Patrick Edmond review 25 Jun 2022
1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?
The accommodation is wonderful. Fiona and Gareth put their heart into the place and it shows. We really enjoyed our stay there and would love to go back.
2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?
The horse riding activities are provided by an external stables which has clearly gone through a lot of adverse change since COVID. The description of an intensive week of equestrian activities on the Responsible Travel website (which is what we thought we would be getting) bore essentially zero resemblance to what the stables actually provided. Hence advice to other travelers: caveat emptor. Go for a lovely week of relaxation and other sporting activities. Just donít expect the description of horse riding activities to bear any relationship to reality.
3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?
Yes. The accommodation is off-grid and is very focused on sustainability, local sourcing, and reduced impact, which we greatly appreciated.
4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?
It couldnít have been better and we loved it. The third-party riding stables was frankly very disappointing. Our daughters were the ones looking forward for 2 years to a riding vacation, and our rating is heavily guided by their reaction: while the riding was not remotely as good as they expected, the other aspects of the stay helped to make up for that. We are therefore giving the vacation five stars based solely on the accommodation. If we were rating the riding element in isolation (alignment with programme on website, English skills, pedagogy), that would get perhaps 2 stars.
Read the operator's response here:
We are really glad you enjoyed your vacation with us in Catalonia. We are sorry the horse riding did not live up to expectations. After Covid they have a new guide, but after talking with you we realised you were being taken out with the new guide who was not good enough and had no English, I know for the last few days you had the owner rather than the new guide and things improved. We are sorry you had the issue with the new guide and the owner now knows of the issue so it was great that you informed us of the issue so that we could let the owner know and he could make changes. Small businesses here were given almost no help, so it is difficult for them now to find the correct staff, as most tourism staff have quit the industry and gone into other sectors. We do apologise and we look forward to seeing you again. Have a great Summer.