12 independent reviews for Northern lights short break, Finland

Reviews for Northern lights short break, Finland

SHOW
4
4
4
0
0

review 7 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Of course we loved, loved, loved seeing the aurora and the dog sledding was incredible.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack and then cut what you bring in half.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not so much...most of our guides indicated that they were from southern Finland and the snow mobiles definitely did nothing to help conserve the environment but it was a wonderful vacation all the same.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Well, I wouldn't exactly say, "reborn" but it was definitely one of the best vacations I've been on and I have now been to 43 countries.

review 7 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

My wife and I were treated personally by all concerned and seeing the Northern Lights.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

At times the activities were a little tiring (then we are 70 ish!!) but we were always so cared for this didn't cause any problem.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We would hope so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely wonderful. All the people on site were magnificent - we can't speak more highly enough. We have never been looked after any better on any vacation we have taken.

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Ray - thank you so much for your kind comments and glad that you were looked after during the activities. This trip benefits the local people and promotes responsible tourism in many ways. For example, through supporting traditional herding communities when visiting the reindeer farm. The hotel is also one of only two in Luosto and thus a vacation here provides valuable economic support to the small local community. Many of our safaris in Luosto also utilise other local enterprises such as the amethyst mine and the remote smoke sauna and restaurant we use in one of our activities is the primary income for a local couple. Kind regards,

review 4 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Northern lights, all booked trips were excellent, and everything went to plan

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure that you book your trips ahead of going. In Svolvaer on sunday nothing to do, everything closed and any trips were fully booked, another day when we had nothing booked we were able to book a boat cruise, but it would have been good if we had the option to do it from here.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Probably

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It could have been better if more trips had been included

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Sandra, The team are pleased that you enjoyed your trip to the Lofoten Islands and that you were fortunate enough to see the Northern Lights! Regarding the activities, our local supplier is limited in which activities can be booked in advance but they are always on hand to offer advice on how to utilise any free time in Svolvaer. We will suggest our clients look into the options during the welcome meeting and book early in their stay. Regarding question three and the trips benefit to the local people, the environment and conservation we would like to highlight the reasons why we chose to run a trip in Svolvær on the Lofoten archipelago. The accommodation at Svinøya Rorbuer showcases excellent examples of environmental sustainability through its construction which restored and renewed old fisherman’s huts to be used as an accommodation option. The Scandic hotel chain has long been a leader in environmental sustainability in the hospitality environment, indeed it was a member of the Scandic hotel chain that suggested the ‘hang up your towel if you want to use it again’ which is standard in numerous hotel chains now across the world. It now has numerous policies to help encourage environmental sustainability such as recycling, water wastage management and using renewable energy as much as possible. Scandic Hotel Svolvær has the Nordic Ecolabel showing that it promotes products and services that are the most environmentally sound. When it comes to community, the family run Svinøya Rorbuer encourages interaction with local communities and strives to highlight the importance of fisheries to the region. This is shown in its small on-site museum and also through its à la carte restaurant, which is not only housed in an old quayside warehouse but serves locally-sourced fish and produce. Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you again,

review 19 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The snow!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't be afraid to ask the hotel staff if you need anything, they are very helpful and knowledgeable.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Probably benefitted local people by providing jobs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Good.

review 12 Dec 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The snowmobiling through the forests to go husky sledging and reindeer sledging was brilliant!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It was easy to put too many layers of clothing on when doing sporting activities such as skiing. Take your own balaclava or two and glove liners. You can rinse out your clothes it you get too sweaty and dry them in electric dryers that each hotel has. So you don't need to go over the top with too many winter clothes. The warm winter clothes they supply are excellent and all you need are some thermals for a couple of days

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Everything was very 'eco'. The people are so friendly and helpful... I only met one grumpy person in a shop!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I had reservation when I booked this vacation. It was in my top three vacations and I have travelled a lot. An absolute must!

review 9 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Husky sledging.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Snowsuits extremely warm, packing a lot of heavy clothing unnecessary.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Daughter said, "best vacation ever".

review 10 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the Northern Lights! When the skies opened up on our final night, it was like a big bow on top of a really special present. Amazing! We also enjoyed all the activities provided through the local operator. They were well organized and easily accomplished. The surrounding forest is so beautiful and it was incredible to venture out into the pristine surroundings.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't stress or worry about bringing extra warm clothing. As long as you have layers you will be fine with the suits provided. The only time we were too cold was when we stood in the middle of the frozen lake waiting to view the lights, about 3 hours. For this, the heat packs and balaclava were very beneficial. There is a fire pit available on shore to help keep you warm. We brought a lot of heat packs and used only a few.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely! We thoroughly enjoyed visiting the husky and reindeer farms. The reindeer farmer explained that his family has raised reindeer for generations. Tourism helps to pay for the feed, now needed to sustain his herd, due to the fact that the forest is too young to produce the moss that used to feed the reindeer. We were told of similar stories from the husky camp. We also shopped at the local market and ate local food in the restaurant.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was an amazing adventure. I would really recommend participating in all the activities as they provided me with an enthusiastic adventure each and every day. The lights were an amazing bonus, especially since clouds were forecast for our entire trip. It was very difficult to leave and return home; I wanted to stay longer!

review 5 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Snowmobile safari to the amethyst mine. Digging for your own - I found a really big one! I could almost close my hand around it so they let me keep it. The views were breathtaking. We didn't get to see the Northern Lights but I still enjoyed every minute of it. The staff were great, so friendly. It dipped to minus 10-12 but with the outdoor gear we were given we never felt cold! The Finnish people are lovely.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you are traveling alone be aware of the single supplement on the activities - it is quite hefty. Outdoor gear including mittens boots and overall - brilliant don't bother taking your own. Do take a good hat. Try as many of the activities as possible. There isn't much chance to dress up - don't bother taking anything too smart. The hotel food is good - the salmon was out of this world.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people. Huge amount of electricity needed to heat the rooms etc so I can't say it helps reduce environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I didn't see the Northern Lights, like for most people was my dream BUT I did have a fab time and will always remember the wonderful views/experiences. Don't expect to see them just think that you will still have that experience to look forward to.

review 3 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Husky sledging!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Nil.....all v well catered for.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic, despite not seeing northern lights.

review 7 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The last evening with the visit to Kuusiranta and Northern lights dinner.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Read the information you are issued by The activity company carefully and take note especially on the clothes you actually need. Don't assume you need to spend loads of money on special clothing....you don't.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly benefitted the locals in as much as not only the hotel staff are all local but also the guides and suppliers of the winter wear and all the activities were hosted by locals and very good they all were.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. Although it is not cheap. it is a one off. Although we were not fortunate enough to see the Northern Lights, nearly all on the trip would not return as the cost was prohibitive.

review 10 Feb 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The room was well equipped and comfortable. Spectacular scenery and powder snow. Loved the evening around the fire, eating salmon in kuurisanta.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't go expecting to see the Northern Lights. We were there for 5 nights and there was only low level clouds covering the sky. Once you accept this, it's still lots of fun. But do pre-book anything you desperately want to do....I missed out on the husky dogs and ice fishing, as they were fully booked.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I didn't see any recycling bins anwhere so not sure how this is managed. Most activities in the area seem to be focused on tourism, so I'm sure locals do benefit economically.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, relaxing....such fun.

review 4 Mar 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the Northern Lights.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't take too many clothes - either smart ones or extra warm ones.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Certainly very green.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good indeed.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies