11 independent reviews for Atlas Mountains accommodation nr Imlil, Morocco

Reviews for Atlas Mountains accommodation nr Imlil, Morocco

SHOW
1
10
0
0
0

review 21 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We stayed for four days while we trekked the local area. It was my family’s favourite part of a two week trip to Morocco. The ‘feel’ is just perfect - we were busy and challenged every day but completely relaxed because of the wonderful hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The rooms are great. We stayed in the garden room and the tree house and hearing the call to prayer in the early morning was one of the most beautiful things I’ve heard. On the one day the weather turned in the afternoon, our hosts lit the fires for us to have a Hammam.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

What I enjoyed most was being in a beautiful place and for a brief few days feeling a little like we belonged because the guest house and the local community feel seamlessly integrated. For the children it was more than just a vacation - a small part of them connected with the mountains they climbed and the Berber people they spent time with. We took our meals up at the guest house and you can get anything you want at any time by going to talk to the infamous Rachida but her evening meals were also the best we ate in Morocco. You all sit together to eat and we met some lovely people. Everyone was doing something different in Morocco and it was interesting to find out about other people’s experiences. Every day Hassan arrived in the morning to guide us and we walked all day with the children (aged 11 and 15), stopping to eat the delicious picnic and rest at lunch time.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 25 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The arrival in the evening to discover our candle lit room was magical.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't leave it too late for November bookings if you want to enjoy autumn colours in the Atlas. We were just in time but probably late October/early November is best. Don't forget sun tan cream! We saw a lot of very red faces in the evenings... Enjoy the price negotiations with taxis in Marrakesh!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people as employment yes. Part of the amount paid to the guide in the Atlas goes to make walking in the mountains safer.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Both the douar and riad are wonderful places to stay. We were looked after and the food deserves a special mention. Both the Atlas and Marrakesh are great places to visit/discover.

review 25 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Trekking in the atlas mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do fuel the local economy using mules , they seem very willing to take the strain, do not confuse the local people's friendliness for hassle, they are mostly just really friendly, do stay at this douar – it’s fab.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It did seem to fuel the local economy in a small, gentle direct way. But due to budget flights the local area is now full of new hotels going up and a new road; the area is ripe to be spoiled. The local people seem delighted with the opportunities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had the most wonderful time at this accommodation, and the trekking was awesome. The hotel food is grown on site and cooked deliciously! The water is heated by burning waste, very efficient; the night time lit by candles only is peaceful. Do go; it’s amazing.

review 6 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sitting on the rooftop listening to Berber life.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Stay a few days and walk through villages, up mountains and relax.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the house was beautifully designed in a local Berber village. It was very sympathetic to the environment with the extra special touches for the overseas traveler.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10.

review 8 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The colour of Morroco, the kindness of it's people but also their desperation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for Marrakech.....go with an open mind if you have never traveled there before. Do not miss the High Atlas for a day trip!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely benefited local people. Both the riad and douar employed locals and used local resources. I think they could still make use of further renewable energy as opposed to relying on gas. Guests were well informed to not over use water and block drains with toilet roll! Very positive but could be pushed further.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. The douar exceeded my expectations and I will definitely be returning. The riad had a pleasant relaxed atmosphere, with friendly employees and a lovely terrace and eating area.

review 20 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The candlelit house at night! Wonderfully mediaeval. All the lovely and peaceful places to sit and admire the view.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for no electricity! (actually I think we could have recharged stuff had we needed to). Take a jumper - it got a little chilly at night and even some afternoons. Be prepared to socialise with other guests! Being terribly English and eating dinner in your own little corner is not allowed! But we actually enjoyed this once we got over our reserve.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. All staff are local and we were encouraged to use local services. Minimum use of water was encouraged, and of course energy use vastly reduced by not having electricity in most of the house.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic. Many thanks to Rachida, Mohammed and Jacqueline for a wonderful and relaxing stay.

review 12 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The lovely welcome on arrival with a mint tea in front of the Atlas Mountains. My beautiful room and not forgetting the amazing cooking.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you take cash with you as difficult to get once you are there.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. It gave employment to locals who were treated well and were clearly very fond of Jacqueline.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Incredible time it was the most beautiful place.

review 21 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Getting away somewhere quiet and doing lots of walking and reading. The mountains were fantastic. I went for a retreat and this was one.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't forget the suncream - the mountain sun can be deceptive! (And cream the back of your hands - everyone I met missed that trick). You do need a guide for at least some of the walks because the mule tracks aren't always obvious and the maps aren't detailed enough to help. They can be booked at the guesthouse though - so see how you feel when you get there. Definitely have two or three days up here. I felt sorry for the day trippers to Imlil from Marrakech who were missing out on so much because of time and tour constraints.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes....

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Struggling to rate this between four and five stars...I felt "reborn" yesterday. A Ryanair flight and hundreds of emails in my inbox mean I feel more like four stars this morning. Really good trip.

review 3 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Jacqueline’s house is the perfect place to stay and made our trip to the Atlas mountains a very special one. We loved being able to sit on the roof terrace and enjoy the wonderful views in the daytime and the amazing stars at night.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you book to come here then you can also go and stay in Marrakech, which makes a great twin break vacation. Make sure you go to Marrakech first and then come and relax in the peaceful mountains!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the house was built by locals and now employs a number of people from the village. Delicious food is prepared using local produce, some of which is grown in the garden.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We loved our vacation and would like to come back and visit the Atlas mountains again one day as its a beautiful place which has yet to be spoilt by too many tourists. The accommodation, food and Jacqueline's hospitality were great and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to a friend.

review 9 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The setting of the kasbah in the Atlas Mountains, and the incredibly elegant Riad in Marrakech.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you want a bit of variety, the two together (kasbah and riad) make a great combination. The kasbah is not for those with mobility difficulties, though, due to the location and the structure.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes! I'm really impressed with how Jacqueline has restored these properties so sympathetically, and local people were absolutely in charge. The relationship with the Berber villagers was clearly one of mutual trust and benefit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was great.

review 24 Mar 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The views in the Atlas Mountains were absolutely spectacular and the kasbah fitted perfectly into the Berber village and we were privileged to be able to have an insight into their daily lives. We then travelled to Marrakech and the riad provided a beautiful quiet haven away from the hustle and bustle which is part of daily life in this city. Jacqueline and her staff made us feel at home at all times

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you are traveling to the Atlas Mountains be prepared to go on very long hikes up to 20 kilometres at high altitude. You don't have to hike but it is very much the expectation. In Marrakech you need a very good sense of direction or GPS as the maps do not truly represent the intricacies of the city

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Jacqueline employs local staff and the local villagers cannot speak highly enough of her. I believe both in the Atlas Mountains and in Marrakech the impact is as minimal as possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was a fantastic experience. All the staff in both the Atlas Mountain kasbah and riad were so welcoming and made us feel at home. Jacqueline is very warm and treats you as family. The food was of a very high standard. Accommodation in the mountains is basic as you would expect but homely. The riad is beautiful. The other guests were all lovely and we shared some great tales and experiences over dinner.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies