Joanne Knight review 2 Nov 2019
1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?
This was my first experience on the African continent. I was absolutely blown away by the wildlife, fantastic people and will come again.
2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?
The trip exceeded my expectations. It's a shame I could not book direct with the local company. Our guide (Stefan) was a wicked smart gentleman with a great sense of humour and in control of everything. The support guides (Happy & Michael) went over and above to make everything comfortable and met all my needs. Love these guys and hope to return one day to see more of Namibia. The booking experience with the operator was very poor. If you are booking from outside US or Europe, a premium is charged.
This is a rort and I don't recommend the operator outside these locations. I was required to pay a single supplement which was not necessary. I was not given the tour only price even though I was also required to arrange my own flights from Australia. Worst of all when I needed additional nights accommodation at the starting point, as well as transfers, the operator expected me to pay another $4-500 AUD when e.g. booking.com and the lodge would not have charged me more than $300 AUD for these services. Very poor experience and I'll never recommend the operator.
3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?
Yes. Dragan (our main guide) is an absolute pleasure to listen to and learn from.
4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?
With the exception of the operator who I will never recommend, 5 stars!
Read the operator's response here:
We would like to thank Joanne for her review; we were very pleased to read that she had such an incredible time in Namibia and found her tour leader, Stefan, and local guides to be excellent. We work in partnership with trusted local companies to run the majority of our trips; our local partners provide unparalleled first-hand knowledge and experience of the country in which they operate, and working with them to run our trips is also in keeping with our Responsible Travel policy of ensuring that smaller local companies benefit from tourism.
We were very sorry to read that she found her booking experience to be poor, however, and that she felt that a premium was charged by booking from Australia; we can confirm that this is not the case and that prices are set at the beginning of each season, and we do not convert using live exchange rates. We cannot comment on any processes a travel agent might have when clients book through them, as this client did, but we would like to reassure that the standard land-only cost was charged.
We would like to mention that a single supplement is never required as a solo traveler, and this is a supplement to secure a room for sole use throughout the trip, if an individual wishes to do this, as our vacations are sold on a twin-share basis. We realise that room rates are advertised at properties and that accommodation booking websites have dynamic pricing, so we are sorry that Joanne felt she has been over-charged for her additional nights accommodation. We would like to confirm that the price for additional nights are in line with what we are charged by the local team and properties. We remain very sorry that Joanne
was left disappointed with her booking experience, but very pleased that she enjoyed our Cycling in Namibia vacation so much.