! Walking to it, up it, down it - fantastic. Even my 14 year old daughter was heard to say the walks were 'ok'. The cottage was so right for us - just the right size with all we needed. The walk on the slope to and from the road to the cottage was worth it every time. I would recommend this as a real break to forget about the routine between vacations!

review 20 Jun 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Exploring the beautiful scenery and breathtaking views

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ensure you travel light! The cottage was very well equipped. It had fantastic panoramic views of Snowdon National Park. We took too much gear with us and 5 trips from the road to the cottage. This proved very tiring due to the extremely steep slope down from the car to the cottage. It was a little prohibitive, and quite a challenge to the most fit and healthy person.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We used local shops and restaurants. Found Llanberris to have basic amenities and rather run down pubs. Preferred to travel into surrounding towns for improved choice of bars, restaurants and shops.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Lovely retreat, very private with great views of the lake and mountains. Challenging walks in the surrounding area with plenty of watering holes along the way to grab a coffee or beer.

review 4 Nov 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Most memorable part - getting two children to the top of Snowdon on a lovely clear crisp day. Their favourite part was preparing and tending to the open fire in the cottage. There was also a wonderful feeling of contentment upon reaching the idyllic cottage with its breathtaking views after a long car journey.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Tips for other travelers - stock up at M&S in Bangor for a treat! Otherwise, eat at Pete's Eats in Llanberis - enormous varied menu, good value and child-friendly. We thought other visitors had exaggerated the difficulty of negotiating the track to the cottage but it is very steep so it's sensible to take a torch if the return journey will be in the dark (there's a good one provided in the cottage).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Benefit to local people - there are good paths from the cottage so we tried to avoid using the car. We shopped in farm shops and ate locally. We recycled much of our rubbish by burning it on the fire in the cottage.

4. Any other comments?

We had a relaxing time in Snowdonia, definitely 4 stars. Hope this is useful. We loved the cottage and would definitely recommend it to others, especially as a child-friendly option.

review 25 Aug 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Adults - Tranquillity of the location, spectacular mountain views, local history, great beaches & Edward the 1st's Castles Kids - Steam trains, Greenwood Forest Park, Beaches, Castles & "our" house!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ensure you have a good pair of walking boots, as the journey from the road to the cottage can be challenging (but rewarding) If you have young kids & plan to eat out in the evening, do some research before you go, as options are limited after the cafes close (6pm ish) - there was one in nearby Beddgelert (Glandwr Cafe) that was superb.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we travelled relatively little by car, enjoyed many of the local attractions, bought from local shops & ate in local restaurants.

4. Any other comments?

Would recommend the cottage highly, particularly to artists & poets looking for tranquillity & inspiration & city workers needing a change! The only caveat is that the walk from the road to the cottage should not be taken lightly (particularly in the wet) & might be very challenging for those who are not in reasonably good physical health. That said, once you were there, you'd probably feel it was worth it!

review 1 Jul 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Discovering beautiful little walks and trails around Snowdonia and Anglesey as well as having picnic breakfasts in the cottage's garden every morning.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I underestimated how much there was to do in Wales and only booked our vacation for 4 days - we could easily have spent a very happy week there.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think my visit was of benefit to the local community but without knowing anything about local revenue distribution or, for instance, how many people of Llanberis own the local shops, I find it difficult to answer this question. I don't think that we did harm to the local environment. Having visited the local slate museum and learnt about the quarry, I do feel like I know more about an area and people's lives in it.

review 26 Jun 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Getting to the top of Tryfan despite a fear of heights & exposure.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Not a great place if you want to step out of your door and be in the centre of things. Perfect if you like being in a secluded environment with a view of Snowdon to die for and love the thought of not being able to drive right up to the door.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. It's self catering so you buy in the local shops & patronise local pubs and eateries.

4. Any other comments?

**** (4 stars definitely) I'm certainly going back

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the vacations. In addition, we don't run these vacations ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies