9 independent reviews for Costa Rica adventure vacation

Reviews for Costa Rica adventure vacation

SHOW
4
3
1
1
0

review 14 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I loved the jungle lodge in Sarapiqui - a 2 hour tractor drive from the nearest tarmac road. An idyllic location in the heart of the forest.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The trip is perfect if you want to see a lot of Costa Rica in two weeks. While there is a lot of traveling, this was well organised so that on most traveling days we had time to do some activities in the afternoons, so these didn't feel like wasted days. The accommodation is charming and basic - if you prefer luxury, this may not be the right option for you.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our guide was really enthusiastic about sustainable tourism, and I really felt that the trip was organised to benefit the local communities and support conservation. Transport was organised efficiently and we were encouraged to avoid unnecessary environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A superb trip. Everything was made really easy for us and there was a good choice of activities to suit a range of tastes. Our local guide really brought the trip together with his knowledge and enthusiasm.

review 22 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

That's difficult as there were so many memorable moments. The zipwire above the cloud forest was a massive adrenalin rush. Helping to plant trees by potting bags of soil was great too and a great bonding moment for the group.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pace yourself and take every opportunity to explore, be curious, try new things. Be nice to your guides they work very hard to make your experience great.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe so. We helped in the process to plant more trees. We also had a cooking lesson with a lovely lady in her kitchen and all of our guides were local and very knowledgable.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic. Wonderful.

review 5 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Probably the turtle egg laying.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Preparation for wet weather - quick dry shoes, trousers etc. There is a great deal of tipping - multiple drivers etc. which requires keeping chaneg available at short notice.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

To some extent, yes!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Three - 4 stars I think. For me personally, a smaller group is preferable.

review 8 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of it was memorable...the wildlife, the scenery, the activities we did, including zipwiring, canyoning and whitewater rafting, our group and group leader and especially the amazing friendliness of the Costa Rican people. A great tour, visiting so many different places, both coastlines and also offering the opportunity to do some adrenaline inducing activities. Probably the best thing was going to Torteguero to see turtles laying their eggs, covering their nests and returning down the beach to swim off into the moonlight...magical!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take binoculars, waterproofs and if possible a dry bag. We took pull along bags but a rucksack may have been better as we had to walk down a rough track at one point to pick up a boat across Arenal lake.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant

review 7 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of it was memorable...the wildlife, the scenery, the activities we did, including zipwiring, canyoning and whitewater rafting, our group and group leader and especially the amazing friendliness of the Costa Rican people. A great tour, visiting so many different places, both coastlines and also offering the opportunity to do some adrenaline inducing activities. Probably the best thing was going to Torteguero to see turtles laying their eggs, covering their nests and returning down the beach to swim off into the moonlight...magical!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take binoculars, waterproofs and if possible a dry bag. We took pull along bags but a rucksack may have been better as we had to walk down a rough track at one point to pick up a boat across Arenal lake.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant

review 21 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

the landscapes

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

pick a trip with activities you definitely want to do as if you dont take part you dont feel part of the group.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes massively.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

really worthwhile, my only criticism was the extortionate amount i had to pay for single supplement which on these kinds of trips really should be reduced.

review 12 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the wildlife

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a good camera and some binoculars

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The money from tourism in costa rica is used to help the national parks and support the protected areas. I think many of the excursions from Arenal mostly helped Desafio but in Monte Verde the local community benefitted much more.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good the CEO (Mau) was fantastic and Costa Rica is a beautiful Country where real effort is being made to protect the natural resources.

review 12 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The boat trip from Puerto Viajhoe (?) to Tortuguero was relaxing, colourful and enjoyable - LOTs to see. Rain Forest track to Rara Avis, and stay, memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take LOTS of US dollars cos the meals and activities will cost you more than you think! Costa Rica is not a cheap vacation!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Not really. Provided low level employment to some local people but mere presence in remote and semi remote areas damages the very thing that attracts visitors! Several of the places visited were 'tourist traps'.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Just OK. Tour guide, although friendly, was poor and unreliable. Often gave vague information, information that was unclear or simple wrong! It was given to those who happened to be close - others missed it! Arrived late on several occasions (when bus full and ready to go).

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review for your Costa Rica Adventure tour on responsibletravel.com. Please accept our apologies for the delay in responding to you, we wanted to review your comments regarding your leader with our local office. We strongly believe customer feedback is the best tool we have to review and improve our services. Therefore, we thank you for your efforts in this regard. As the face representing our company, we understand the influence our leaders have on the success (or otherwise) of the tour. We are very alarmed to learn of your concerns and can assure you that they have not been taken lightly. Our local manager has been informed of the concerns and has reviewed them directly with Liza. We hope you can accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment and upset Liza may have caused you. We have also had the opportunity to review all of the feedback received on Liza's performance from your fellow travelers and results indicate that she has received mixed reviews. This is not mentioned in efforts to minimize your concerns in any way, however trust puts matter into perspective. That said, Liza will be closely monitored on her upcoming tours to ensure that she is delivering the positive performance we know she is capable of providing. Your business is valued and very much appreciated and we sincerely hope that despite this feedback, we will continue to be your service provider on future adventure trips. We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and allow us the opportunity to review and improve our services.

review 8 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

White Water Rafting at La Fortuna. Unfortunately two of us fell out of our raft and we went down 4 rapids before we stopped. Still have the bruises now. I would still recommend people to do it.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Have a good sense of adventure. Donít take too many clothes it was so humid we didnít wear half of them. But a good waterproof is essential.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes we constantly used local transport etc. Not sure about the impact to the environment as the carbon emissions by local transport due to the state of the roads helps but that would have been the seem whether we were there or not. By the sounds of it only the main highways are kept up to standard.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was one of the best vacations, a good crowd of people and a good time had by all.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies