8 independent reviews for Tailor made husky safari in Wild Taiga, Finland

Reviews for Tailor made husky safari in Wild Taiga, Finland

SHOW
4
4
0
0
0

review 24 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sledding through snow-covered forests driving my own team of dogs; the silence, apart from the creaking of the sled and the hiss of the snow under the runners.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Aki and Sovi have an extensive wardrobe of cold weather gear so apart from thermals and similar there is really no need to bring (or buy) lots of winter gear. For us, a 3-4 hours sledding trip each day was enough; if you want to have a tough experience than other operators can offer 24 hour a day wilderness, cutting holes in the ice for water and (probably) being pretty cold at night!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Aki and Sovi are very committed to conservation and knowledgeable about wildlife, plants, geology and so on. They take a pride in leaving no mark on the landscape. They take great care of their dogs and although they work hard the dogs obviously enjoy it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Often an experience you have been waiting for a long time does not live up to what you had imagined. This did, and in fact exceeded what I had hoped for. From the warmth and hospitality of our hosts (and their great home cooked Finnish cuisine), to interacting with the dogs and harnessing them, to the experience of a wood fired sauna beside a frozen lake each evening, this short vacation could not have been better.

review 25 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sheer exhilaration being pulled through the Finnish forest in the snow by enthusiastic huskies. Dogs were fabulous and so affectionate. Stayed in a very atmospheric cabin by a frozen lake with a wood fired sauna - excellent hosts looked after us very well.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take hand warmers as hands can get cold.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Husky Safari is run by two Finns who live in the cabin year round. The environmental impact of the dogs pulling a sled is nil!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent experience - would have liked to have stayed longer and would go again!

review 29 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Dipping into the ice cold lake following the sauna

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book sensible arrival/departure times

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Spectacular

review 12 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Routa travel have a very sound ethos and finding them is like finding a rare jewel. The dog sledding experience was a joy and traveling this way through the forest and over a frozen lake has to be experienced to understand how magical it feels. Add to this the comfort, wonderful food, time to connect with the dogs and exceptional people and you have something special to remember.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Follow all the advice the owner gives you - it's all so well thought out. The kit list is just right and we found merino wool under layers the best.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The best vacation we have ever had.

review 9 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of my journey was listening to the wolves howl as we first arrived. I also found it extremely exciting going into their playpen as well as sledging over frozen lakes with these majestic creatures.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Get heavy duty mittens to keep your hands warm as they will probably be exposed at some point.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt that the people I stayed with were very aware of the local environment and took care to make sure our visit did not negatively impact the area. Being a rather rural area I imagine in a small way our trip helps to bolster the economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I had an amazing time, from just looking at the snow covered peeks to being in nature, seeing the wild life and finally the people.

review 13 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of our vacation was sitting on a frozen lake, watching our daughters disappearing off into the distance each driving a small team of huskies - and seeing their excited faces when they returned! Also playing with the beautiful, friendly huskies, our family sledding trips, enjoying the tranquillity of the environment and the amazing wood fired sauna. Not to mention the delicious home cooked food. Aki and Suvi were the perfect hosts and as we were the only family there it did not feel at all like a 'package' - it was so relaxed and friendly.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take warm clothes and at least 2 pairs of gloves each!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we could see that our hosts had very responsible attitudes towards the environment and were working to preserve the local wildlife as well as providing really attentive care for their huskies.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing, fantastic, once in a lifetime vacation experience.

review 6 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting the dogs, steering the sled and the complete change of scenery and fresh air. The chance to sample local food (moose, reindeer, berries) which was mostly excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take warm clothing of course. Layers are best. Aki will suggest what you need when you book. The disposable foot warmers work really well as your feet will be next to the snow most of the day. Get involved and take the opportunity for the sauna at the log cabin, it's a real experience and nothing like the leisure centre saunas in the UK. Take books or entertainment with you for the hotel in Kuhmo. There is a sauna to use but entertainment is limited. We used it as the perfect excuse to chat and relax. Rooms are comfortable but basic. No tea/coffee facilities in the room.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as our guides and transfer taxi driver were local. Very little carbon emissions from the sledding of course. Supporting local hotel business in Kuhmo. Aki really cares for his dogs, this is as far removed from mass tourism as possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A fabulous escape. Unique landscape, friendly dogs, knowledgable guides. I would do this trip again in a heartbeat.

review 25 Mar 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Husky sledding across a frozen lake just before sunset.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring warm socks!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think so, yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant, we couldn't have asked for anything more.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies