14 independent reviews for Self guided walking vacation in France

Reviews for Self guided walking vacation in France

SHOW
3
9
2
0
0

review 22 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The total immersion at the accommodation in a well-organised retreat from normal life! Excellent accommodation, wonderful ambience, fine food and superb wines, hosted with charm and wit by Carolynn and Peter. This is perfect for walking and cycling in idyllic countryside. Perhaps the most exciting part was being surrouned by butterflies while walking the paths.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You can drive there is six hours from Calais on excellent motorways. Otherwise, get there and relax.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Truly great value and the fact that most of the guests had been before and one set I think 12 times makes its own point.

review 11 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beautiful countryside, great food, wine and company. Our hosts Carolyn and Peter were great fun, interesting conversationalists and they run a lovely home. I walked my legs off and swam in the pool every day. If you want to get away from it all and have the best food of French food and wine you can't go wrong at Moulin de Chemin.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

leave your laptop at home and just enjoy the experience.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A most enjoyable, satisfying vacation in a beautiful part of the French countryside, teeming with wildlife.

Read the operator's response here:

We are delighted and gratified that you enjoyed your vacation so well – and thank you Mairead for the excellent review.

review 1 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hospitality of the hosts

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The walks are pretty with a mix of wooded valleys and higher arable fields. Don't expect to meet any locals even in the few villages, (at least in late April)!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not a lot

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Just as it looks on the website.
Tour op to respond to Q3 - 2nd May

Read the operator's response here:

“Bonjour Elaine, We appreciate your feedback – it is important for us to receive such comments. The towels bother us (well Carolynn actually) and hopefully she will eventually be able to solve it. In regards to the little packages we have to adhere to the hygiene standards and serve (milk, sugar, biscuits etc..) as individual packages in the bedrooms. Kind Regards, Carolynn and Peter Note: The commitment of Carolynn and Peter (the proprietors' and hosts’ of this vacation) with respect to benefitting local people, reducing environmental impacts and supporting conversation are detailed and the foot of this webpage.

review 10 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The peace and quiet plus all the birds and different types of cattle

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ideal if you want walks where you see more animals than people

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because food is sourced locally as much as possible and also because there is lots to see and do you dont need to keep getting in a car we were encouraged to recycle as much as possible

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent,really good food,drink and company brilliant location, great outdoor space, really appreciated the swimming pool

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you Anthony, for your very nice review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation. With kind regards, Carolynn and Peter.

review 6 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The lovely walks the evening dinners

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The walking is easy 14 to 20km if it's treking you are after this is not for you

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Although the staff were all UK or Irish

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your review Bernard, and we hope that your vacations memories last a long time.

review 26 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

My wife and I enjoyed an extremely relaxing but at the same time adventurous vacation at le moulin. Everything, including our hosts Peter and Carolyn, the deliciously prepared meals, the tranquility of the rural countryside met all expectations. Although the weather did not always cooperate, our hikes on farm trails and small hamlets were met by friendly farmers, and the sounds of amazing birds. Like nothing I have ever experienced. We had a friendly group of eight people we met for the first time and enjoyed many memorable dinners sharing stories about the days journeys and our life stories. Oh yes, a few politics also. What really stood out was the hospitality of the proprietors, Peter and Carolyn. Carolyn's great food preparation and Peter's engaging conversation made us feel welcome and relaxed. I would highly recommend this vacation for bikers or walkers like my wife and I.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you Jerry, for your good words and for taking the time to comment – greatly appreciated. For us it was a first-class week – nice interaction at our table with an interesting group of guests and we very much enjoyed yours and Laurie’s company

review 14 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Relaxing in the evenings around the dining table with excellent food and memorable conversation. Wonderful to have everything provided and glasses topped up without having to ask!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

A perfect rural retreat, with no urban distractions, apart from free WiFi for the addicted. Plenty of choice of walks to stretch the muscles, outside space to relax in around the pool, time for reading as well as social interaction in the evenings. Self contained which was a plus as there are very few local restaurants or hostelleries. We didn't need them as we were very well looked after.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Emphasis on locally produced food and drink, delicious home cooking, and no real need to use the car as there was always a walk option starting and finishing at the Moulin.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Can't say I feel reborn as the muscles still ache a bit - but certainly refreshed with a smile on our faces.

review 1 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beautiful countryside waiting to be explore everyday, and returning back to an amazing 4 course meal every evening. A lovely combination. All enjoyed at my own pace.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring sun screen if traveling in the summer, ensure you have trousers as some of the walking routes are a little overgrown. If cycling be warned there are lots of hills. Good exercise but if you are not used to it a bit of a challenge!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, as food and wine was purchased locally, I felt I had a minimal impact as I was cycling or walking to see the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I had a really relaxing break and the couple who run this trip are there for your every need. Having said that, the days are there to be enjoyed as you wish and they are very flexible.

review 22 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Arriving at such a beautiful spot. It felt like heaven!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Maybe try to mix walking with cycling if it is possible. The walks are really nice and picturesque but very similar.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. The food was fantastic. The veg were from locals and were so fresh. There were recycling facilities and nothing seemed to be wasted.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Really ,really good, relaxing and refreshing. You will be very well looked after and feel genuinely welcome.

review 24 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our hosts--Carolynn Grimaldi and Peter Roche--were truly memorable. The hiking also was exceptional.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you plan only to hike and do not have a car, you should be able to work with the provided maps to work out possible alternative hikes. Your host, Peter Roche can also help with alternative hikes and local detail. If you bike--the Moulin has bikes--there are even more possibilities. Finally, if you have car, there are many other options in the area.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We infused money into the local economy--somewhat depressed--with what we ate etc.. With no doubt we certainly aided the local wine providers. Since we were only hiking and without a car, we reduced our environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was an excellent vacation. Our hosts were wonderful, the other guests (all British) were delightful, and the hikes, food, and wine were exceptional.

review 2 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The personal touches from our hosts Peter and Carol such as courtesy taxi transfer from Train station at Niort on arrival and departure and the offer to meet us off the train were very welcome. We also particularly enjoyed the convivial company at meal times and our hosts taking the time to share meals and local insight with us. Carol's cooking combined the best of local produce and traditional French cookery.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

For those doing a self - guided walking vacation, local detailed maps and compass would be an asset as there are so many intersecting paths and few distinguishing features on the landscape.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We enjoyed speaking to locals in neighbouring villages and farms - particularly as we come from an agricultural background and I have a background in French - visitors with no French would have difficulty making themselves understood.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Really good value for money compared to other similar type vacations we've done. Excellent food, wine, company (maybe we were lucky) and glorious walking. Thank-you again Peter and Carol. We're already recommending it to friends.

review 6 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Swaithes of wild flowers - cowslip, primrose, oxlip, violets, wild garlic. Birdsong in peaceful woodland, sometimes walking for miles without seeing anyone else.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Expect all weathers in Spring - most of our days were sunny, some t-shirt weather after chill starts, the picnic day was cold with rain! Take a compass, the walk guides are not perfect and often unmarked.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Peter and Carolynn seemed part of the local community using local people to help them and bought all their food locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very relaxing for the mind and exercising the body in hilly countryside, the evenings spent on food, wine and conversation. We were in two minds on the all-in basis that made life easy but meant that you missed real French cuisine.

Read the operator's response here:

The large-scale highlighted maps and comprehensive route-notes we provide for our walks have been developed and refined over a period of nearly 20 years. More than 1,000 guests have followed the routes without significant difficulty. Our magnificent region is remote from centres of high population and consequently few of our walks are physically way-marked. It was unfortunate and we regret that on this occasion some difficulties were experienced. With regard to real French cuisine,16 different courses were prepared for the four evening meals of this vacation. All the dishes were characteristically French and prepared in the local style, except for two Italian dishes (which are also well known in France). All the dishes were based on local ingredients. We suggest that it is a misrepresentation to imply our cuisine is not ‘real French cuisine’. The menus for the respective evening meals were as follows: Day 1 – Salade de mozzarella et tomate – Poulet fermier à la moutarde de Dijon – Plateau de fromage – Tarte au citron – (principal wine: Cabernet Sauvignon Pays D'Oc rouge 2010) Day 2 – Terrine de Brocolis – Jambon Vendéen et mogettes – Plateau de fromage – Pudding aux fruits secs – (principal wine: Bordeaux Comte de Sérac rouge 2008) Day 3 – Tarte aux courgettes – Poisson du jour – Plateau de fromage – Panna Cotta – (principal wine: Bourgogne Grand Ordinaire rouge 2010) Day 4 – Poivrons rôtis – Bœuf Bourguignon – Plateau de fromage – Tarte aux fruits rouges – (principal wine: Tarragona de Barcelone rouge 2005)

review 8 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Along with the peaceful setting and very well organised walks, the warm welcome and great hospitality of our hosts was perhaps the highlight. We were treated as friends and individuals rather than paying guests, nothing was too much trouble and any requests were happily fulfilled.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go for as long as possible! Take your swimsuit and walking boots and make the most of the idyllic and unspoilt countryside. Bring your binoculars to help you spot the many different species of birds, butterflies, insects and other animals which you are sure to spot.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the vacation did benefit local people as it encourages sustainable tourism and respects the local customs, traditions and way of life. I believe that the majority of the food and wine was locally sourced by our hosts, thereby limiting the 'food miles' and giving us the opportunity to try local seasonal cuisine. We were also encouraged to visit local tourist attractions, thereby contributing to the preservation of some historically important sites. The impact on the environment was minimal as we were encouraged to chose the greenest travel options, travel largely by foot once on the vacation and to respect the local flora and fauna.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I would thoroughly recommend this vacation to anyone wanting a break from the hustle and bustle of modern life. The hosts encourage you into a very relaxed and idyllic way of life, respecting and learning about the local customs and culture. I guarantee that you will relax, unwind and not want to go home!

review 15 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The hospitality of our hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just book!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10 out ot 10.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies