29 independent reviews for Finland Northern Lights vacation, Wilderness Auroras

Reviews for Finland Northern Lights vacation, Wilderness Auroras

SHOW
17
12
0
0
0

review 29 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everything! from start to finish

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack wool items. Take loose fitting wool items to put under your suit. The suits come in all sizes so no problem if you are big or small, you will find one to fit. Don't bother bringing gloves or special boots as they provide these.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 2 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Obviously seeing the Aurora was the best part of the vacation however the Husky safari was a big tick off the bucket list.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring a tripod! Hand warmers too!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The vacation supported the local population through our tours and excursions.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was indeed a once in a lifetime experience! Our vacation was the best and something we will never forget.

review 15 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The Northern lights - though husky sledging pretty good and reindeer herding exceeded expectations.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to get cold.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure - certainly contributed to economy which should help local people and environmentally neutral least- I hope.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great!

review 15 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Snowmobiling across a frozen lake lit by the most starry sky I have ever seen.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go for it. An amazing experience.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel was new and must have had a positive impact on the area by opening up so many jobs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A very different vacation. At home we seemed to be experiencing such a long drawn out winter and I seriously wondered why we were going so far north to experience freezing conditions instead of heading for the sun, but it was absolutely worth it. Snowmobiling, dog sledding and snow shoeing were all brilliant ways to experience this pristine wilderness and we saw the most amazing aurora display!

review 1 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Now thatís a tricky one as the whole vacation was fab. But, if I had to choose something on pain of death I would say the husky ride, it was amazing. The dogs are so friendly and very well looked after and the enthusiasm they show when you arrive for your trip is infectious.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is not a glam vacation, leave all your glamour at home. For example donít even think about wearing mascara you come back with panda eyes as the cold freezes your eye lashes, not an attractive look even in the middle of nowhere. Seriously, the main point is to make sure you wrap up warm.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure about benefiting local people as we only met the tour guides. Supporting conservation and reducing environmental impacts I am not sure. I hope so as everything you do is done in a natural environment and hopefully it stays that way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a fab introduction to the World of Cold and the pre vacation staff, staff at the resort, tours were excellent. I am already looking to book my next vacation with Responsible Travel for next year. I was very impressed with their help and guidance. Thanks guys.

review 1 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The day we spent with the Reindeer herder, sitting around the fire drinking coffee outside in the snow covered forest clearing with all the reindeer milling around us. It was so interesting hearing all about Petri's lifestyle, and the Sami culture, a real privilege.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take plenty of layers, especially woollen socks! Take mittens instead of gloves. Be aware that if you are lucky enough to see the Northern lights, they will not necessarily look coloured to the naked eye.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The vacation benefitted local people in terms of employment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was an excellent trip from beginning to end. Very well organised, friendly helpful, knowledgable guides. Comfortable, cosy hotel, exciting excursions, and the weather was fantastic!!!

review 23 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the northern lights every night and husky experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Prepare for the cold! Big baggy thick socks!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Maybe helped locals with the tourism business

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely fantastic trip

review 20 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scenery was outstanding and the friendliness and knowledge of the staff was superb. We really enjoyed the husky safari, but all of the activities (i.e. reindeer safari, snowshoe walks, Kota dinner and snowmobile trips) we excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The arctic kit that was supplied was essential, but also take lots of layers as it gets unbelievably cold in the evening.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Outstanding, despite the fact that we had cloud on all but our last evening so our viewing of the aurora borealis was very limited.

review 22 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The spectacular wilderness of Lapland, exciting activities which involved seeing more of that wilderness and interacting with some of the animals. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at Northern Lights village, seeing the lights, and meeting guides who were local to the area so had great knowledge of the people, flora and fauna.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Choose your activities wisely and book them in advance. Do your research so you know what you hope to get out of the vacation. Listen to the guides - they have a great deal of invaluable local knowledge. Go with an open mind. be as healthy as you can when you go.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I very much hope so and did get that impression. Food and services were local wherever possible it seemed and the training and management of the animals is respectful and responsible. The animals are clearly happy and healthy and where it is feasible, they return to their packs during the summer months.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fabulous.

review 21 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

So many amazing sifts and experiences. We did everything and more than expected. Northern lights were amazing but so were the night time bonfires under the stars, dog sledding, skidooing, snowshoeing, cross country skiing photos on the bridge by the Russian border at night with Anthony and just the beautiful scenery. More light than expected in the day even though the sun did not rise above the horizon. Everything was paid before we went so did not grudge Ä16 per evening for a large glass of chianti with evening meal (except if night skidooing).

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take plenty layers and merino socks. Bring good quality waterproof and warm boots well up the calf in case of very thick snow or slush on the lakes. All wool underwear in thin layers. I wore all my ski gear as well under the allinone suit provided when it was -20C

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it was all worked out to fit in with nature and the local Sami culture. Another highlight was the reindeer farm visit by skidoo and the salmon soup and cheese tiastie lunches by the campfire most days

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing five stars++++

review 19 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of it but the aurora was obviously the highlight

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take lots of layers

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A fantastic experience from beginning to end, the staff at the hotel were extremely welcoming and helpful throughout

review 25 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The auroras which we saw from the hotel lake 3 nights out of 4.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

No need to take many changes of clothes. The atmosphere is very informal and as it is a short vacation, you end up wearing practically the same clothes every day!And the thermal oversuits we were issued with are very warm.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. It was good that we could visit a husky farm and experience the Sami way of living, thus contributing some much needed money to complement the revenue derived from their traditional activities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Magical! Such a beautiful place.The location of the hotel by the frozen lake is stunning and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. (Just one small negative comment from my point of view is that the vacation was a little too rushed due to the variety of activities on offer in such a short space of time. There wasn't enough time, in my view to rest, relax, explore, contemplate and simply be! Why not make it one week instead of 4 days? That would be perfect!!)

review 23 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The morning with Petri and his reindeer was a real authentic Sami/Finnish experience and a real privilege to be with him and be invited into his home. If you fancy getting close up and personal with reindeer there really can't be a better opportunity. But there were also so many other highlights, 3 nights of Aurora was amazing, meeting the huskies and driving a sled through the wilderness and just being in a truly awe inspiring landscape.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do not underestimate the cold. In our 4 nights we had a temp range of -12 to -26 and taking gloves off to take photos can become a real chore. Take plenty of layers and keep them lose fitting not tight (inc 3 pairs of socks at a time). Take hand warmers (for feet as well) and a full face balaclava if possible. The hotel is cosy and the people very friendly but don't have too high an expectation of the accommodation. Rooms can be very basic and there is no choice of meal (except veg option) but the food is hearty and delicious and perfect for the climate. We enjoyed every meal.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it definitely benefited local people, brought money into the area and was positive from an environmental perspective. The only negative would be the snowmobile which kick out exhaust but are great fun to drive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Activities 5* General accommodation 4* Room 3* but our friends had a much nicer room!

review 21 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The husky safari was the most memorable. Seeing the Northern Lights was amazing, but all the activities we did exceeded my expectations.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It feels like a lot of money for a short experience, but it is totally worth every penny. Dress casually around the hotel - no need to pack anything smart. Pack lots of thermal layers and hand/feet warmers (one day it was -24). A good camera and tripod are a must for Northern Lights.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It obviously gave jobs to local people and helped support traditional jobs like reindeer herding. I would be interested to know how environmentally friendly using the snow mobiles was and if the dogs used for sledding are bred/treated responsibly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing. Truly unforgettable, I loved every minute of it.

review 20 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The reindeer farm was a great day out. Then seeing the northern lights which lasted for hours and just got better and better.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just do it. It may seem a great expense but it is very much a once in a lifetime experience.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The local farmers and shops very much depend on us going there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Out of 10, 11!!

review 12 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the lights & huskies.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

As for the final itinerary before you leave

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The locals where incredibly friendly and welcoming to us, so you I think they see a benefit in tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

9/10

review 21 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Having glimpsed the Northern Lights on our first night, although lessened somewhat by the presence of a full and powerfully bright moon, we were happy that we did not have to return without a story to tell. The next two nights though were overcast and there was no further sign of the Aurora. On our last day it snowed, so we were not expecting much from the skies. I was resigned to another dark night. At least we hadn't completely missed the Lights, and the rest of the trip was so enjoyable I was not disappointed with having come. However, around 8.00 pm the skies cleared and what followed was awe-inspiring! We experienced one of the most amazing displays of electrically charged particles the Aurora has to offer ... one of the top three of the season according to our guide.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take no more than two outfits to wear around the lodge (you can get by with just one if you prefer!), and take layers for wearing under the gear provided. Some good thermals and a couple of long sleeved t-shirts will suffice. No one dresses up for dinner, and you never go outside without your warm one-piece suit and boots. You only need to bring one coat to get to and from the airport.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Visiting with the reindeer herder and taking the husky safari were both highlights of the trip, and it was obvious that our presence was a financial bonus to them at a time when they would otherwise have had little work.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a very special trip. Every day was well balanced, with plenty of activities but enough time to relax and do our own thing. Everyone involved was delightful. The hotel, while relatively basic, was clean and comfortable, and the food provided was superb. Our particular group consisted of four couples, and I feel we have made friends for life.

review 17 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The highlight for me was the Aurora. This was made even more special by our night drive on the snowmobiles across the frozen lake to get the best viewing. One of my best experiences ever!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack light and only what you really need. All outdoor wear is provided so you only need base layers. Don't forget to protect any exposed skin, particularly your lips, against the cold.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Overall I would say yes to benefitting local people and is one of the reasons why I chose this particular trip over some others. I can't in all honesty say that the use of the snowmobile had no environmental impact and I did enjoy these myself. However, the reindeer herders also use them so I appreciate that they are a necessary transport for this environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A truely special and educational experience.

review 27 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of the vacation was standing on the middle of a frozen lake watching the northern lights dancing in the sky, magical and breathtaking at the same time.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't expect The Ritz, the hotel is clean and functional and fitting of its environment. Take plenty of thin layers to wear, it gets very cold although I'm sure you'll be expecting that in the Arctic!!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The excursions we took, husky sledging and the reindeer herder were obviously genuine locals letting us into their lives rather than tourist attractions, if we help them to survive in difficult circumstances so much the better.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a fantastic time, a great group of people there at the same time to share the experiences made it even more enjoyable.

review 27 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Even if we hadn't been able to see a wonderful display of the Northern Lights on our last night the variety of the activities and the friendliness of all the people we met, the cold, the setting of the accommodation made this a memorable vacation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack lots of thin layers rather than a smaller number of thicker ones as the outer garments provided were more than sufficient to keep us warm. A pair of silk gloves was also a useful investment. Any questions or concerns just ask a member of staff.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. It was good to meet people, such as the reindeer herder and the husky personnel, who were genuinely interested in the welfare of their animals. We were also impressed with the warm and friendly welcome from all the staff whose livelihood depends to a large extent on outside visitors such as ourselves.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant - it surpassed our expectations and was one of the best short breaks we have done.

review 10 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everything because it was a new experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Let the company do it all for you. Trust your guide.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10 out of 10.

review 7 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Every minute I spent in Finland was truly memory making! To walk in snowy woods along paths through the trees, to hear nothing but the sound of my breath was so soul restoring. Every aspect of the trip was wonderful, the activities were tailored to individual needs, the guides and staff at the lodge were knowledgeable, helpful and good company in every way. All in all it was a truly wonderful winter break in every way. To sum up standing on a frozen lake gazing at a star filled sky at midnight then being blessed with the light show of ones dreams! That's one memorable night! Thank you all who were responsible for making it happen.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy every minute, take plenty of light warm layers and have lots of fun!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As Finland is suffering in this economic climate any thing to bring tourists is a good thing the country is vast and has huge tracks of wilderness so can take more tourist activity done in a sustainable way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 9 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We loved it all, from the shock of the cold when we landed, all of the activities, the people, the landscape, the food, the accommodation and the warm welcome and care of all the staff - truly fantastic.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just get base layers, all you need for the cold is provided.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all of this

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the best vacations we have ever had

review 2 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Catching the northern lights twice! This was just before Christmas night when the moon was shining bright and to be able to capture it all on digital camera despite the freezing -20c temperature on that night.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You have to be fit to be able to enjoy the snowshoeing and crosscountry skiing. Skiing involves quite a bit of your thigh muscles ans so does snowshoeing. The environment was really amazing and serene. Just what l really wanted, a real break from every thing. My mind was so refreshed after this wonderful trip. Don't over pack. I brought way too much winter clothing and could not do much shopping. be prepared to walk.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it certainly did.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This is one my best vacations where l really got a fantstic break in a pristine environment that is so pure. I felt so rejunevated mentally. Even my friends say so. The locals are very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and professional.

review 23 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The morning with the reindeer herder.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

What it says in the brochure is what you get.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely all of the above

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 15 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The organisation and fun of the activities especially the dog sledding, snow mobiling and the reindeer farm trip.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't hesitate to opt in for the activities as the search for the Northern Lights then becomes secondary. Don't rely on seeing them and don't spend hours in a car trying to find them - do the activities and hopefully see them whilst enjoying yourself!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Possibly

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic - one of the best we've ever been on. The scenery and experiences were so much different than I had ever expected

review 8 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the Northern lights and trying out different activities such as cross country skiing, husky dog sledding and riding on on a snowmobile.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The trip dossier gave lots of relevant information, so just relax and have fun.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it did in respect of the environment and that local staff 95% are hired in the hotel.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was fabulous. Lovely resort, great food, friendly and welcoming staff, clean hotel and beautiful countryside. 10 out of 10!!

review 3 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The sheer scale of Lapland and being able to get a feel of how the Sami live (reindeer farming, sledging with huskies, ice fishing). Wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

One good set of thermal underwear and woollen clothing is all that is needed. Excellent cold suit, heavy duty gloves and boots provided. Very relaxed atmosphere so no smart clothing needed. ie Don't spend a fortune on special clothing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly supported local economy - and culture and environment will only survive if visited and valued.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Loved it - first time this far north, and a wonderful way to see in the New Year and our 60th birthdays!

review 21 Jan 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The entire trip was a great experience! From the moment you land to the last day was very enjoyable. And the itinerary was very well planned even for single traveler like me.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The package provided and dossier are very informative and has covered almost all the information.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies