18 independent reviews for Walking in Andalucia, Spain

Reviews for Walking in Andalucia, Spain

SHOW
6
10
2
0
0

review 10 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Great scenery

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Reasonable level of fitness required to enjoy the walks

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We had dinner every evening in local restaurants and picnic lunches provided by a local place so the Torrox economy benefited in that way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. Our guide, John, was excellent. Patient, considerate and very knowledgable about the history of the area which was fascinating.

review 19 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walks and the views. Especially the one where we saw Sierra Nevada.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Prepare by walking in hills.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Good idea to use different restaurants which benefits more people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great trip. Will go again

review 2 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Great walking with knowledgeable and friendly hosts - Victoria and Paul, and local guide - Andy. Lovely food and wine - one highlight was homemade soup and bread eaten outdoors after walk to El Acebuchal.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Travel light (you don't need more than walking clothes and casual evening wear - each property also has a washing machine); visit Malaga en-route (I stayed there an extra night at start of the trip - well worth it!)

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we bought breakfast ingredients, drinks and snacks from local shops in the village, and ate most nights at different local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great vacation; friendly, relaxed, well planned and led, very flexible too...

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We work very hard to help our village and community in lots of different ways. The local restaurants in our village make us very proud. All our guides live permanently in Andalucia and we are passionate about helping our guests enjoy the most memorable vacation. Along the trails and hikes we enjoy sharing the historical knowledge,spotting flora, fauna and wildlife. It was a pleasure to spend a wonderful week walking with you and we hope to see you again soon.

review 12 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Wonderful walks with great leader plus historical insights

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Fairly demanding walks with 1000m elevations ie 2 boot rating

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Great for local restaurants

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant

review 31 Dec 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I loved staying in the village house, and all the walks were lovely - a really well planned and varied walk programme, expertly led by Paul, Victoria and Andy. We were also lucky to be invited to Paul and Victoria’s home for a Christmas Eve dinner, which was a lovely personal touch - really special.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

There is quite a contrast between the day time and evening temperatures, so I would recommend bringing warm clothes for evening and night time. Also bring slippers, as the houses have tiled floors which can be cold underfoot.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we ate locally produced foods and gave our custom to local businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was an excellent vacation. I have travelled with some of the bigger companies before, and really appreciated the more personal approach on this trip. Paul and Victoria really worked hard to look after every guest and meet everybody’s needs. The small personal touches that they provide add up to a special vacation. I hope to return to Torrox at some point.

review 6 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The little village, we stayed in Torrox.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you bring walking boots that you have broken in and confident the will be comfortable.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we were using local shops and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, will be returning soon

Read the operator's response here:

How lovely to hear from you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation with us so much. Torrox is such a wonderful base from which to enjoy our guided walking vacations. We are so pleased that we are able to help support the bars, restaurants and shops in our village and in return thet give our gusts a vacation to remember and serve delicious, local Andalucian food. Our Walking Over Christmas vacation was great fun for you all. Hope to see you again soon.

review 12 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Beautiful walks exploring the mountainous countryside.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you miss the free airport transfer, there are regular buses to Torrox Costa (on the coast road). The taxi rank is next to the bus stop for a taxi up to Torrox Pueblo, which cost me about €7.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The group ate in a variety of local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very welcoming, knowledgeable hosts Paul and Victoria, who put a lot of effort into making sure we were all well looked-after. Thank you.

review 29 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

As it was November, it was great to leave grey, cold England behind and spend a week walking in lovely warm sunshine with amazing blue sea and sky.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a small plastic plate or bowl for the home-made salads that are provided as part of each day's packed lunch.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we ate in small local restaurants every evening.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Really good vacation, we had great personal service from our hosts/guides and did some lovely walks.

Read the operator's response here:

It was such a pleasure to meet you and we are so happy that you enjoyed your guided walking with us so much. The weather was, as usual, in Andalucia during the winter months, warm and sunny. The walks in our beautiful area of Torrox are so varied and we are delighted to be able to share our passion for Andalucia with you. Looking forward to seeing you in 2018!

review 24 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Experiencing rural Andalucia in a wonderful climate. The week gave the opportunity for varied walks all of which enabled the participants to feel, see & enjoy the terrain & the weather!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Come with an open mind, be realistic about your abilities ( especially given the nice hot weather). Be prepared to 'try out' your Spanish!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly contributed to the local economy in respect of meals which were 'shared' with the local resturants. The walking just left footprints & encouraged the local community to respect waht they have to offer others.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

If you wish to have a taste of the real Andalucia , this week will tick all the boxes.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear John, Many thanks for joining our walking vacation and your lovely review.We are so pleased that you saw how we help our community and also that we respect the countryside in leaving only footprints. It was a pleasure to walk with you. Victoria & Paul.

review 27 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Fabulous location, great weather, good food, fun people to share a vacation with......all in all a great week.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is a hilly region so be prepared for walks with some uphill sections.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we met and talked with the locals as well as buying local produce and eating in local restaurants, used local buses and taxis on free day.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastc week, I shall be returning.

review 23 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

As the weather was exceptionally hot for September, on our last day we went gorge-walking. Being over 60 and petite I was slightly apprehensive but would not have missed it for anything. The leaders rescheduled all our walks brilliantly so that we were often near water.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you are careful and wear your boots to travel you might be able to manage with just cabin-baggage, thereby saving money. The village houses where we stayed had washing machines and usually a terrace to dry clothes if necessary. Check the age range before you go(I did) and be prepared to adapt to people..

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Most meals were taken in local restaurants on the "village" square and we stayed in (unoccupied) local houses, thus supporting the local economy. The delicious picnic salads were home grown. We walked everywhere, except for airport transfers and transport to the start of walks(all by mini bus).

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. I loved the variety: different types of scenery on walks, eating out in different restaurants and even private houses, and also the different age groups.(40's upwards) I would recommend this vacation particularly for single people. Torrox is a small town and the term "village" could be misleading if you were expecting a hamlet! Loved the old part where we all stayed.

review 28 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I really enjoyed the vacation. I think the great scenery and the the fantisic hospitlaity we received. The accommodation was great and the it was lovely being in a small village.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Need to be prepared to Walk! There were a few people on the trip who were not great walkers and it slowed down the rest of the group.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 17 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being able to enjoy an idyllic atmosphere on most of the walks; being taken up into the mountains away from the tourist sites; the location of some of the walks affording pretty paths off the beaten track and stunning scenery we would never have accessed easily on our own; the beautiful Spring flowers in bloom;

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take good quality boots and walking poles as some of the paths are not clearly defined. Be prepared for some steep ascents. Ideally walk in cooler weather.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people as we were staying in a village, using local amenities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. I felt Dave and Gill put together a very good package; they are well organised down to the last detail, in a very informal, caring and friendly way. They and their dogs, along with Chris who helped to guide the walks, constantly entertaining us with his local knowledge and passion for history, provided much fun along the way. They encouraged a good spirit amongst the group. The days were highly enjoyable and catered for all needs, allowing for flexibility due to weather or personal capabilities. We ate well and spent very little extra money.

review 7 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Lovely walks in good company.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Hassle free trip with amiable hosts in a charming location. Bring your boots and the rest is laid on!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Lovely laid back trip. Great walks, comfortable accommodation and plenty of food!

review 4 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Wonderful walks - Dave end Gill really look after EVERYONE Meals at Dave and Gill's home were particularly special

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

No need for any money - everything’s included

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great fun - and great company - exploring breathtaking aspects of Spain that we would NEVER have discovered on our own

review 19 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The nice walks and the excellent meals

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for flexibility in the walk programme - the organizers have plenty of potential walks and can adapt the programme to suit the weather

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it helped the local restaurants

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Most enjoyable

review 14 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beautiful countryside - whatever we could see through the rain!! Even though the weather was less than conducive, we had a great time and Chris was very helpful and solicitous, making sure we were OK on our self-guided walks. Dave and Gill were also very helpful, Gill lending one of our party her own boots when the rough ground proved too much for her own. The cuisine was also memorable as well as the friendly local village folk.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Walking sticks help with the uneven ground. Be prepared for all sorts of weather! Also be flexible in the walking plans.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate dinners at the local restaurants and we walked so in that sense, yes. But we were driven to the starting points of the walks. Also, it would be nice if more local people were involved in the company. We only met expat British people, stayed at the house of an expat British (although he has a Spanish partner! Actually no, the partner is Ecuadorian!).

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. The self-guided walking instructions could do with some updating and one of our apartments could do with some refurbishing. And the weather could have been more cooperative!!! But other than that, we had a great time and I would certainly do this again or recommend people to do this.

review 17 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The transition from "forest walk" to "mountain walk" when the vistas open up.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you're American this is not a walking vacation it is a hiking vacation! Early in the year the weather can be remarkably changeable so make sure you have a mixture of clothes. Mountain plant life is either scratchy, pointy or sharp. If you want to see ibex or other "big" wildlife, make sure you spot it before the dogs do!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt we certainly contributed to the local economy; it would seem that in Torrox (the vacation center) that most of the businesses are still owned and run by the Spanish (hopefully the local indigenous population).

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I thoroughly enjoyed this vacation. I thought that Dave was the consummate group leader, always "editing" the walks to ability, and to best show off the area.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies