8 independent reviews for Traditional crafts vacation in Scotland

Reviews for Traditional crafts vacation in Scotland

SHOW
4
4
0
0
0

review 16 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

That's really hard to decide. Rosie and her family are remarkable people. Rosie worked tirelessly to make it the perfect vacation, from preparing the fleece, collecting the plants used in the dying, the dying itself, and of course, carding and spinning the wool. She and Alex made delicious, healthy meals and made sure the experience went smoothly. The other guests were wonderful and we were all quite close by the end of the week. The housing was excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do come, especially if you like animals and warm, creative people. It's not for the fastidious, because sheep and dye stuffs aren't particularly clean, at least to start. Bring insect repellant and itch cream.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. This was a strictly local endeavour. Everything, including the food, was organic and local as much as possible, and things that could not be used, such as waste fleece, were composted or recycled. Members of the community also participated in the lessons, including a local singer and a spinner.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The best. We learned so much and the memories we'll take away are priceless.

review 30 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Going through the whole process of watching the sheep being sheared, working with the fleece, gathering plants to dye with, creating amazing colours and then using them to create my felted wall hanging.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Its very relaxing and informal. Bring old, comfortable clothes that you won't mind getting a bit of dye on.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Rosie ans Alex are brilliant at bringing in local people to share their expertise. They are extremely environmentally conscious, nothing goes to waste.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This vacation was amazing. Rosie and Alex are so very welcoming, and willing to share their knowledge. I learned so much about the history and culture of the Highlands while I was there. They provide a wonderful balance of learning and working at a relaxing pace. For example, we saw a shearing demo, then learned a little about the natural dyes, then went out to collect the plants. In the evenings we learned how to needle felt, spin yarn, and some of the songs women used to sing while working. it was a full circle of fleece to felt that was enriched by hearing about the old crofting way of life. Food was incredible and lodging so comfortable. And I get to take home a beautiful wall hanging, needle felted creations, and a beautiful Eco-printed scarf, all of which I produced, during my stay. The vacation was fabulous.

review 10 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The experience was incredible, better than we imagined. It was magical to work with all the natural materials in such a beautiful setting. Rosie was amazing, warm and encouraging. There were lots of thoughtful touches and we are thrilled with the handmade items we brought home.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring layers! The weather can change on a dime. We loved staying in the static caravan at the Cannich caravan park at the bottom of the hill--very affordable, clean, and with a great cafe.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Ten out of ten.

review 25 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I recently went on a road trip through Scotland with my Mum, we were in awe of the stunning scenery managing to visit lots of different places, going on walks up mountains, by lakes and through woodlands. On our last weekend we booked on to the Wild Rose Escapes' natural dyeing course. We're both creative and were keen to learn more about fabrics and dyes so felt this would be something we would both like. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with Rosie, her family and the other fellow dyers who joined us. Foraging for local plants and trying out imported dyes we used open fires to make a large range of gorgeous colours. I also enjoyed meeting the various animals Rosie and her family look after and the amazing homemade lunch and cakes made for us by Alex.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in learning something different, who also likes being outdoors and breathing in the fresh air. They also run felt-making, prehistoric cooking and relaxation retreats so I would be keen to try out those in the future. The prehistoric cooking particularly interests me. This isn't for those who like their creature comforts, but for two days I'm sure most people could handle the compost toilet.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Rosie and her family lead a very sustainable life, from their composting toilet to using the natural mountain water and open fires from local wood, so I felt conscious that my environmental impact was reduced, even if only for the two days I was taking part on the course. Rosie had also recommended for us to have dinner on Saturday night at a pop up restaurant in the local cafe, all of us on the course decided to go. The food was wonderfully prepared by local people and the evening was a lovely occasion.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I loved it, it was something different from your beach or resort vacation but I personally love venturing in to nature and the creative element meant I also left with something which I can now use back home and have as a memory of my time there with my Mum.

review 22 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The excitement of watching the different colours emerging as we used natural dyes and the anticipation of what could be created using them. I have never felt so invigorated, and relaxed?!!!, at the same time. A real feel good break, in every sense.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Leave plenty of space in your luggage to bring home a fleece or two.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This vacation was in harmony with conservation and totally respectful of the environment. Local people were involved with us on lots of levels throughout the week, our trips gave us a greater insight into the area, and supported local businesses. All our food was also provided by local suppliers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a wonderful break, organised to enjoy many different experiences, at a leisurely pace, for all those involved. I couldn’t believe how much I managed to achieve each day whilst still feeling totally chilled and unrushed. This was my first foray into felting, but I came home with much more knowledge than I had anticipated, many wonderful memories, and big plans for further felting adventures.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a wonderful break, organised to enjoy many different experiences, at a leisurely pace, for all those involved. I could'nt believe how much I managed to achieve each day whilst still feeling totally chilled and unrushed. This was my first forray into felting, but I came home with much more knowledge than I had anticipated, many wonderful memories, and big plans for further felting adventures.

review 3 Feb 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I loved the whole process of gathering natural materials (lichen, fungus, nettles, birch bark, etc) to dye the wool, the dyeing itself and the amazing array of colours we created with single and secondary dyes. The felt-making itself was fascinating and great fun - Rosie creates the perfect balance - encouraging personal experimentation and providing expert support. I was delighted with the bag I made and couldn't quite believe I'd made it!! We were able to work outside a lot of the time - either with the fantastic views of the valley from the wood or next to the river by the cottage we were staying in. I loved being able to go walking from the cottage each morning/ evening (with several different routes available) and saw some fantastic wildlife, including huge boletus fungi (in early July) and a Pine marten. The food is definitely worth a mention, too - delicious and plentiful home cooked fare with great variety and they coped really well with my special dietary requirements.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take walking gear and take advantage of the superb location. Take the time to explore Inverness for a couple of hours - there's a great walk along the riverside south - you can cross the river onto some small islands and come back along the opposite bank.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - we visited local farms and kept driving to a minimum.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - well worth it. Memorable - and wonderful to come away with a new skill.

review 21 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The small field trips outside of Ullapool to meet other people like Hilda, June and Jeff. It left a big impression on me about the small communities in Scotland and how they work together to make everything work.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do not fly into London! Just fly into Edinburgh and take the train to Inverness. Other than that the vacation is fantastic!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It definitely benefited the local people because all we did was utilized local resources, including non-endangered wild plants for our natural dyes. We used wools from local shepherds and traditional Scottish sheep, we ate foods that were grown and raised in the local gardens and farms, and killed at the local butcher and fish mongers, and we only used one vehicle to travel great distances if that was required.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I felt relaxed during my vacation but I also learned a lot that I could bring back and use during my college studies for sculpture and textiles. It was an excellent combination without the fuss of dye labs and overly processed and wools.

review 4 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

So many memorable components to this trip it's hard to just pinpoint one but I will have lasting memories of Hilda (with her pet ram, Alexander the Great) as well as the breathtaking landscape and scrumptious food. Learning to felt was more enjoyable than I had even anticipated and creating natural dyes and foraging for natural plants was fascinating.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, definitely!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I loved the whole week and all the activities involved. I had very little expectation or knowledge about fleece or felting but learnt an enormous amount and came away loving the felt piece I created. The highlands are conducive to creativity!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies