8 independent reviews for Tanzania safari and Zanzibar beach vacation

Reviews for Tanzania safari and Zanzibar beach vacation

SHOW
8
0
0
0
0

review 12 Aug 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Safari while at Safari Series in Lolldaiga Conservancy

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go now while it is still small

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the businesses we stayed with our sustainability at the heart of what they do

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Vacation of a lifetime

review 21 Jul 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Undoubtedly the safari, which was wonderful . Although we were not particularly wanting to "tick off" the big five, we saw all of them. Our guide was excellent, committed himself to us for the full day, knew where to go, spotted animals that seemed invisible to us and was very helpful. He was also a very good driver. (Sifuni.) The tented camps were very good - especially Sound of Silence, which had the most wonderful staff (and all the staff were very good), lovely location and very good food. The three different camps we stayed at provided plenty of variety and to see the Olduvai Gorge en route to the Serengeti as well was greatly appreciated. The sight of the wildebeest starting to mass for their migration was the icing on the cake. Incidentally, the three cakes we were given to celebrate our birthdays, plus the singing and dancing made the safari very special indeed!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take plenty of layers for the Ngorogoro Crater, which may be colder than people think. Stay at Sound of Silence. Two nights at the Tarangire National Park, two at the Ngorogoro Crater and three in the Serengeti were perfect. Take your own binoculars. Take more cash than you think for tips, and remember that places do, in fact, take sterling. Mid June was a good time to go. There were not the numbers of people we were expecting and we saw a great deal. Have your own vehicle if you can afford it and avoid open-sided ones because of the dust. Take a buff against the dust and then give it to your guide. Three nights is plenty to see Stone Town in Zanzibar and eat at the Emerson on Harumzi for very good food, wonderful views and some live traditional music. Visit the Princess Salme Museum. In Nairobi, visit the Bomas of Kenya. Excellent.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local people were benefited as they made up the bulk of the staff where we stayed, though managerial posts were usually filled by white people. Environmental impacts were reduced because the tented camps did not have a permanent appearance and could be removed fairly easily if necessary. They also used solar power and were careful with water and the use of plastics.Where possible, local produce was used, though this is obviously difficult in for eg the Serengeti! The beach hotel in Zanzibar used traditonal building materials and traditonal building styles and were quite happy (as we were) with bush babies in the roof of the central area!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful. We have given the tour operator feedback on two hotels which we would not use again, and made alternative suggestions. We were impressed at their policy of contacting us to get our feedback; they listened carefully and said they would act upon it.

review 30 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the wildlife in three different parks.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

1. Take a couple of days to recover from the flight in - do some local trips in Arusha. 2. We underestimated the cold at Ngorogoro - either stay in a lodge or take more warm clothes. We were limited for luggage 15kg in total due to light aircraft, but we could have got away with a bit more!!!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely! It was fabulous to be looked after by Tanzanians in Tanzanian businesses!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was great - we felt like wed been away for ages and had so many adventures.

review 9 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The wildlife - both on safari and in the marine park. The animals are just going about their day and you're watching the whole show unfold in front of you.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I was worried about days without electricity but it really wasn't an issue. Our two teenagers never even missed their phones. My husband never had to check in with work. Bring books! Be prepared to relax.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we were always with locals. All of the staff seemed genuinely pleased to be working at such amazing places. We only ever had solar power, which worked well. I hope we helped support conservation efforts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Every hour was an amazing adventure for the whole family. We spent 10 days enjoying each other and seeing awe-inspiring sights.

review 13 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The wildebeest migration and the overwhelming animal numbers in the Serengeti

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it through Tom who run the vacation company

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes and there were several memos to this effect

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Outstanding and exceeded all expectations

review 13 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole adventure was a brand new experience for us so its very hard to pick the most memorable part, the first time seeing all the wonderful flora and fauna, every safari trip... If I was pushed to pick the absolute favourite part then it was the stay at the Mwagusi camp, a truly magical experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

US Dollars are the most accepted currency. Have plenty of small bills for tips. In Stone Town arrange a guide for your first tour round the town before you head out . Be prepared for more form filling and questions at immigration entry points even if you have the visa in advance.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The safari aspect did help in the conservation area and work for local people, particularly at Mwagusi where they teach and train the staff from the locality at the camp. Less so on Zanzibar although some locals were employed at the hotel and the resort.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was an amazing adventure which would be really hard to find fault with.

review 6 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were so many highlights, but I have to say that our Balloon Safari over the Serengeti was just magical

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Good binoculars will make all the difference, and you'll also want a good zoom lens on your camera to capture the memories.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I feel that the vacation definitely supported conservation and benefited local people, and our guides emphasised the wise old maxim that we should make sure that nothing was taken except photographs, and nothing left behind except our footprints.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic - I know that my whole family will have amazing lifelong memories of a shared magical experience, what more can anyone ask of a vacation?

review 16 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of the safari part and swimming with rescued turtles on Zanzibar.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't go to the Western Serengeti if it is not the 'migration' season. From what we heard out there, probably go in February- March for best safari sights.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - definitely supported conservation. Yes benefitted local people. I am not sure re environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy