8 independent reviews for Umbria farmhouse B&B, Italy

Reviews for Umbria farmhouse B&B, Italy

SHOW
1
7
0
0
0

review 26 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Beautiful surroundings, cookery lesson with our host Sara, lovely, healthy and fresh food, beautifully cooked, interesting walk over to the beautiful village of Montone. Sara and Alessandro at the accommodation were extremely friendly and helpful. The B&B has been renovated with a real eye to beauty and has some really lovely touches.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We managed to get there by pubic transport and Sara and Alessandro helped by picking us up and taking us to the station which was much appreciated. Once there, there are interesting you can reach by walking, cycling or public transport, if you are happy to slow down and take it all in. We even got invited for dinner by an Italian family as we were walking by, looking a bit hot, red and English! A lovely memory to treasure!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I do. Food was lovely and fresh and using public transport, walking and cycling reduced our environmental impact. We spent money in local villages which helps the rural economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant

review 14 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beautiful location, warm friendly welcome, the happiness of our 2 year old son enjoying stroking the animals and the delicious, fresh tasty locally produced food.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go to Montone.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, for example I felt the food was delicious and locally sourced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 11 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We loved the view over the Umbrian hills from our cottage balcony - just like a movie set! I liked the relaxed atmosphere that Sara has encouraged and the tasty 4 course dinners! Our boys LOVED "Pizza night" and their late night swim and the forest with the wild swing!! The kitten was a big hit too...

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The car's GPS did not recognise the shortcut road from the highway so print the directions (which are perfect) before you go. We had a week so tried out a different Italian town each day - Montone (the closest) is small but beautiful - try out the Erba Luna Restaurant just on the wall! And ice-creams in the square at the bar for lively evenings. Loved Assisi the most with it's many churches, shops, winding streets and interesting stories. Perugia had an underground city (but DO NOT try and drive in! We had to squeeze our car back through the city to get out!) ...and the something different was Gubbio - darker feeling Gothic

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It looked as though most of the produce was farmed right there - so yes. The cottage had solar lights outside and two bins for recycling

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful stay helped by perfect weather. Would recommend to any animal loving friends.

review 24 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The location coupled with a warm welcome and amazing food.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Hire a car! Then make sure you print off the detailed location instructions from the web site.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the hosts use locally or own sourced food etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely brilliant!

review 5 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The portion I spent at the agriturismo was excellent, weather aside. The hosts were excellent with plenty of information about the area; books & music to share; TV (not a usual but I was there during the Storm Sandy and from NY and wanted updates and visuals). There were excellent included breakfasts and dinner if you desired (fresh from their farm). I loved the dogs and cats greeting me in the mornings and joining in on walks. And the most unexpected and (not prepared for) trick or treaters.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Loved the Montone hill side town very nearby. Lots of people, music, food, crafts, and over all sense of joy. Liked Perugia about 50 kilometers away. Worthy of a day trip and don't forget to see the gothic underground city under Perugia. Don't drive the small country mountain road to Cortona unless you are a thrill seeker and don't worry about no guardrails and other cars and if you do, make sure it's in daylight and nice weather.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefitted the very small local community (grocery store) and the local farmers and crafts people. The accomodations were in alignment with green and environmental issues.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This portion of my vacation was very relaxed and although the weather was not agreeable during my entire Italy stay, I still enjoyed it immensely. It was my 3rd trip in 4 years and there's at least 2 more trips to accomplish. Thanks Responsible Travel for always having excellent suggestions.

review 2 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Peace & quiet, enjoyed the chance to relax with no pressures

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you have a Sat Nav and you know where you are going...... If you are expecting 5* luxury, forget it. If you want great hosts, enjoyable company and time to relax then go for it.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Nice set up onsite, a family that really seem to enjoy what they are doing. The local village well utilised and very friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Enjoyable, relaxing, friendly, would very happily return.

review 17 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Staying on a working farm and visiting mountain top medieval villages and towns.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Only local food and local wine served.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An enjoyable and peaceful vacation with a friendly and hospitable family in a well appointed converted farmhouse. Excellent walks and sights to see by car.

review 29 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sitting on the terrace in the evening, surrounded by jaw-dropping scenery and being presented with the most amazing home grown, homemade food. Together with a nice glass of wine from the local vineyard and it was a little slice of heaven!!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You will definitely need a car for getting around this area, especially if you go in summer as it is really too hot to walk the distances required to get anywhere!!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, our host buys things she needs that she can't supply herself, from her neighbours and the locality.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Awesome! A rustic rural retreat. Comfy beds, peace and quiet with food for the soul!

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the vacations. In addition, we don't run these vacations ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies