17 independent reviews for Cirali beach accommodation, Turkey

Reviews for Cirali beach accommodation, Turkey

SHOW
9
8
0
0
0

review 18 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The warm sea. The quiet. The beautiful mountains above the beach. Great food at Bellerophon. Reading books in the shade. No loud & horrid people!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Use the bikes provided for free. Don't bother with any 'dress up' clothes - the place is so chilled out & everyone in the village is the same. Pop to Simge in Cirali for a pizza - freshly baked in their oven.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

To an extent - yes. It is clear that the local area is very proud of the turtles and their conservation and the beach right by Bellerophon. Food at Bellerophon was delicious and local. The use of bikes was encouraged, and taxis to and from the airport were shared. The beach all around the hotel was stunning & so clean. When we visited the ruins at Olympos there was a litter issue on the beach there - very sad

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Really excellent. The guys at Bellerophon are great - really helpful but not intrusive. The lodge (one of the ones in the orange grove) was superb. And we have returned feeling relaxed and happy. Can't say fairer than that.

review 27 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

My husband and I enjoyed waking up and having an early morning swim in the lovely clear waters.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Travelers should be prepared for a totally relaxing time in a divine setting

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local people's economy is very much based on tourism. The manager of the hotel used to work for Greenpeace and was very aware of environmental issues in the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The beach, accommodations, food and friendly people were outstanding.

review 21 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The absolute peace & tranquillity of the destination

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Rent bikes from the outlets in the village as the free bikes from the accommodation are unroadworthy and dangerous

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Superb.

review 15 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everything was so wonderful. The location was idyllic, the food was brilliant, the accommodation was perfect and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. It was pure relaxation from beginning to end.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It was evident that turtles nested on the beach as there were cages over the areas that eggs had been laid in order to keep them safe. We were lucky enough to see a turtle on the beach late one evening.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

For a relaxation vacation, it is perfect. A complete escape from reality.

review 28 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Spending time together, playing on the beach with our two year old daughter, napping on a hammock, walking through Olympos and eating fantastic fresh food!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The pictures on the website do not do the place justice - it is beautiful! There is not a cash point for miles so take cash out before you get there, at the airport.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely excellent! I think that the pictures on the website do not do the place justice. I am happy to provide pictures, I have hundreds! The beach huts are beautiful and really peaceful. The food was incredible - very fresh, delicious and generous portions. Our two year old daughter loved the beach with sand and pebbles and the gorgeous mountain back drop. The ocean was the cleanest and clearest I have ever seen. The staff were very helpful and nice. It was an incredible experience and vacation. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary and it was brilliant!

review 4 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The highlight was definitely watching the baby turtles hatch and make their way down to the sea. Also witnessing the dedication of the Cirali Beach turtle rescue team. Who were endlessly patient with all the tourists who wanted to experience the turtle hatch.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you are looking for a very quiet and chilled beach experience in a beautiful environment then this is for you. We rented a car from Antalya airport, which is not necessary unless you want to do many day trips. You can walk/cycle everywhere you want to around Cirali, and take taxis for longer distances.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It is a spectacular beach and a beautiful little hotel with a very chilled attitude but a real commitment to using locally sourced products and reducing the impact on the environment. Some of our booking fee was donated to the turtle rescue fund. We were concerned to hear that more development is being planned for Cirali (a larger resort than the Arcadia) though am not sure how true this is.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was as wonderful as we had hoped, infact we kept saying we were in paradise!

review 28 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beautiful location, the peace and quiet (except for the dawn chorus of cockerels which drove us mad!) and the relaxed atmosphere. When we wanted to be active there were good choices - bikes to ride and explore the area, sightseeing in the locality, boat trips, the Lycian Way for walking.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you want to get out of the village to explore you will need to hire a car. Roads (in September) were not very busy and were well constructed.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I hope so - I thought the staff at the hotel were overworked and did not appear to ever have rest days. There were a lot of local businesses but it was not always easy to know which were. Cirali is low key development and there is a pride in the conservation of the beach and its ecology.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable indeed

review 20 May 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There are lots. Maybe our first dinner under the stars. We also had a fantastic day on a boat trip around the nearby bays, swimming and relaxing.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you're traveling in May, you need clothes to cover all eventualities - it can get quite cool in the evenings but roasting during the day! And bring plenty of books. Also would recommend exploring the local restaurants. Arcadia's food is delicious, but we found some fantastic nearby Turkish places too and found the people so friendly and welcoming.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, although we have a feeling that the staff work 7 days a week. Having worked in the travel industry myself, I would have preferred to see the staff have a day off to relax as they work so hard. Having said that, apparently in the tourist areas of Turkey this is the norm and the staff did seem to enjoy their work. Environmental impact was low though, with the exception of the flight!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. We absolutely loved it. The area was lovely, the beach was gorgeous, the food lovely and fresh. We had a great time.

review 9 Oct 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It's hard to say what the most memorable thing was but one memory that stands out is being served an absolutely delicious breakfast every day at a table with a perfect white table cloth surrounded by flowers, friendly hens and kittens - all right on the edge of a stunning beach! It was the sort of thing you normally only see in the upmarket colour supplements.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't go if you like lots of noise and living on burgers. If you do go, get the hotel to arrange a local boat trip. Kekova and Myra are also very well worth a visit and the hotel will arrange it for you.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The hotel complements the environment beautifully and is run by people who really care about the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

For a relaxing ,quiet break I'd give it 10 out of 10.

review 26 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

When we first arrived at Arcadia, after a long bumpy hot taxi drive, we found an oasis of fruit trees, animals and beautiful bungalows. Very rarely does a place actually look better than the brochure - it was like the Garden of Eden! We were greeted by friendly staff and we knew this was going to be an amazing week.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take the bikes and see chimera. If you go around dusk, you'll get there before the crowds but it is still incredibly exciting. The ruins at Olympos are also good but very crowded. We ate three times at Oleander which is up the beach towards Olympos - great restaurant. Cirali is very secluded and quiet - make sure you've got lots of books, games etc.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

From what we saw, Cirali appears to be a pretty sustainable place with lots of local produce. The turtles certainly seem to like it!

review 22 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The superb accommodation and location of "Arcadia". This place was out of this world! The opportunity given to observe the Turtle hatchlings making their way to the sea, if one is up early enough, and the absolutely tranquil location of the properties in Arcadia 2 (the properties a little further back from the sea) making this an ideal place for a honeymoon (or second honeymoon!!!).

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Arcadia is fairly remote, I would not recommend for the elderly and infirm, although the staff at the location were excellent and helpful and would offer any required assistance.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Arcadia was excellent in every possible way. Even the beachside restaurant was scarcely, yet subtly lit at night to avoid disturbing the turtles and also thus helping to create a very romantic atmosphere! It offered employment to the local population.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

As stated above the accommodation at Cirali was amongst the best I have had the pleasure of staying in. The transfers from the Airport and between locations went like clockwork.

review 18 Jun 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Arcadia Lodge itself was a wonderful haven, with it's lush gardens, relaxed atmosphere and ever-helpful staff. The policy of no TV or even radio, with no intrusive lighting at night (amazing star scape) and the fact that the food from their kitchen was absolutely great, meant that it was very tempting not to leave the grounds for the whole vacation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Insect repellent is a must, the walk to Olympos is more than worth a tramp in the heat, be prepared to be woken up by the in-house cockerel!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the low-impact guest houses and pensions seemed to be the main local businesses on Cirali beach, aside from some agriculture, and provided work for fairly large groups of staff. Arcadia Lodge in particular had gardeners, chefs, great front of house and an owner/fisherman. The businesses carefully maintained the zero lighting towards the beach at night to prevent any problems for the turtles in their laying areas, and the nature reserve in the area seemed reasonably maintained (although not without litter). Otherwise there were no other overt eco-features.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a really lovely, very relaxing break. Thoroughly recommended.

review 23 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We spent two wonderful relaxing weeks on honeymoon at the Arcadia Hotel. The time simply melted away while we sheltered under the umbrellas on the beach reading books, swam in the sea, nodded off in the hammock outside the front porch of our bungalow or ate amazing meals under the stars. The staff at Arcadia are so friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble. The food is absolutely fantastic - fresh fish, steak, vegetables, salad, homemade bread - all freshly made.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't forget to budget for your evening meals. Whilst the set menu is good value, the drinks are quite expensive. A bottle of house wine comes in at 40 lira (about £16-£20 depending on your exchange rate). The food is absolutely amazing though! Take a pair of rubber soled water shoes - the beach is quite pebbly and a pair of these will stop you doing the 'ouch pebble dance' when you go for a swim! Make sure that your driver leaves plenty of time when taking you back to the airport - our driver collected us about two hours before our flight and we almost missed it! The transfer takes at least 90 minutes and even longer in rush hour traffic.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - the food is fresh and local. The staff live locally and travel to work by bike. The complete lack of commercial tourism was so nice.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing. A complete escape.

review 26 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The peace and quietness and absence of children at a hotel and on the beach.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to use your feet to get about in this remote area.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the 2 miles long beach is a protected site for turtle nesting and hatching, the hotel was completely eco friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The best value for money in 30 years of traveling around the world.

review 8 Oct 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cirali is beautiful, according to others that know Turkey, we had the best! That goes for Arcadia 2 as well, Armet and all his staff were so happy to be there and helps with anything we needed but above all the organic principals the hotel is run by gave us a truly relaxed and healthy vacation. The rooms were light with views of the mountains and clear white fresh linen and towels in a pine clad spacious thatched bungalow. All windows are covered with a fine unnoticeable insect screen so you can have them open anytime without worrying and a safe is provided for security. No TV, radios or music was bliss but internet is available at reception if you need it anytime. We tried food around the area but always found nothing could beat Arcadia’s delicious meals and its organic principles. Dining on the beach was fantastic day and night, so romantic.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

No problems with insects or mosquitoes, thanks to the hens. These can take some getting used to at night, they are throughout the area and don't only crow at dawn! Earplugs might be helpful but we all got used it very quickly. The Roman sites were fantastic in amazing settings too so do hire a car but get a confident driver as the Turkish think they or on a rally!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We were very grateful that Armet has banned the practice of unnecessary pesticide spraying lorries, that passing the centre’s beach side restaurants, from coming anywhere near our part of Cirali! Locally sourced food and no hormones in the meat. The free bicycles mean not many use cars, walking a cycling is the normal way to get around. Arcadia is so environmentally aware, the lighting is low energy and is subdued on the beach side so as not to confuse the turtles that hatch nearby. You feel it works with the surroundings and creates minimum impact on wildlife.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A wonderfully restful amazing experience. Booking with Serkan of this operator was easy, he was always happy to answer any questions, of which we had many before we went. The whole experience has left us wanting to return some day. Thank you to everyone!

review 10 Jul 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Friendly and very helpful staff who genuinely want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The generous sized beech huts made this stay feel very unique. The food was amazing!! Cycling from the hotel to the local sights, shops and restaurants.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The meals are exceptionally good value and a very high quality but its worth bearing in mind you need to budget and extra £20 per person per day for evening meals.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

By offering wooden huts for both accommodation and for the communal dining area the beech and surrounding areas felt very unspoilt and natural.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A hugely relaxing experience we came back feeling very refreshed!! Fantastic for people who want to totally switch off.


review 3 Jul 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A close call between: * lounging around doing very little in beautiful surroundings * eating delicious food served by friendly staff * a late night visit to the eternal flames of the Chimaera, just up the road

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

A great place - don't hesitate to book it ... definitely make time to go and see the Chimaera

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Really good - just what we needed

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the vacations. In addition, we don't run these vacations ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies