10 independent reviews for Wildlife vacation in the Isle of Mull, Scotland

Reviews for Wildlife vacation in the Isle of Mull, Scotland

SHOW
6
2
2
0
0

review 20 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The dolphins joining us and riding the bow waves of our boat trip

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Itís quite expensive on the island so be prepared for that. Take suncream and thermals as the weather changes in a heartbeat

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes , all three

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Itís been lovely . We had some delays on our returning ferry but Daniela kept us up to date with info and resources . It was good to know we were looked after so well. The Vamoos app is brilliant and so easy to use

review 26 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whale watching boat trip: we saw loads of fantastic wildlife (including whales!) and the guides were all amazing. The Discover Mull was also brilliant though (just not as lucky with the weather), nothing to fault with either.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Not sure, maybe look up some nice walks around Tobermory for your free day, although we found plenty to do with one day. We did feel it went very quickly so maybe a good idea to try to book a longer stay in the area.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes hopefully, although would be nice for the boat trip not to have used one-use coffee cups. Great local bars and places to eat.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic! Great experience overall and lovely setting. We had some travel nightmares on the way up with our trains but the operator was very helpful and even offered to pay for a taxi for us from Craignure to our B&B. Just too short!

review 6 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our day trip with Sealife Surveys - the most incredible day, saw Minke Whales close up, common dolphins, porpoises, seals, eagles and lots of fantastic seabirds. The guys on this trip were very knowledgeable, and so passionate about wildlife. One of my best experiences ever.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take camera, binoculars. Dont let the weather forecast put you off. Weather changed hourly. Great place to explore

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the best.

review 5 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the wildlife and being able to have it all identified with tour guides

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for a long journey, on a slow train from Glasgow, and for the possibility of ferry cancellations which is why we did need the extra time that was part of the timetable, and at first look was 4 hours waiting in Glasgow

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited local people in terms of tourism. Not sure it reduced environmental impact, except we did not take a car and used public transport. In terms of conservation, awareness of wild life is always good.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic!!

review 19 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The land safari, which was amazing. The guide was really knowledgable and we saw lots of wildlife and such beautiful scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you're a lone traveler and want a vacation with a group, where you get to know others, then don't book this vacation. I was disappointed, as with other wildlife vacations I have got to know people and even made lasting friendships. This time I was on my own the entire time, apart from the land safari. (The whale watching trip was cancelled due to bad weather). Also, the B and B was lovely, but to get to the main street in Tobermory you had to go up and down a very, very steep hill. It would have been much better to have had a car, especially as the whale watching trip was cancelled and I had to find something else to do.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A nice break in a stunningly beautiful place.

review 24 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Relaxing, get away from it all, experience immersing yourself in the Isle of Mull and its landscape and wildlife.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take time to discover Tobermory on foot - walk to the lighthouse and explore the rock pools.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we made the most of using the local opportunities and businesses that actively supported conservation and wildlife.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable, personally-tailored, short break away from city living. Hoping to go again with more of the family.

review 2 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The sea and land safaris and the Tobermory hotel were all memorable for different reasons, but the one that ran through all of them was the excellent level of customer service.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Sea safari - Make sure you are waterproof and wind / cold proof head to foot, even if it seems OK when you leave port things can change in the blink of aneye, so carry gear for ALL weathers. Same advice for land safari, but conditions shouldn't be so potentially severe

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, to a degree. It is nice to be able to help the locals by spending some money through their businesses, and all the companies were eco aware.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We found the friendliness and level of customer service from all involved to be outstanding. A genuine ten out of ten.

review 20 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing a sea eagle for the first time. Also the train journey from Glasgow to Oban

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go with a travel buddy, in order to save on overall costs and to have a backup if your phone stops working the day before you leave (as mine did, so no photos unfortunately).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I wish I could have shared it with someone, or failing that had more opportunity to get to know fellow travelers. Why are there so few organised groups vacations for that part of Scotland in May?

review 3 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scenery was absolutely stunning even if the weather wasn't great but that's the risk with going to Scotland any time of year.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack for all weathers

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as I stayed in local accommodation and used the local tour guides to go to the best places for wildlife spotting.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable and well organised. The Sealife Survey trip out to sea was cut short due to it being too windy but a refund was given very quickly. All tour guides were helpful and knowledgeable. Unfortunately wildlife is unpredictable as is the weather but would definitely go back to try and see the stuff I missed this time around.

review 13 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was all very enjoyable - the Discover Mull excursion was a particular highlight, when we saw golden eagles flying - among a ton of other wildlife!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take sea-sickness tablets if you go on an all-day boat trip (it can get quite choppy), and insect repellent for the evenings.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Supported local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies