11 independent reviews for Sailing cruises in Norway

Reviews for Sailing cruises in Norway

SHOW
5
6
0
0
0

review 15 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

How exciting sailing around Varangerfjord in NE Norway, near the Russian border. It felt very much on the frontier/wilderness and the adventure of deserted anchorages, sailing an ancient 2 masted clipper with 7 sails (we were the crew!), then picking cloudberries on land was fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go for it! The weather was sunny on 4/6 days and temps varied between 10-25 degrees. As long as you remember to take warm clothes and waterproofs, there is no problem. The adventure will be one of my most memorable vacations. Charles and his lovely wife Natasha are great company, providing large amounts of good typical north Norwegian food. It felt like a great adventure in a fabulous setting of Charles' beautiful 2 masted sailing clipper: everything we imagined it would be and more!! Sailing was quite magical in this beautiful empty part of the world.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We caught (very easily!!) and ate fish from the fjord, picked cloudberries, visited the excellent Sami museum at Varangerbotn, learnt a lot about the Sami culture and that of the modern day north Norwegian. It was a real privilege. The Grenseland Museum at Kirkenes was also good, (worth staying in Kirkenes for) l learnt a lot about the multiculturism of this area, WW II and there was an amazing artist exhibition: a great variety of experiences to help understand this amazing frontier area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, I would highly recommend this to anyone who loves wilderness, culture, the landscape, interesting people, sailing, fishing, visiting a part of the world with great beauty, yet harshness, dramatic scenery, art (optional!) and getting away from our crowded world for a brief moment of paradise in a different climate. It was more sunny and dry than I imagined it might be...

review 3 Oct 2009

We have just had the most fantastic vacation in Arctic Norway with our brilliant guide Charles Wara. We had originally booked a sailing trip aboard the Goxheim sailing through the Stavanger Fjord, and fishing for king crabs. Unfortunately a few weeks before the trip was due to begin, Charles contacted us to inform us that he could not run this trip as we were the only 2 booked on it and it was not in the spirit of responsible travel to do so. We quite understood this dilemma but were of course disappointed. Charles had offered to refund our deposit or suggested 2 alternatives, one of which we decided to go ahead with. What a great decision that was! Although the trip was very different from our original plan, we actually saw far more than we would have done. We first stayed in a rustic, but very comfortable beach cabin overlooking a quiet sandy beach beside the fjord, then moved on to a restored old church building, beautifully furnished, warm and homely. It was positioned on a peninsula adjoining an island, so again amazing views. The landscape this far north is enchantingly desolate and windswept. We had traditional saunas, hot-tubs, tried all the local foods, mostly prepared by our guide. We went walking, crab fishing on a restored traditional fishing boat, saw sea eagles, went to several museums learning about sami culture and the German occupation... I could go on... and even time to just sit and take it all in! Everyone we met was so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. And as for Charles, he was the best host. He took care of everything. Although he had an itinerary, this was not fixed, so we were able to do things which were not necessarily part of the plan. The only down side was there was a little too much driving, and we usually have vacations which are self directed, so it was a little strange having an itinerary. But we would not have experienced so many amazing things without this, so would not change a thing! This vacation would suite anyone who is interested in getting to understand a place beyond the tourist route, and just being in the great outdoors! We have already recommended Charles's trips to all our friends! Almost forgot... the Northern Lights even did a little dance for us!

review 4 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The endless views and complete quiet and relaxation. The sea eagles and SWARMS of puffins round Bird island. Charles' soups.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take warm clothes, but not too many.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes- locally caught and smoked salmon, bought at a dock, locally caught and dried fish, locally raised and slaughtered salt lamb, and attention to lack of waste and to recycling where possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant ! I'm glad our vacation in the Maldives was cancelled - this was just as relaxing, a lot more interesting and a thousand times better for the environment.

review 22 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing my wife relax and my children having much fun.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Share and be considerate with other guests.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Norway is expensive and has a high sales tax, so in that regard yes, the passengers did spend money in the local villages. On a sailing boat the greatest impact on the environment is the use of diesel so it really does depend on the wind.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good, Norway is very beautiful and Charles and Taria skippered the boat extremely well.

review 31 Oct 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scenery was fabulous and the captain and crew were excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take some sea sickness tablets.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 25 Aug 2006

Summer cruise from Tromsø to Lofoten

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Feeling like an explorer discovering untouched lands.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just book it- you will discover the wonders of the fiords without the crowds of the cruise ship, see masterpieces of clouds unfurl on a perfect blue sky canvas, visit hidden coves ponds and waterfalls, enjoy the hospitality of Charles and Natasha whilst eating heartily and healthily (except for the daily pudding indulgence!!), experience the exhilaration of catching your first fish- then eating it.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Everything ate was caught or bought locally and recycling was prominent.

review 6 Dec 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of it. We had three full days there of which we saw whales on two days, Northern Lights on Two nights, a fantastic rainbow on the 3rd day. Food was fantastic too, all cooked by either the skipper or his mate.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Did get colder than I expected and could have done with additional gloves although did have thermal gloves on. You need to take very little Norwegian currency as we didn’t really need to buy anything. Do take strong binoculars. Mine were only 12x so not really suitable when you are searching for the whales.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes as all food, diesel etc is purchased locally. Nothing imported so definitely better for Norwegian economy. Also appreciated the fact that on the second day the whales were stressed out by all the RIB's that were out on the water. They would pop their heads up to breath and go straight back down again. Our skipper decided that it would better watching from a slight distance away - with binoculars it made little difference to the viewing and was better for the whales. The RIBS would just jet of to where the whales where by which time they had gone under anyway.

review 9 Aug 2006

Summer cruise from North Cape to Tromsø

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the midnight sun dip below the horizon.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring plenty of warm clothes - even in summer. The temperature can go from being really quite warm when the sun is out to being pretty cold when it isn't!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I would say so.

review 8 Nov 2005

We had a fantastic time on our vacation from beginning to end. Traveling to Evenes airport from Manchester via Copenhagen, via Oslo vas relaxing and stress-free with SAS airlines, even the buses at the other end wait for the planes and run on time. The boat was very warm, cosy clean and homely the hosts very welcoming, fed us well with local food/recipes and made us feel at home within minutes. The scenery was breathtaking, the weather perfect for the days we were sailing and the whales, well they were awesome, we saw lots and lots each day. We stopped at harbours at the end of each night and even a local shop opened early for us so we could spend our money. We came back from our vacation 100% relaxed and de-stressed I would recommend it to anyone who wants to just switch off, enjoy their surroundings and be in good company surrounded by fantastic scenery and wildlife.

review 24 Nov 2005

Killer Whale Safari

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scenery and the whales were very impressive, the ship's accommodation wonderfully relaxing and warm and the crew was in one word fantastic!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Start organizing trains, plains and buses to the port of departure in due time, matching all the timetables can take some time, depending on where you travel from. Contact the captain to find out the exact time and date the ship will sail.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All the purchases are made locally, all efforts are made to recycle waist and when the sails are up, the environment doesn't even know the ship is floating through it.

review 22 Jul 2005

Summer cruise from Bodø to North Cape

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Most memorable parts of the vacation were: Learning not to fear being on a boat in the north sea even though the waves were tipping it from side to side, experiencing 24hr daylight............weird, beginning to learn to sail - I was a complete novice before, fabulous food, seeing about 6 Sea Eagles soaring around a 'bird island'.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take waterproof and ideally breathable coat and leggings - even in summer there can be a strong storm and it's great to be in it but still stay mostly dry. Take binoculars (with a strap to put round your neck so they don't fall in the sea!), don't concentrate just on what's going on on board the ship - check out the beautiful scenery - you are asked to help with the sailing part but there is plenty of time for just sitting up at the bow and looking out over the ocean. Accept that a boat does not have a spacious hotel room type suite for accommodation so not likely you will spend much time in your room.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The vacation definitely benefited local people in that we spent our money in the ports that we docked in. Charles and Natasha minimize impact on the environment by recycling their rubbish wherever possible and use local produce for food.

4. Any other comments?

A fab vacation to be recommended to everyone..

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies