12 independent reviews for Multi activity vacation in Croatia

Reviews for Multi activity vacation in Croatia

SHOW
5
7
0
0
0

review 4 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We enjoyed the whole week especially the kayaking. The plitvice lakes national park was stunning as well.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Try the optional activity of horse riding.. I am a beginner and loved it. Early morning swims in the river are a must!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. From the amazing guide Igor to the hotel staff and the jaw dropping scenery we loved every second. Will be hard to beat for our next vacation.

review 6 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

In terms of excitement: going down a 3m waterfall in a kayak. In terms of memory: night swimming in the river Krka.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Accept the challenge and enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all trips were done either by our guides or local companies.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Perfect vacation if you like being active in a stunning environment.

review 31 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The last day was amazing - sea-kayaking around the island of Kolocep with an amazing lunch at local fish restaurant followed by the sunset sailing trip

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you bring enough cash as there are no cash points on the island where you stay. The travel advice given by the vacation provider was very detailed so there were no surprises really.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We visited an elderly couple who ran a farm with olive trees, goats and chickens. We paid to have lunch there which was delicious and almost entirely from their own produce. Our guide gave the money directly to the couple and this allows them to supplement their income. Our guide was very aware of environmental issues and we did discuss local environmental issues such as recycling, litter.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was amazing - only 8 in our group - 2 families of 4 , we both had teenagers so it was all very well matched, Our guide allowed us to make changes to the itinerary. We all chose not to do the day trips to Dubrovnik or the optional day as the Island we stayed on was so beautiful and we had the use of kayaks , SUP and bikes there. We did extra bike ride and extra hike and our guide also arranged a fishing trip for us. I could not be better. The vacation providers were very professional to deal with. The price of local restaurants also meant the trip was really good value as eating at restuarants was expensive. The food provided was really good too.

review 22 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We really enjoyed the activities everyday - rafting, especially - it was beautiful and thrilling! We also enjoyed that we had plenty of downtime during the evening, to relax and soak up the village life.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We booked a short stay (4 days), but I would recommend the 7 day trip as ours felt too short! We would also recommend tagging it on with seeing other areas of croatia e.g. the coast.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all of the guides, cooks and guesthouse owners were local, and the food we ate was locally produced. Since we stayed in simple guesthouses, it was more environmentally friendly than hotels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic! Beautiful country, very peaceful and relaxed but adventurous. Our guides were excellent, informative and relaxed. The whole experience was great

review 7 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sneaking an extra two hours canoeing on the river on our last morning - just our two canoes on the beautiful Mreznica river

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a jacket for the evenings - we ate on the terrace every evening and it could be chilly

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a rural hotel and so hope that this provided local jobs in this lovely location, soon to be a conservation area

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful!

review 24 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We went to Croatia on the Land of Lakes and Waterfalls vacation with the operator. The best bit? The walk to and climb up Gromavaca (1,675m). I think it is the highest peak I have climbed and the view from the top fantastic. To the west was the Adriatic, with its parched rugged coastline, to the north, south and east back into Croatia with the white limestone mountains and dark green forests.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Good sun hat - it was very hot!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We spent our money in local shops, ate local home cooked food or ate in local restaurants, so we did our bit. We also used a local tour company with local guides. Did it support conservation? - no idea, but I don't think we had a negative impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

5 Star. Croatia was wonderful and the tour guides really looked after us. Only regret was that the B&B we stayed in had no separate sitting area. I longed for the comfort of an easy chair. Wooden stools are great when you're 20, but at 55 I need a little more luxury.

review 3 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking and rafting was a lot of fun. Plitvice lakes are beautiful and unforgettable

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring a good set of cycling clothes and day backpack, versatile clothes and couple of layers as it can be very sunny and rainy during the same day don't vary about food and basic supplies but a knife becomes handy when making take away lunch.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It was really good for locals as they get a bit of extra money. I believe it is hard to survive in this areas and to keep the tradition going. All local people were very nice, aware and knowledgable

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a great trip. Definitely a good choice to get a bit of adventure and get to know one of the most beautiful pieces of Croatian nature. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to do nature and adventure oriented vacation regardless of age and status.

review 10 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everyday was enjoyable, I met some great people, I've never been kayaking before and I really enjoyed it, we went kayaking 3 times, cycling, and visited 2 national parks, along with the little extras like stopping for a quick swim in the Adriatic, organising traditional Croatian lunches and entertaining us in the evening with his guitar, our guide Marko and his assistant guides Ivan and Guillaume made the vacation really special, they were very professional, had lots of knowledge of the areas we visited and looked after us throughout the week, it was the perfect vacation. Great people, great weather and great surroundings.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Best vacation I've had, would definitely recommend it, I couldn't fault anything.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in the lovely village of Korana in a guest house of the local people, it was perfect and we had great meals cooked for us every night by the river.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Perfect vacation, made me fall in love with Croatia, I will definitely be going back.

review 4 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Every day was memorable and exciting. Having spent a few days before the vacation on a beach getting bored this was all changed when Filip picked us up. One of his many gems of quotes was "Beaches are not for humans, they’re for reptiles" should be the company's motto. As soon as we met Filip our vacation started to be a lot of fun. Gorana who organizes everything with Filip's help is a masterclass in how to look after people. Despite working so hard she always made every one feel like they where good friends and nothing was any trouble. I think they genuinely like being with all kinds of different people. This vacation would have been great anyhow but Gorana and Filip made it extra special.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't worry about fitness level or ability. They will tailor each activity to suit everyone’s needs and help those who need it. Take several waterproof disposable cameras, There is so much to photograph. Be prepared to have lots of fun and laughs and make good friends. Try and go on the rafting in Bosnia it was fantastic!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. You can tell this from the warm welcome you get from locals everywhere. Food and activities where always locally sourced. Filip was a great believer in respect for the environment and was very knowledgeable in this matter.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Beautiful country and genuinely friendly people everywhere. Spotlessly clean accommodation. One of the best vacations ever. Felt like we have left very close friends behind. Cant wait to go back.

review 20 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The position of the hotel on the wide sweep of a crystal clear river was superb, just the place to eat Breakfast and Dinner at either end of a wonderful day of activities and relaxation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't worry if you are not super-fit, it's an ideal mix of exercise and relaxation. If you can do 4 hours of activity each day, that'll see you through, but you will need to be able to swim!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, very local in its structure. I suspect that Croatia has some work to do to ensure environmental impacts of tourism remain low, but at the moment they seem to have got it about right.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 11 Aug 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Several, plunging down a 4 meter waterfall on the Mreznica River, watching my 14 year old son dive of an even higher one, arriving on the ferry from Dubrovnik at Lopud and then seeing our lovely apartment!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't attempt to drive from the top of Croatia, to the bottom in one day, especially not in vacation season.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely, particularly The Land of Waterfalls trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had disappointingly cold weather the first week for which we were not well equipped, despite this we all had a great fortnight .The vacation met the needs or adults and teenagers.

review 1 Apr 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Doing things I have never expected myself to do.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Although you have to follow a specific group schedule you can still arrange private time for yourself and enjoy the surroundings. It's a wonderful and beautiful place.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely. Everything concerning the vacation is arranged with/by local people. In addition to that the guides make sure the environment is treated with respect.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. A nice combination of activities and beautiful surroundings.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies