33 independent reviews for Troodos Mountains accommodation, Cyprus

Reviews for Troodos Mountains accommodation, Cyprus

SHOW
1
23
8
0
1

review 20 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We most enjoyed getting out into the surrounding hills walking on the tracks which wind around them, and have left details of our walks with the owners.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Note that there is no electronic money in Vouni, so you need to bring plenty of cash (we were there two weeks!). The friendly local shop sells all the basics, but not everything is obvious, so ask! We mostly cooked for ourselves; but there is a couple of nice tavernas in the village too.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. This is a nicely restored traditional property, and the village of Vouni as a whole is a protected village, so that no inappropriate development is done. And you can get to Vouni by local service bus from Limassol (four times a day), so no need for a car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This is ideal for getting some peace and tranquility; not much happens in Vouni!

review 29 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The location, the quaint village streets and the house with its wonderful ancient Olive tree out front. Easy accessibility to Troodos for hikes was really good.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you like hikes, give yourself at least 4 days to discover all the trails in Vouni and Platres and beyond. For experiencing village life, taverns, local arts and crafts the house is well situated with access to Limassol as well as Nicosia via Highways. Nearby villages offer ample opportunity for enjoying local culture. The donkey sanctuary has been moved to a nearby village 15 minutes away. You would need a car so make sure to hire one. Economy car rentals are very good and efficient and cost less than the big ones.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe our spending at local shops, taverns, markets ,etc supported the local businesses and artisans. By using electricity only when needed, conserving heating and separating our trash, we avoided adding any burden to local environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Relaxing. Interesting. Invigorating.

review 22 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The lodge is the most perfect place to stay when exploring the local area. It is clean and well equipped with lovely courtyard.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Stay longeer than originally planned; there is a lot to do and explore and the Lodge is such a beautiful place to return to.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly used the local tavernas and purchased local wines. We also walked a lot so yes we hope we helped the local ecomony

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Just wonderful

review 27 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Staying in an authentic apartment in a beautiful village in Cyprus away from the tourist areas.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Car hire is essential to be able to visit other areas of interest. Learning a few basic words of Greek seemed to be much appreciated by the local people.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I bought food, drinks and gifts from local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - I had a thoroughly relaxing time, was able to do all the things I wanted to from my base in Vouni and was warmly welcomed by the local people. The beauty of the Troodos area was a real recharging of the batteries in itself. Helen and Tony (apartment owners) are lovely, warm and welcoming people and really enhanced my stay in Vouni.

review 13 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cycling in the Troudos mountains

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Apart from the air travel everything we paid for was local

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable

review 27 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Returning to the Lodge and meeting the owners again who were very helpful and kind. Spending time on the patio in the morning as the world slowly woke up and being able to catch up on emails and read on the internet. Revisiting Kouni and the ancient Greek and Roman ruins and the beach. Being able to wander across the countryside and breathe in the scent of the pines and flowers.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

In the mountains - out of season - it can get a little chilly - bring warm clothing as well. Walk around the village and explore the alleys - great photo opportunities.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefitted the local people of the village as businesses are able to survive on the tourists that are attracted to the village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was relaxing and pleasant, and even though Cyprus has and is continuing to change and develop, you can still get away on side roads and tracks and be away from the hustle of the beach resorts.

review 23 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was lovely to be somewhere so peaceful after life in a city. I'll remember just sitting out in the courtyard under a full moon, drinking a glass of wine and listening to the sound of the crickets

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Buy a few provisions on the road on your way up if you feel like a bottle of wine or something to eat without going straight out to the taverna, the village shop closes early

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I suppose we were still an extra car driving around in the mountains. We did eat and drink in the local bars, kafeneia and tavernas.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Lovely. Exactly what I needed

review 24 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The peace and quiet in the evening sitting on our balcony looking across the rooftops of the village

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is a small village with limited shop and other facilities. Make sure you bring necessary supplies of food and drink for your first night, particularly if not arriving until evening

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We purchased items in the local shop and dined in the village Taverna (the meze was excellent).

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A lovely stay. We hope to go back soon.

review 9 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Waking-up in the sunshine and heat, then sharing breakfast with the family on our first morning. It was a fabulous day. We went down to Kourion afterwards, which was a fascinating site, then on to the beach for a warm and refreshing sunset swim.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I have a dairy intolerance so was thrilled to find most supermarkets (even local ones) had rice milk and soya milk. The fruit from up in the mountains was DIVINE.... the fruit from the supermarkets not nearly as good. Driving in Lemesos is not for the feint-hearted! Don't book your car with EuropeCar. I realise it's not too relevant, but after getting-up at 4am, waiting at the airport for 2hours, then a 4-hour flight, we were so pleased to be on the ground in Cyprus. Alas, we were confronted by a 2 hour queue to collect the car! There are other car hire companies at the airport, none of which had a queue. It was a horrendous start to the vacation. The mountains are an absolute must. Also, try Avdimou beach and Melanda beach.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A little, at least a lot more than if we had of stayed in an enclave/hotel somewhere. We only had one meal in the village as they were not open when we were hungry and the mini market in the village was not open when we were there...

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very highly, it was our honeymoon and very romantic it was to!

review 7 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The main purpose of our vacation was to visit the grave of my father who was buried in the Nicosia War Cemetery in 1944. We had never been to Cyprus before, so my wife and I decided to turn the trip into a vacation ~ the visit to Nicosia was wonderful, but Vouni was also a perfect base from which to explore this part of the Island. The Kalidonian Falls, Kourion, the surrounding villages and walking through snow on a hot day at Mount Olympus were all really good!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Try to do as much research as you can to decide where you would like to go and what you would like to see, as you certainly canít do it all in a week! Be sure to bring proper shoes, as there are excellent walks. There were 2 tavernas open during our stay ~ Takis was good, but we particularly enjoyed Alexandra`s. The best Greek Coffee we had on the Island came from the Wi-fi Kafetaria at the Old School! The Lodge is lovely, so sometimes cook, eat in and enjoy being there. The mini-market at Kivvides (opposite side of the road from the garage) had all we needed, and the fruit and veg were brilliant. The Erimoudes winery about 4 or 5 Km up the road on the way to Pera-Pedi produces high quality wine at a reasonable price ~ may need to phone for an appointment, and we left cards in "Helena".

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did our best to benefit local people by buying food and drink locally and eating in tavernas in Vouni and surrounding villages, and thoroughly enjoying it. Iím never sure what constitutes reducing environmental impact, but we certainly supported conservation by staying at Vouni Lodge which is itself a "rescued" and really well-restored property.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was everything we had hoped for ~ and then some! We felt really at home and have no hesitation in recommending it, assuming of course that youíre not looking for a bright-lights vacation. Helen and Tony have done a first class job here, and were really helpful ~ we wish them every success.

review 23 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Driving up to Troodos, the cooler air was a rest from the heat.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Plan ahead, research where you would like to go. Take some food for cooking just in case you donít fancy eating out or donít fancy traveling. Visit Omodos and have a drink in the square. Visit Troodos Mountain.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate in the village at Takas Tavern, a great traditional tavern. No menu offered, however, a Meze was served and the food just kept on coming. A must for those who have never eaten a Meze.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A very nice trip, everyone in the village were friendly and Helen from the Lodge was extremely helpful.

review 26 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sitting on the veranda overlooking the Troodos Mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just do it. Vouni is a lovely little village with only 100 people that still live there. They are only too pleased to help you.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes and no. We went to the local tavernas (there were 2) and the local coffee shop (also there were 2). Very enjoyable. If you wanted a different meal each night it was only about 15mins drive to another little village. I do think it does have an impact on the environment if you use what facilities they have, and yes, it did benefit the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10 out of 10. We had such a lovely time, the locals were brilliant with us, lots of hand and eye "talking". As we cannot speak Cypriot or Greek, and they cannot speak English, so it just means you have to communicate other ways. Some men within the village do have a good vocabulary of English though, if you are in the local tavern at the same time. I know I will definitely be coming back to this site as it has been one of the relaxing vacations we have both been on for a long time.

review 5 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There was a massive fire near to the village in the night!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The downstairs apartment is lovely and cool at night.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We used the local taverna but driving up and down the mountain was not good for the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. We were very sad to leave.

review 25 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Beautiful scenery in the mountains and along the coast, swimming in the sea, the view from the balcony at the accommodation, eating fresh fish and halloumi, visiting the archaeological site at Kourion - we went at sunset when it was nearly empty and the views were stunning.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The shops in Kivides, a few minutes down the mountain, were good for fresh fruit and veg, freshly baked bread and other provisions. You will need a car for this vacation. It is very hot in summer so drink plenty of water, and take some time to adjust to the heat if coming from the UK! We travelled with a 10-month-old baby - if I went again with a young child, I would go at a cooler time of year.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We used local shops for food and visited the local taverna.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful, a great first trip for our daughter. The area is rich in history and nature, and there is lots to do and see. The accommodation at the lodge is beautiful and comfortable, and our hosts Helen and Tony were really helpful and friendly.

review 3 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The peace and quiet and the beautiful scenery. Watching the birds which will shortly be arriving in the UK.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

To shop in a major centre before getting to the accommodation as local shopping is very restricted. Beware the meze at Takis Tavern unless you have an enormous appetite!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The village needs as many tourists as possible to help it recover from migration to the cities. Such Agrotourism developments are very valuable in that respect. And a visit to the Donkey Sanctuary is well worthwhile too!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Super relaxing time.

review 3 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kalidonian Falls Walk near Platres with our two young children (2&4).

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Excellent and reasonably priced food at Takis Taverna, only 50m from the accommodation.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A nice change.

review 22 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Arriving to find a lovely old village, good accommodation and, above all, a very warm welcome from our hosts.... terrific

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Can't get here without a car... if you do hire one be aware roads pitch black at night... Make full use of the local tavernas... people very laid back and accommodating... Don't forget to visit the donkey sanctuary... very well run

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Not many ex-pats in the village, thank goodness... good that some of our money has been spent in Vouni... a stark contrast to Paphos where the only accents are British ones....Irish bars and cowboy hats not for me!... I feel that that part of Cyprus has been ruined unfortunately. I enjoyed the accommodation and the mountains...meeting the locals and doing my best to speak Greek.. spending one or two lazy days/evenings wandering around and chatting over a slow glass of Ouzo... lovely

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere.... would definitely consider returning at some point in the future... I would probably combine a visit with other mountain accommodation staying well away from the coast....

review 6 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hard to choose between having no hot water and my husband being bitten by a dog belonging to the other guests.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take plenty of warm clothes as the central heating only comes on for 1 hour. Beware of pets belonging to other guests.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Little impact on the environment as electricity not used for the comfort of guests.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Extremely disappointing. I would not recommend the lodge.

Read the operator's response here:

Firstly I am very sorry that your stay with us was not enjoyable, being a small establishment we want you to know that we always do our best to please our guests. With regards to the hot water, we keep the immersion on at all times, however on this occasion the lodge was full and it seems that the water was used prior to your arrival. It is very rare that all apartments at the lodge are occupied all at one time, and as you rightly point out we cannot be responsible for other guestsí behaviours. As we are a pet friendly establishment which I am sure you must have been aware at the time of booking with us we can not decline guests with pets.

review 1 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Very clean traditional cypriot house in a lovely village in beautiful surroundings.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Eat in Taverns in the village and travel up Troodos and around the surrounding area, Car is vital if you wish to go sightseeing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes as we do live in Cyprus.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very pleased indeed with the very traditional cypriot accommodation and would definitely go again.

review 17 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We spent a week in Cyprus, booked accommodation through responsible travel. exploring all the little villages and churches on the Troodos mountains was wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Spend some time on the coast and some time on the mountain. We had 3 days at each area, and this was great

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate at the local tavern for breakfast and dinner, otherwise they would have been shut during the week. We drank local wine and ate locally produced food.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We all loved the vacation. the lodge was fantastic, easy directions to find it, very comfortable and cosy. The children really enjoyed being in the little village, able to wonder about and explore

review 19 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Exploring the island, discovering beautiful mountain views and villages, having coffee in the village with Tony's dad and friends!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Rent a car is an essential. Don't be afraid to go off the beaten track even if it does end up being a mountain track rather than paved road! Spend some time in the village - we wish we had done more so and whilst there buy a big tub of local halloumi - delicious! Also, make sure you get some local oranges! Visit the donkey sanctuary up the road, you can't help but fall in love with them! Visit the Kourion Roman site, it is fascinating with breathtaking views of the sea. Kolossi Castle is also worth a visit while you are in the area. If you like hiking then a trip over to the Akamas Peninsula is worth the drive, stopping off for lunch in Polis. Take the coast road instead of the motorway to Pathos and see Aphrodite's rock from the cliffs above - spectacular views.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes if you buy local food - from the village or nearby and visit the Donkey Sanctuary - a worthwhile local cause.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very relaxing, fun and interesting! Helen and Tony came to meet us and were very friendly and helpful. Tony's dad was also very welcoming. Lovely people :)

review 7 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Relaxing on the veranda under the shade of the ancient olive tree and enjoying the fruit and wine supplied by our hosts Helen and Tony. Watching the heavens for shooting stars while laid on the sun loungers, with only the sound of an owl to disturb our peace. Spending time exploring Troodos forest and mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is rural Cyprus at its best and it is a totally different experience to the busy tourist areas of the coast. Take time to talk to the villagers of Vouni - they have a unique insight into the past glories of Vouni and the surrounding areas.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The vacation supported local shops and tavernas both in Vouni and the surrounding villages.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Thanks to Helen and Tony for a wonderful stay. Thanks also to John for his friendly help and advice.

review 7 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Friendly locals and the mountain views fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you are truly self catering - make sure you take provisions there is one local shop that does not open all the time and does not sell fresh veg. If you are staying 7 days the lodge provides a welcome pack which was very nice.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate in all three tavernas so yes it benefited local people. Impact on the environment was kept to a minimum as no air con used, energy light bulbs used etc

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable, we took our little terrier dog. 2 out of 3 eating places welcomed him outside on the terrace where we ate. The private courtyard at the lodge was lovely unfortunately for us it was used by all 3 apartments and as one of the occupiers was frightened of dogs it limited our enjoyment of it.

review 15 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The exhilarating drive into Vouni and surrounding villages nestled into terraced hillsides. Eating at the local taverna - real Cypriot cooking. Sitting in the court yard of the lodge, children asleep, drinking a beer and looking at the stars.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Vouni is a must. Away from the hub of the Troodos but close enough to visit everything. Unleaded petrol 5cents cheaper than on the coast. A car is necessary, but get out and walk around villages and pine forests. Too hot to walk too far in height of August with young children. I'm sure would be great in autumn or spring. Bring own food if self catering as supermarket in Plantres expensive compared to larger supermarkets in Paphos

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We walked around Vouni, had evening meals and drinks there. The Donkey Sanctuary was worth the visit. They are grateful for donations. We bought a t-shirt, cards and keyring. Buying local wine is a must. Lovely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent few days. Would go again for longer.

review 2 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The peacefulness of the lodge and the village.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring walking shoes and go into the hills. Diet before you come so that you can eat lots of mezze.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate in all the local tavernas.

review 5 May 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Memorable- walking along the Aphrodite nature trail on the Akamos penninsular in the morning and looking at the beautiful view, and then sitting on Asprokremos beach in the afternoon basking in the sunshine. Exciting (although inconvenient too!) - big thunderstorm in the middle of the night which meant no electricity or hot water the next morning!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You'll enjoy it if you like peace and quiet and vacationing in an authentic place. I'd hire a car so that you can get up to the Troodos mountains proper which are beautiful and where there are lots of marked hiking trails (other guests have kindly left lots of leaflets about this in one of the cupboards). Also, if you like unspoilt beauty visit the Akamos peninsular - my favourite part. We went in late April, and I'd recommend taking warm clothes for night time, especially for sleeping in. Also some thick socks or slippers for walking about the lovely stone floor and some mosquito repelling candles. For supplies, we found a nice little shop and bakery near Kividhes that wasn't as expensive as some of the other little supermarkets and had plenty of fresh produce.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We visited the donkey sanctuary (which is well worth a visit and the staff very friendly) and made a donation, and we ate meze in the local taverna (which was lovely and they'll make you vegetarian food if you ask). The accommodation itself seems environmentally friendly - lots of the houses have solar powered water and the heating in the accommodation seemed to be set to only come on when it was under 17c inside. The apartments have been restored very well will all the character remaining.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Relaxing, peaceful, welcoming and enjoyable. My only complaint would be that we were unlucky with the weather and couldn't do much walking in the mountains as we had some rainy days - but there's nothing you can do about that!

review 24 Nov 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

For our 8 yr old daughter - the Donkey Sanctuary (in walking distance of the Lodge). We couldn't believe that in the past, owners might push their donkeys over a cliff when they no longer had any use for them! I loved the fresh Autumn air, the peace & quiet and the crunching Autumn leaves over at Troodos.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring your own groceries, we couldn't find a shop in the village. Take your time to savour the meze at Takis tavern. Visit the Kaledonia Falls, however we made the mistake of following 'down' the falls, only to have to climb back up! Perhaps advisable to start lower down, walk up then easier on the return. Helen, the Lodge owner is very helpful via email, gave us plenty of advice - eg, on the type of clothing to take, the temperature was quite different to the coast.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

During our 2x nights, we visited each of the village tavernas and would recommend both. We supported the Donkey Sanctuary by adopting Chloe. We sampled a local wine in the taverna & discovered the winery in a near-by village Pera-Pedi, bought a box! We didn't want to use the car all the time & we had a couple of long walks around the village, but a car is a must for anything else.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A perfect, get-away from it all break, made a change from our usual weekends on the coast in Larnaca. 2x nights was long enough for us, but for those unfamiliar with Cyprus it was a good central base to discover the rest of the island. We were also very happy that we could take our little dog with us!

review 12 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Watching harriers and falcons circle in the warm and clear September air before they headed south for the winter. The peace, tranquillity, beauty and cool, clean air of the countryside around the accommodation. The excellent driving conditions - good fast roads when you simply wanted to get from A to B, plus almost deserted country roads (as the main traffic was on the good fast roads) when you wanted to go at a more leisurely pace and stop to explore. A very comfortable apartment to come back to for a siesta and for the evening. Breakfast on the patio was an added plus. It really helped me slow down and unwind.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you are arriving late midweek and off-season, village restaurants may not be open. But there is a good cafe (for brunch as well as evening meal) in the next-but one village, Ayia Mavri, about 7 minutes drive away, and other good places at Omodhos and other nearby villages. I never found the shop open (September) but there are good mini supermarkets in Kivides (10 minutes away) and Pera Pedhes (10 minutes away) as well as plenty of shops/supermarkets etc in Limassol. The vegetables in the Pera Pedhes co-op were particularly fresh, and the shopkeeper speaks good English and is very helpful. Contact Helen, the owner of the apartments, with any queries beforehand. Due to a family bereavement, she could not give me as much attention as she'd have wished, but it was clear from the visitors book and from the help that Tony her husband gave, that the family are kind and welcoming and will share their local knowledge to help you enjoy your stay.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Both restaurants in the village were open at the weekend (September) and offered excellent food at very reasonable prices. They deserve support. The nearest shops (see above) provided enough good quality fare to self-cater very well in the evenings for 5 days. This is in a wine-growing district with several local independent wineries which are worth a visit. The apartments had been converted sympathetically using local workmen and materials, are furnished in the traditional style and equipped to a good standard. And provision of good vacation accommodation sets an example for the village to follow. The apartments contained good tourist maps and details of interesting local places to visit/walks to go on etc. All this is encouragement to stay local and simple.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I really enjoyed it and would like to re-visit. The apartment was clean, well-furnished and excellent value for money. It was particularly nice to take a nap on the patio in the heat of the day, and to sit out at the start or end of the day. Shutters and stone floors helped keep the place cool indoors when it was hot outside. If you are looking for ultra-trendy kitchen equipment and furniture, this place would probably not be your 1st choice, but it is comfortable, well-lit (a big consideration for serious readers), and well-enough equipped for you to cook good meals from the excellent local produce.

review 7 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kourion Architectural Park - an incredible area which has been so well planned and covered with imaginative protective roofing.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Read the most up-to-date information on visitcyprus.com.cy as opening hours and even which monasteries are open to the public is constantly changing. Don't be intimidated by the thought of driving on the winding roads of the Troodos Mountains - it's a scenic delight and well worth driving slowly.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We stayed in a locally owned lodge, enjoyed a fabulous meal at the Taxis Taverna in Vouni and well supported the Cypriot wine industry - the local wines are excellent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Relaxing, interesting and well worth many more visits.

review 18 Jun 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A 13km walk around Mount Olympus, walks up to the Caledonian Falls and Chantara waterfalls, tasty meals in little tavernas, having breakfast and reading on the beautiful sunny terrace.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The village is very very quiet, so this is definitely one for escaping from it all - take lots of books! And don't forget your sunscreen when you go walking, we went a bit pink.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The agrotourism scheme is helping to conserve traditional houses. In terms of supporting the local economy, we ate in a couple of nice local tavernas - other than that it's quite difficult to spend money in the village, as there's only one small grocery shop which only seems to be open for about an hour or two each day - we ended up buying most of our food in the surrounding villages. But tourism is clearly an important industry in the surrounding area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A lovely relaxing time in beautiful surroundings, and Helen and Tony gave us a very warm welcome.

review 10 Sep 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Excellent food and hospitality of local people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Dress light and don't go, particularly if going down to sea level, in the middle of summer. Temperatures can be quite excessive. Make sure there's no building work going on across the road. We were woken up at 7-7.30 in the initial few days of our stay.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we went for food to local shops and family run restaurants. Could also pick fresh figs, walnuts and prickly pears from the trees in the garden of our apartment and across the road.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Interesting landscape, everyone was so friendly and ready to help if needed.

review 25 Feb 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most exciting part of our vacation was probably discovering that you could ski in the Troodos mountains in February! This was our first trip to Cyprus and skiing was not what we had expected to be able to do there. Ski hire and lift passes were easy to arrange. The slopes at Sun Valley 1 were easy to negotiate and were great for beginners, like us. We ate out only once in the local taverna and the rest of the time was shopped and cooked for ourselves. We have truly discovered halloumi and feta and the salad ingredients were full of flavour, I suspect straight from the field. And true Cyprus potatoes. Wow. Yum. We fried them, boiled them, crumbled them with garlic and herbs and they were just delicious.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You will need a car if you book a vacation in this area. A car is essential if you want to get to the ski slopes or visit any of the other local points of interest such as the wineries, olive museum or take a trip to see some of the spectacular scenery.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Looking at the big picture, yes. We shopped out of Vouni as the shop was very small and I did not notice any fruit or veg available there. Furthermore, we were out of Vouni for a lot of the time of our vacation. So, we contributed to the wider local economy as well the local one by eating at the Takis taverna one evening also (were we stuffed!). I discovered that Vouni is in a conservation zone and the lodge has been refurbished with this in mind, so the visual impact on the village remains unspoiled.

review 6 Jul 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was very relaxing and enjoyable. A place to call your own and sit in the shady courtyard and feel at home. There are many places to go to and you can descend to the coast, swim at the beach near Kouroin, visit the shops in Limassol, but return to your safe haven in the cooler hills and get away from all the buzz. The owners were very friendly and helpful and meeting the other people staying in the Lodge was also very enjoyable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Use the mosquito mat. Enjoy the fresh produce and visit the taverns around. Don't go in the summer because of the heat and the crowds.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I hope it did. We shopped and bought things locally, however, by this we mean around the island and not just in the village where there isn't much to buy. It's very difficult to assess how we minimized impact on the environment. We were there; only by not being there would we not impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was very relaxing. Cyprus was suffering a heat wave and it was a little too hot to do too much, but the Lodge is a very pleasant place to relax and read and do nothing for a while.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the vacations. In addition, we don't run these vacations ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies