8 independent reviews for Painting vacation in Andalucia, Spain

Reviews for Painting vacation in Andalucia, Spain

SHOW
4
3
1
0
0

review 18 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sunset and supper at Paul and Victoria's.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Come prepared to go with the flow and enjoy every minute.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate in all the local restaurants and tried all the local specialities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant.

review 18 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Eating at Vicky’s and Paul’s villa. They went above and beyond to make sure we were happy with our vacation. I met an amazing group of fellow travelers and we had such a lot of fun and laughs together. We will keep in touch. Good to visit different local towns.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go for it. You will be really looked after by Paul and Vicky who are amazing hosts and organisers.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as we ate out in local restaurants, stayed in local hotels and used their shops. Hopefully, when people see our paintings they will see what a pretty place it is and want to visit the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Beyond my expectations.

review 20 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being able to do everything together

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you like painting outside it is a good vacation

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used local facilities and did nothing that could possibly have caused any adverse impact

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 16 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Painting each day at beautiful and varied sites around Torrox Pueblo. This challenged our outlook and extended the scope of our creativity. This was seamlessly organized by Vicki and Paul. Of real value was the opportunity to benefit from daily demonstrations by our tutor and to meet and paint with other painters.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I would recommend taking minimal painting supplies. I took too many and it slowed me down! Paintings can be started on site with minimal materials and completed at home in studio. Weather: first week of June but needed a sweater or jacket in the evenings.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We took all our meals (except those prepared and hosted by Paul and Vicki in their home) in local restaurants and shopped in pastry shops, pharmacies, and convenience store; local residents didn’t hesitate to greet us with “hola”.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was fabulous. I also spent a week in Malaga. One of the best trips of my much travelled life!

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you so much for the 5* review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your Andalucian experience and became part of our village for a week. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again one day.

review 2 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The painting experience and teaching.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do NOT stay at AL Andalus Hotel. The people there are very friendly, but the rooms (not only mine), I hear, are humid and stinky.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. It was obvious from how particularly friendly everybody local was to our group.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Perfect, other than for accommodation.

review 31 Dec 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The weather made the vacation as we were able to paint in early November in warm sunshine, but otherwise the mix of people on the course contributed to an interesting week as there were some serious painters and others who just wanted to dabble. The organisation was very smooth and everything was made easy for us as we were transported to our painting destination each day and meals with wine were provided every day apart from our one "day off".

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It is possible to enjoy this vacation whether you are a beginner or serious painter but you need to remember that there will be different levels of skill and some people will require more attention from the tutor and her assistant than others. Most people travelled on their own and the painting provided a mutual interest.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a small hotel and ate our meals at different restaurants in the town.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I found it very enjoyable and relaxing; the organisers were efficient and friendly and created a welcoming environment.

review 28 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was all good, but the trip to and lunch in Acebuchal was a highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Prepare to have a lovely, relaxing time with a conscientious, friendly and hospitable crew and the company of new friends - and - develop your artristic talent.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As Jill & Dave have an organic farm and put a lot of business the way of local folk, it almost goes without saying.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent! If not the best vacation I have ever been on it was certainly among them, despite some unusually indifferent weather. See my written feedback report also.

review 26 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Views over mountain and coast with a picnic lunch, a quaffable rose and two bonkers dogs.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Check shop opening times before you run out of breakfast supplies. The town is on a hillside, so some ups and downs before your walk. Take sticks if you find uneven steep ground a challenge, and plenty of water if walking in hotter months.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The company works hard to support local eateries.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very accommodating staff team and extras. Walking gradients more challenging than anticipated, but at a pace that enabled everyone to complete the walks. You will be billeted in a variety of local homes in the village so feel well immersed in the community.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy