17 independent reviews for Walking vacation in Alicante

Reviews for Walking vacation in Alicante

SHOW
3
14
0
0
0

review 21 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The incredible views, flora and fauna seen on our walks

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You really benifit from walking poles. Recently the restaurant in the town has closed and the bar food wasn't great so be prepare for self catering at the house.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our walking vacation had a very low carbon footprint and we followed the country code, respecting the environment., All money spent was in local shops, bars or on local produce. We left all packaging etc to be recyled.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Erik was very accomodating and did all he could to make our vacation comfortable and enjoyable. We really felt we got a personalised treatment. The accomadation was lovely and we came back extremly relaxed and feeling we had had a very special time.

review 27 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Instantly relaxing as Erik met us and all organisation was taken care off. He is so friendly, relaxed and reliable that you immediately relax and enjoy the vacation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Try out the GPS on a short walk first, it is excellent but best to feel confident with it first.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we ate out every night, except Monday when the bars were shut!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Superb!

review 18 Feb 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole experience of being in such a wonderful place to walk, with varying and spectacular views daily.Very peaceful

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Obviously need to be fit as there are many strenuous climbs, don't forget your camera, remember a packed lunch as no where on walks to obtain any drinks or food until the end of the walk.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited the local bar as we had an evening meal there every night. Local shop and bakers for your lunch. Did not need to hire a car. Support the work by local people who are preserving the footpaths for walking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant vacation and would definitely return to complete the rest of the walks. Erik is a friendly, knowledgeable, helpful host. Nothing was too much trouble, picking us up from and to the airport (which is a 90 minute drive) taking us to starting points on walks and picking us up when finished. Accommodation was good,fully equipped kitchen and hot water and heating.

review 3 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The lovely walks and the lovely weather. We enjoyed the house where we lived - As Tunel - spacious for 2 people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Tarbena is a charming place but the restaurants tend not to open in the evenings. One does on a Friday for the Brits at 8pm. The alternative is to go to a bar but our Spanish is not good enough for that. The village supermarket was very adequate for self catering. Twice we had 'menu del dia' in the afternoon which was wonderful and we did not need to eat for the rest of the day - and not expensive. We chose not to hire a car, but we were then very restricted - there is nothing to do apart from going on the walks (and relaxing). We went in the last 2 weeks of October and it got chilly by 5pm. Erik is very helpful, giving advice about the area; his walks were good and the directions, map and GPS all helped to make the walking possible.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local people benefitted from our custom in the shops and the restaurants. the countryside is lovely with impressive gorges - quite fantastic!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good thank you.

review 31 Mar 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walk we did on the final day - a breathtaking, off-the-beaten-track gorge landscape descending towards the pleasant little village of Bolulla where a homely restaurant served us a classic Spanish rural Menu del Dia.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

1. Learn how to use the GPS device before you start your first walk. We thought we would pick it up along the way and ended up taking some wrong turns. Once we finally mastered it (especially the zoom facility) it was a great boon. We should have got to grips with it at the start. 2. Be prepared for some tough gradients and rough underfoot conditions. Spanish mountain walking is not like a stroll in the English countryside! Having said which, the views are ample reward for all the effort.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - emphatically so. It was great to stay in a mountain village for 4 nights, sampling the village bars and restaurants and shopping locally. The vacation format meant that we settled down in Tarbena where otherwise most visitors probably pass by in a moment. Waking up to the views from the apartment patio then going out walking made us feel immersed in the environment rather than passing by.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely first class. Amazing walks, charming village to stay in (Tarbena), very comfortable and well equipped apartment in an old part of the centre, good village facilities. Erik was a very helpful, friendly, flexible host. The ideal break if you want to walk in spectacular mountain scenery whilst someone else looks after your transport needs (including arrival and departure by train from / to Valencia for us). If you are a keen walker you simply could not fail to feel exhilarated and delighted by the combination of scenery, village, transport and accommodation.

review 21 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Really being able to immerse ourselves in what felt like real Spain amongst the most charming of people who spoke no English but understood the meaning of hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go for it . It's a wonderful tour, great hiking, beautiful scenery and all made very easy by Erik.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Our visit definitely benefitted local people and we walked on from place to place leaving only our foot prints!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, Erik sorted out our kind of vacation which we couldn't have sorted out on our own. We stayed at some fabulous places, usually on our own and met some wonderful local people. I would recommend this trip and others Erik organises without hesitation.

review 22 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Some of the gorgeous picnic spots we rested at during our walks, admiring the spectacular views.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The walks are delightful, just enjoy them! February, when the almonds are in bloom, is a great time of year to go!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, these small mountain villages need people to leave the coast and visit them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A lovely week, the walking was great, the views fantastic and it was very relaxing.

review 20 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Enjoying a well deserved glass of wine after a lovely days walk in the sunshine, whilst admiring an unspoilt view of the mountains around Confrides.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Despite the price being quoted in £ youíll be charged the price in euros so will be at the mercy of the exchange rate at time of payment ( i.e. 1 month before you go). Also, the vacation info we were given quoted it as full board (including packed lunch) but we had to pay extra for these at each hotel (between Ä5 - Ä7). I note that the vacation details have since been updated on the website to half board though. About half of the walking is on concrete/tarmac lanes, so you could probably manage the week with good trainers/walking shoes rather than boots. If you are a light sleeper be sure to pack some ear plugs, the villages you stay in all have a hourly bell and some of them ring throughout the night, (no noisy traffic or sirens though!) Try to learn a few phrases in Spanish before you go, not all of the hosts speak good English and they will appreciate you trying to communicate in the local language.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in small villages that most likely donít see huge amounts of tourists, drank in local bars and shopped in small village stores.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A lovely get-a-way, the people are very friendly, scenery is unspoilt and there are plenty of options to either shorten or lengthen your walk depending on how energetic you are feeling.

review 13 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The winding trail to El Castellet and the views from it, the wildflowers and the local hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make time to take in the daily excursions as they're well worth effort.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - the operator is based in the region, accommodation is provided in small guesthouses along the route and food is sourced locally. The route is on robust trails and roads, reducing the impact of hiking on the land.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Most enjoyable.

review 8 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Achieving the climbs to the Castell de Serrella and also the Castell at Benifato. The friendliness of the people who ran the various places where we stayed each night was without fault.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You seriously have to love your walking and be ready to do so in all weathers. The surrounding hills and mountains are beautiful and when you are up there without another person in view it is gorgeous. You need lots of sun protection and water and a big hat. We tried to pace ourselves but places to rest in the shade were few and far between.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Like most small places in the World today, they are very much affected by the economic global downturn. There is no doubt that our custom helped. As vacations go - it involved flying etc but what we did whilst there had little impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I wanted this vacation in order to getaway from things for a while and get some peace and quiet - I certainly got this. We have had a nice time and my walking muscles are very toned. Good vacation.

review 6 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walks in stunning countryside bathed in bright sunshine with fantastic views of steeply terraced mountains to the blue sea, almond trees with their pink blossom, olive groves and orange trees heavy with fruit. We rarely met others and often the only sound was birdsong. It was hard to believe that we were so close to the busy coast! Erik was full of local knowledge and was extremely welcoming and helpful!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you want a huge, locally sourced, Spanish meal at the end of a hard days walk eat your evening meals at the Piscine Bar, Esperanta was a very generous and talented cook! The accommodation is very comfortable and has everything you need so there is no need to bring lots with you.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we only left our footprints and ate local food. In this worked environment with carefully tended terraces we stuck to paths that needed to be walked or they will disappear.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, such a friendly welcome to this part of Spain.

review 14 Jun 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The hospitality and friendliness of everyone we met. We had a fabulous time and enjoyed the walks immensely. We were given fresh cherries picked from the tree and almonds from the area as nibbles for our walk. Packed lunches were a highlight of each day - wondering what we would have! Varied each day which was great. Casa Pilar offered fantastic food.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Never underestimate the heat. We went slightly later than we had hoped to go (June) and it was really too hot on a couple of days. Travel light - we took way too much gear. Wear walking shoes, they are up to the job and boots would be just too warm. Make full use of the fonts to fill up with ice cold water.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, locals were our hosts and a great wealth of knowledge and information about the area. Great way to cover many miles with fabulous views.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic vacation, we only covered 5 days but would return to the area.

review 5 Jun 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most remarkable aspect was that just one hour's drive from crowded Benidorm you can trek beautiful countryside without a tourist in site. Being able to see the ordinary lives of the local farmers, harvesting their fruit etc. and staying in villages that seem to stand still in time, was great.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't expect lively nightlife and avoid from June to August, it gets quite hot.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. The people who operate the hotels also own them and they depend on the few hikers etc. that pass through.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great. Each place where we stayed was different and our hosts could not be more helpful. The meals they cooked were excellent. I must also add that Eric, who collected and returned us to the airport , gave us a great insight in to our weeks trek and was only ever a phone call away should we get lost. However the maps and guide notes we got covered the treks in great detail, so there was no problem.

review 9 Dec 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walking in the hills and mountains on footpaths empty of other people, fabulous views - esp down into the Guadalest Valley. Excellent regional food aplenty, particular star was the Bennimantel restaurant.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We went at end of Nov to find the coldest spell in the area for 47 years - you will prob be luckier buts lots of layers are important, rooms not as warm as you might expect although again our weather experience was untypical. Apparently the almond lossom in Feb make it a magical time to be there. The self guiding was relatively straightforward (although be prepared for the occasional lost moment soon to be rectified with a bit of thinking - although we are not the most experienced navigators so you may find it v easy). Take very little money - you won't need it. The trip was excellent value. The wine situation is a bit complicated - supposed to be included with the meal but a couple of places offer you wine lists that you then pay the full price for. We were told by the operator that he keeps talking to them about this, just something to be aware of. We found a high level of generosity overall though and were happy to pay for a bit of wine here and there.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Many of the places we stayed had no-one else there - this was really bringing out of season tourism and allowing some earnings in difficult months. The hotels/guest rooms were all small local businesses - no chance of corporate cream off here! The walking was on established tracks and footpaths thereby minimising any additional environmental wear - we walked between places and although the luggage did depend on cars they were very short trips in comparison - no need for transit to the start or from the end of walking days. Tour operator is living locally, married into a local family, and most of their income is from this tourism and sympathetic farming of long owned family land.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. All that is promised (well minus the warmth but no-one could have predicted that).

review 20 Nov 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The climb to the pass to Castell de Castell. The scenery was beautiful the whole way.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Estimates of the time it took for each dayís walk tended to be low - or perhaps I'm more out of shape than I thought. But the guide gave excellent options for longer or shorter route choices.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Minimal impact on the environment, and income for the tour industry.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent trip. Eric went above and beyond to help us enjoy ourselves and deal with unexpected events/problems. In our case, that included floods and road closures.

review 31 May 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Wonderful walks with varied scenery and terrain. Erik was kindness itself and quickly assessed our modest ability and tailored the walks appropriately, while providing options. He was very informative about the flora and wildlife of the area as well as local customs conditions, which was fascinating. We were facilitated in every way. Extra bonus was meeting his family.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

End of March can be cold and wet so take appropriate gear. Tarbena is a quiet village full of charm with two small supermarkets so you can get most things. Also there is a small market once a week with fresh local produce available. Vegetarians will find limited, but good, choices in local restaurants. Tarbena is very easily accessed from Alicante.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We stayed in a village house, used local restaurants and shops. Hopefully this was of some benefit to the village. Impact on environment was minimal or nil.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this vacation--all so very memorable.

review 19 Feb 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walks were very well thought out and designed through a beautiful scenic area. Every corner one turned had breath taking scenery. Eric (who owns the walking company) was extemely helpful, friendly and great company. The little village Tarbene where stayed for the week was in a lovely location in the hills and the local people made us feel welcome and at home.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't pack too much- just walking clothes and a change of casual clothes for the evening.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It definitely benefited the local economy as we ate in the village where we stayed and purchased all our requirements for the week from the local shops. The vacation has minimal impact on the environment as we followed well established paths on our walks.

4. Any other comments?

We really enjoyed the vacation- would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys walking. We are looking forward to going back!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies