16 independent reviews for West Highland Line railway vacation in Scotland

Reviews for West Highland Line railway vacation in Scotland

SHOW
11
4
1
0
0

review 15 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Jacobite steam train from Fort William to Mallaig.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If possible book first class on Jacobite.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Probably, food was mainly locally produced and no damage to plants or wildlife as far as I could see.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, organisation by the operator, couldn't be faulted.

review 29 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The harry potter train

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Read about scotland, the cab driver around isle of sky

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes,

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Nice and moderate

review 12 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The day long tour on the Isle of Skye. The local tour guide was interesting, funny and very knowledgeable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you pack essential walking shoes and be prepared for rapid changes in the weather.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The trip definitely benefited local people. We spent money in local shops and restaurants. The tour had 8 passengers so that saves having numerous vehicles on the road with just one. The food we ate in the hotels was locally sourced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very relaxing and interesting break with the luxury of first class accommodation and superb meals. A great way to unwind for a few days.

review 12 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The rail journey through the highlands to Mallaig was memorable and the stay at the Old Pines was a delight. It is a charming place with most helpful staff and superb food.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Choose a season with the best weather!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly it benefitted local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. It rained throughout the Skye tour but our driver still made it interesting.The stay at the Inn at Ardvasar was in some ways disappointing. Room service was poor - we had to ask for toilet paper, the television remote control didn't work and the used teacups and teapot were not washed the following day. Also our bill when first presented included the cost of the room. Having said this however, the food was excellent and we had very good dinners there. It was popular with locals!'

Read the operator's response here:

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the vacation overall, and have made note of all your comments, which we have passed on to our various partners for action as required.

review 30 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The tour of Skye

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a camera and a raincoat Check that hotel you are going to stay in on Skye has Mobile reception.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Obviously the economy benefits from tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Superb The hotels were excellent Staff were wonderful.

review 28 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our Highland Train experience was fantastic, from beginning to end. Our overnight at Old Pines in Spean Bridge was fantastic, including a first rate dinner and fine breakfast and clean, comfortable accommodations in a scenic setting with trails and historical sights nearby. The steam train ride was a sweet taste of history, with beautiful scenery along the way, seasoned with a bit of coal smoke aroma, taking me back to UK trips as a lad. Skye was quiet, romantic and scenic, and we couldn't have had a better guide than Ronnie, who was knowledgeable and blessed with a great sense of humour. A last note: While one could undertake booking each piece (which we usually do when we travel), this trip calls for so many bits and pieces to be coordinated, it would be quite a challenge, and we are so glad we went with this trip, who made the journey seamless.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

First of all, pack light! Don't worry about dress-up clothes because even the first class meals were casual. Wear or bring comfortable walking shoes if you want to explore trails and sights. Come with an idea of things you really want to see on Skye...your guide will do what he or she can do to accommodate your wishes (we skipped the castle tour, but visited the Talisker distillery, saw many sights and still had time for shopping in Portree).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I am certain that our vacation brought some economic benefit to local people, and by sharing transportation throughout the journey, I think we minimized the environmental impact that touring intrinsically creates.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Our vacation was everything we hoped it would be!

review 20 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The Jacobite train from Fort William to Mallaig. Spean Bridge with the lovely view of Ben Nevis

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack light. Either a backpack or a small cabin sized suitcase that is easy to move between trains and hotels.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I surely hope so. In all the places the food was mainly from the region.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A wonderful vacation and wonderful friendly people in Scotland.

review 24 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beautiful scenery and the very friendly and hospitable people we met.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

There is so much to see and do so consider extending your stay.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It was apparent that throughout the area we visited tourism is an important source of income for the local people. The hotels we stayed at were strong advocates of the use of as much local produce as possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. The vacation was well thought out and organised by the tour operator.

review 12 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Spending two days on The Isle Of Skye, it was so peaceful and tranquil, and everyone was very welcoming too. I would love to have stayed a bit longer, so a return journey will be on my list! The Jacobite Steam Railway was great fun also.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack lightly, and take comfortable walking shoes! There is a lot of traveling on trains etc, so you have to be one step ahead all the time, but it is all very enjoyable. The tour of Skye is well worth doing, the scenery is breath taking.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, any where a little remote will benefit from tourism, as it can be a good source of income.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing! A lot to see in a few days, a little more time to relax would have been nice , but the scenery is quite spectacular, even if the weather isn't at times!

review 15 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Skye

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Hire car or book tour on Skye. Insist on dinner confirmation from hotel on skye and not just from travel company

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 2 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The trip around Skye.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for all weathers.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I would imagine our vacation benefited local people. I don't know how it would reduce environmental impacts or support conservation, but I don't think it did any damage.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. The operator organised everything superbly and gave us very instructive paperwork and maps.

review 26 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The Jacobite Steam Train was the highlight!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Our tour operator made everything so easy. Also be prepared for unpredictable Scottish weather!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I feel it benefitted local people as we stayed at family run accommodation with local staff and local suppliers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. We went for my Dads 70th and we both loved it, it was the ideal trip. Perfectly organised by the team and must mention Ken & family at our accommodation. So helpful & friendly, a relaxing lodge rather than hotel with superb food and drinks.

review 18 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The train journey from Glasgow to Spean Bridge, then the Jacobite steam train from Fort Wiliam to Mallaig. Then the trip round Skye. The views were so beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If possible allow enough days to see everything at a gentle pace.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so. The population of the Highlands depends on tourism for a lot of their income.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good.

review 15 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being able to walk in the inspiring scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

May was a good time to be in Scotland. If taking the steam train, be sure to book first class. The first class carriages were beautifully renovated, but the other carriages were not very good and I would have been very disappointed had I been booked in them.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Since tourism seems to be the main activity I suppose we contributed but using the hotels and visiting attractions.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good.

review 14 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The trip round the island

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Read the operator's response here:

Many thanks indeed Cheryl. We are continually increasing our range of public transport vacations for those who actively choose low-carbon transport. We take the utmost care to choose local business partners who share our values and commitment to sustainable travel, preferring to work with locally-owned and managed businesses wherever possible. Thanks, ZoŽ

review 18 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scenery is stunning. A pity about the weather, but can't be helped!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do prepare for the weather. Wind factor can make it feel even colder. And, as you want to be outside as much as possible, take proper walking type waterproofs, whether you are a serious walker or not, and whatever the forecast!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The vacation benefits local economies, of course. But to think it can actually reduce 'environmental impacts' is preposterous. It also did nothing to support conservation - it was a vacation, for goodness sake!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I really enjoyed it. The weather tried to spoil it, but failed!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies