2 independent reviews for Wildlife and culture vacation in Malaysia

Reviews for Wildlife and culture vacation in Malaysia

SHOW
1
1
0
0
0

review 28 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Staying in a longhouse, seeing orang-utans and proboscis monkeys.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Stay in a longhouse and don't try to do much.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I thinks so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 13 Dec 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

1) Seeing our daughter & son-in-law in Perth WA. 2) The evening flight of bats from the Mulu Caves. 3) The friendliness of the Malay people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

1) It may be worth considering including an evening meal at the Batang Ai and I suspect this could be negotiated at a very reasonable price. We were in minority of guests without evening dinner included. This was at the Mulu resort and at other location in our itinerary there was the opportunity to eat at nearby restaurants. 2) The seats we were recommended for the 13.5 hr London/KL flight (and return) were very poor and noisy - indeed the website seatguru.com listed them as red (to be avoided). Unfortunately I was not aware of this useful website but would suggest clients are informed of this before placing seat bookings especially on long-haul flights. 3) A note in the guide that it is useful to carry a supply of 20sen coins for the loos in Malaysia. 4) Consider including slightly more "down" time in the itinerary - most enjoyable but, at times, a little "hectic".

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Despite the four comments above the vacation was most enjoyable and all went like clockwork (almost didn't as the flight from Mulu to Kuching was a little late and we almost missed the connecting flight to KL - timing a little tight here? The local guides were first class, very knowledgeable and passionate about their local cultures, history and country. Our congratulations to the team at the tour company.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent travels to Malaysia. I am happy to hear about the highlights of seeing the millions of bats exiting deer cave at sunset and indeed the overall friendliness of the Malay people. You also felt that the logistics went like clockwork and the guides were a real asset during your time away which is always a pleasure to read. I know you had a month in Australia after your time in Malaysia and I am very pleased to hear you had a great time with your daughter & son-in-law. It is a real shame to read about your experience on the flight from London to Kuala Lumpur. www.seatguru.com is an excellent resource when choosing your seats on a flight and I am very sorry that the seats reserved for you were so poor. I have ensured this is looked at in future as a key point. I think it is very useful advice to carry some small change to pay the attendants at public toilets in airports and shopping centres etc. I have added this to our client notes in our travel packs - thank you for the suggestion! I am extremely pleased to hear that you felt your vacation benefited local people and minimised impacts on the environment. I know that you had placed an emphasis on having variety to the trip which is why you did have quite a bit of traveling in your itinerary. I wonder now you have seen a lot of Sarawak maybe your next time away will be in Sabah where the wildlife takes precedent over the culture and shows off another angle to the amazing island of Borneo! You could also enjoy some downtime at one of the beach hotels around Kota Kinabalu or tropical islands such as Lankayan and Mataking off the coast.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies