14 independent reviews for Photography vacation in Andalucia, Spain

Reviews for Photography vacation in Andalucia, Spain

SHOW
6
8
0
0
0

review 20 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Photographing the sunset at El Torcal.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The vacation financially benefitted the hospitality venues in Torrox and the environs. Some guests stayed in hotels, some in private houses. Meals and drinks were taken at different restaurants each night.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I really enjoyed the vacation. The photography tutor was excellent and he was prepared to help as much as anyone needed. The whole week was very relaxed.

review 20 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I enjoyed the opportunity to experience different locations from the White Villages in the hills to the city of Malaga. I also enjoyed the visit to Alhambra in Granada. I came away with photographs and memories of people and locations in Andalucía which give me a sense of local people in their own locations rather than just being a tourist on vacation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is a photography vacation providing opportunities to photograph locations and people in the area. There was a professional photographer whose knowledge of the local area was invaluable. The nature of the villages mean that there are some hilly areas to be accessed although these are paved and within the villages.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The operator is based in the village of Torrox with those associated with the company living locally. The accommodation was in this village and as a result there was a feeling of getting to know the local people and supporting their businesses. Meals were arranged in a number of different locations across the village, therefore benefitting a range of a restaurants rather than one company.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This vacation met the expectations I had prior to it. The operator worked hard to facilitate the group and ensure that we had the best experience possible.

review 18 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Great photography locations and excellent tuition

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax and enjoy!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great vacation, far exceeded my expectations. The photography tuition from Rob Bell was second to none. Well managed and good company. Can highly recommend.

review 2 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Torrox is a lovely village which really gives you the sense of being in 'real' Spain. Being taken to various locations, offered photography tuition and advice in a relaxed atmosphere is a fantastic way to spend a week - a great balance of focussing on a hobby while also being looked after on vacation. Sharing the time and meals with others on the trip, some of whom were painters rather than photographers, gives a lovely social aspect to the whole experience, and the tour operators and tutors add to that feeling by being friendly, welcoming and professional.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Prepare to enjoy yourself.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The tour operators seem well embedded in the community, and in such a small place the impact on the local economy must be beneficial. Meal times are taken at various restaurants and guests stay in different hotels and houses, sharing the financial benefit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great vacation, lovely people, well organised. Perfect if you want to do more than lay on a beach, but still want the feeling of being on vacation.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you so much for your review about your vacation. We are so happy that you enjoyed your photographic experience in Andalucia. As so many of our guests are solo travelers we really enjoy seeing our guests dine together and make new friends. The impact we have on the local community is very important and we appreciate the service and friendliness of all the village folk who help us to give you a wonderful vacation. We very much hope to meet you again one day.

review 2 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Lovely evenings with our group and always a lot of nice food and wine

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

None. All was clearly communicated before the trip

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It liked it a lot as it was a mix of photography course and vacations and sightseeing as well. I would definitely recommend it !

Read the operator's response here:

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation with us so much.We try very hard to make the trip a vacation rather than a 'course ' whilst learning more about your camera and turning that good shot into a great shot! Thank you for joining us here in Torrox.

review 12 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing real Spain and the wonderful hill top villages with great people

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring out laptop so you can see your photos of the day

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, always ate at local restaurants

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A great experience where you see Spain as the locals see it and learn a lot from Rob our guide and teacher.

review 1 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Visiting Kitty Sculptures garden - amazing pieces of work to photograph and a very beautiful setting.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do not over pack camera equipment - 1 wide angle lens and 1 telephoto. Always carry water with you. Visit Al Hamra village.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

8/10

review 18 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Loved El Torcal and walking through the rock formations... very memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

Read the operator's response here:

Hello Brian, Many thanks for your wonderful review regarding your photography vacation with us. We are so pleased that you had such a great time. The group as a whole were fabulous people and i know that some lovely friendships have been forged over a shared hobby.It was our pleasure to have met you and we very much hope to see you again one day here in Andalucia.

review 4 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The hosts were extremely kind and knowledgeable

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

enjoy yourself yes

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes I loved the locals, felt amazing to stay in a local community of wonderful people

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

it was best vacation I've had. I will definitely use responsible vacations again. I was very pleased

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that we were able to help you relax,have fun and of course help you out with your photography. You were with a super group of people and we know that you have made new friends. We are very pleased that you have decided to come and visit again to enjoy our painting vacations. We look forward to seeing you very much.

review 24 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This vacation involved the Photography Tour, and all of it was exciting. Our group of 4 was taken to wonderful sites, and our tutor was friendly, helpful and fun. In the evenings we ate at a local restaurant (a different one each night)in the company of the group of artists also with the same tour group. The food and the company were exceptional. The hosts of both tours, went out of their way to ensure we all had a wonderful time, even having the artists at their own home when the weather prevented them from going to the intended sites, and having us all to dinner on the last night. The whole experience was fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't hestiate to book - you'll have a wonderful vacation, and learn some photography on the way. The stated aim of Kevan, our tutor, was 'vacation first, photography second'. However, he took us to carefully selected, varied and very photogenic sites, and helped us with critiques of some of our photos.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people undoubtedly benefited - we stayed in a house owned by a local person, the artists were in a local hotel. We ate and drank at local restaurants, and seemed to give most of them a turn to host our party of 16.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fabulous - wonderful hosts and tutors in a spectacular environment.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Margaret, Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review. It was such a pleasure to meet you both and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us so much.We have fond memories of your vacation here in our beautiful part of Andalucia. Victoria & Paul. xx

review 19 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The locations for the photo shoots were excellent - especially Comares and the lake. Good company enjoyed over the varied evening meals.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Maybe do not weigh yourself down with too many lens, comfortable shoes and make the most of the review sessions.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we rented local houses, ate in local restaurants and overall had minimal environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I thoroughly enjoyed it and thought it was well organised.

review 19 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The eclectic mix of photographic locations.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You need to be reasonably fit.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Photograph Andalucia tried to use local trades people as did we.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great value for money - informative and friendly tuition, excellent accomodation and hospitality.

review 19 Apr 2013

1. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation? The week was very enjoyable - good photography tips, great locations in Spanish villages and coasts, and with 'staff' that seemed more like old friends than small business operators. And it was excellent value for money.

review 12 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The photography vacation in Andalucia included a wide variety of locations and excellent tuition. Accommodation in villas was comfortable and the food was of a very high standard - especially the picnic lunches which were superb. The ethos was very friendly and hospitable and the staff went out of their way to make the vacation enjoyable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The vacation was run and mostly staffed by people living locally, and local restaurants, coffee shops etc were patronised. Transport was by minibus.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I really enjoyed the week and also felt it was excellent value for money.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy