23 independent reviews for Sweden activity vacation, Stockholm countryside

Reviews for Sweden activity vacation, Stockholm countryside

SHOW
17
6
0
0
0

review 13 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There are so many highlights. The scenery is incredible we saw quite a lot of wildlife and loved getting to know the Swedish culture. Probably enjoyed the hike day the most but we have lots of great take away moments. We did get lucky with the weather too.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax and go with it, everything is really well organised and everything will work out. Also lots of places don't take cash. We had previously set up a travel bank card just by chance and it was very helpful to reduce fees. Finally the season slows at lot at the end of August do an early September trip can mean some things are closed but we didn't feel it was a disadvantage.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Everywhere we stayed was a local business where we spoke to local people which felt really positive. Because we were out of season we were also supporting places that perhaps would have had mang customers, although it also meant slightly more driving than I think the tour normally has.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, wasn't anything we would change. We added some days in Stockholm and kept the bikes which worked really well.

review 19 Aug 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The day canoeing was through some incredible scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Come equipped for all weathers and you need reasonable fitness.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefitted local businesses as it used small B&Bs and local companies to provide services. Whilst we were traveling under our own power, our luggage was couriered around, so I feel any environmental benefits are marginal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An excellent vacation, well organised, with some fantastic hosts and places to stay. A very enjoyable time and would recommend.

review 17 Aug 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Canoeing on the lakes was very memorable, and something it would not have been easy to arrange on our own. A rainstorm made it all the more exciting! We enjoyed it all and really appreciated that all the sporting activities and equipment were ready for us to just go and enjoy.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for some rain. Bring your own bike seat cover if you want a little more padding. We used our cell phone's mapping apps (ie. googlemaps) a few times when we were uncertain of our location.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Our overnight accommodations were with local business people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent! Carmen was extremely organized and provided us with all the information and support we needed. It was a wonderful way to see parts of Sweden we would never have seen. Although some days were a little physically challenging for us (at ages 64 and 69), it was doable because we didn't do the same activity every day and there were some options for shorter routes.

review 10 Aug 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The sunset when camping. Also the canoeing was amazing. It was just great to see so much of the Swedish countryside and we stayed in some amazing accommodation. As well as the camping the B&B run by Anders and Nette was beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take mosquito repellent and long socks/trousers for the walking and camping. You probably need a fair degree of fitness but both me and my daughter who don't cycle regularly managed it. Take padded cycling shorts or a gel seat cover though.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we stayed in local accommodation or camped. We also either walked, canoed or cycled and recycling was actively encouraged and supported on the trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was great. It was very well organised and Carmen was lovely and very helpful. It was very active but well planned so that a days canoeing was followed by walking then cycling which helped recovery. I would never have seen so much of the Swedish countryside or stayed in such lovely Swedish towns without this trip. Would definitely recommend it. We really enjoyed it, had a lovely but challenging time and met some lovely people.

review 10 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We loved all of it!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Itís an amazing trip, we understood what to expect and donít really have tips other than to do it if you like outdoor adventure and plenty of exercise.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It definitely benefitted the local people and hopefully also reduced environmental impacts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Top notch, one of the best vacations weíve had!

review 30 Aug 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Beautiful countryside, canoeing on wilderness lakes, swimming in lake Malaren

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You need to be pretty fit! We took our 12 and 14 year old who managed it, but the distances are quite challenging and lifting the canoes in and out of the water on day 3 required 2 strong people at least. Water shoes would have been helpful as there are lots of stones that make this part a bit painful!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. It felt very environmentally sustainable to travel by Ďhuman powerí (biking, canoeing) for four days.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Carmen was so helpful and informative and we got to experience a real taste of rural Sweden in just a few days. The only thing that might have been improved was the accommodation in Malby which didnít match up to the standard of the other places, though the host was delightful and we really enjoyed chatting with him.

review 26 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The canoing and camping part - the stay in the manor house

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You need to be quite fit to follow the itinerary

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent organisation - Carmen always available to support us answer our questions

review 3 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Stunning scenery particularly lakes. All very calm.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Activities great fun but strenuous. Not suitable for younger children. Waterproof phone holder useful for canoeing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly supported local people and supported conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great. Fantastic way to see the area. Lovely places to stay. Directions at times a little challenging..

review 10 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The canoeing across the beautiful lakes.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure that you are organised and work as a family team.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, as concerns money from tourism, it was a 'green' trip in that we didn't have to drive as per most previous vacations.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - we also enjoyed the good food, the theme park, the many museums of Stockholm and scootering around as a family.

review 20 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

First time to Sweden - loved the Vasa Museum, loved how clean and beautiful the country is. The mixed activities worked really well - Canoe was probbaly the highlight but hiking in a thunderstorm close second!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We booked with this operator and they looked after everything very well

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think our enveronmental vacation footprint was less than if we'd tried to arrange this ourselves and we certainly stayed in some small welcoming private B&B's

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic - the operator exceeded our expectations as did Sweden generally - we'll be back and we'd look to Responsible Travel again.

review 24 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We had an amazing time - Stockholm is beautiful and so cool and the food amazing. The best part was our kayaking in deserted lakes from near Mariefrec - the peace and tranquility combined with the beauty of the countryside was simply incredible and the water in the lakes like a lovely warm bath. The trip hosted by the wonderful Carmen from a local operator, combining a couple of nights in Stockholm and then 4 nights in the countryside kayaking, mountain biking, walking and boat tripping was a fabulous success for my family including two teenage kids who are eager to return. Thank you responsible travel and the operator we had an absolute blast.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Love every minute and enjoy the space, and sense of enormous well being and beauty of the people. On a practical level avoid buying bottles of wine in restaurants as wine est tres expensive...

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in glorious hotels and wonderful local b&bs - in the countryside we felt we were contributing massively to the local economy as there were very few other people around.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic - the variety was incredible - from Stockholm to mariefred then down to Gniesta via a nights wild camping and then on to Troisa - fabulous activities and great hospitality especially at the Stattshotel in Troisa - we loved it all and in the future will be looking to explore further north in Sweden

review 24 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We are a family of 4 and spent 2 weeks in August 2018 in Sweden. The first and main section was the multi-activity adventure. We then spent 4 nights in Stockholm and a further 4 nights on Uto island. All were organised superbly by Carmen. It is difficult to identify one highlight but it is probably a combination of the canoeing over the stunning lakes and hiking through the wilderness with camping in between.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack for all weathers. On the whole we had beautiful sunny days but also a spot of rain. We all wore decent trainers and they were fine for the activities. It is essential to at least have a modicum of fitness. Although the activities are certainly not overly challenging, you do feel you have earned your supper in the evening.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely - it was a very 'green' vacation and only local, independent businesses were used for accommodation, canoe hire etc. It all felt a long way from big chains and mainstream tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

First class and that is down to a combination of Carmen and the beauty of Sweden. I cannot recommend this adventure highly enough. If in any doubt, book it! From first contact, Carmen could not have been more helpful or pleasant to deal with. All queries were dealt with promptly and patiently. The organisation throughout was faultless and like a military operation! Thank you so much Carmen and to Sweden for a memorable vacation - we will definitely be back.

review 7 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Great camping spot beside the lake. Wonderful stay in B and B in Malby. Personal service and advice from Carmen

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a free walking tour in Stockholm. Ask Carmen if you want to add on any extras and she will give excellent advice

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used a local company for canoe hire and stayed in some small hotel/B and Bs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great introduction to Stockholm and the surrounding area. Thanks to Carmen for all her help.

review 30 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Watching the sun set over the lake on the wild camping night after a wonderful day of canoeing.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go to Sweden! Itís so spacious and empty compared to the usual European destinations. If you are reasonably fit and want variety then chose the multi activity tour. Incredibly well organised by Carmen who made sure that we ,and our luggage, arrived in the right place at the right time!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes , it was great to stay at small family run B&Bs - different place every night. Throughout there was an emphasis on leaving no trace on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent!

review 22 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking on the lakes

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack a watertight phone bag for the kayaking day - the kayaks are two person open metal hull types. Make sure you have a charged phone for the trekking day- we got lost and needed to use Google maps.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes hopefully so

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A real experience-packed itinerary - beautiful countryside, friendly people and delicious food - we had a heatwave so the trekking was seriously hardwork but the cycling and kayaking thoroughly enjoyable. Loved all the Lake swimming and had no problem with mosquitos and ticks - think that was luck !

review 8 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The canoe trip, down through the wilderness lakes . Definitely the trip for you if you want to get away from it all.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It is quite physical, so you do need a certain level of fitness. We were very lucky with the weather - end of June/ beginning of July. We took plenty of insect repellent - but didn't need it! Make sure you have a mobile phone that works, in case you need to contact support. We needed to and the response from Carmen was swift and issues were sorted quickly. We also arrived in Stockholm a few days before so had opportunity to explore the city before getting away from it all. Rather than using public transport we did most of our exploring on foot

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A great way to see a country and meet local people and get an understanding of swedish way of life.

review 3 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Canoying in the lake, despite the raining wather, and the swimming in the warm water in the following.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't forget padded pants for the bycicle. Keep your bike and have a bike tour in the park in Stockholm the day you come back from the trip

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing, a very good idea to explore Swedish country

review 11 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

jumping in the lake for a cool off after a long day canoeing

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack for all weathers and bring good walking boots

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We camped in local state camping areas, used a local canoeing company and used our own manpower to get about by biking, canoeing and walking.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Had a great vacation. After busy days there was always a great place to stay and good food to eat. It was well planned and thought through and Carmen smoothed it all along nicely.

review 5 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The day canoeing and camping it really felt like a wilderness adventure even though you are really not far from Stockholm.. We were lucky with the weather.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The activities are quite tiring, though you can cut the walking and cycling short (we did on the walking day). The walking and cycling distances don't sound much but the walking is quite up and down and some of the cycling is on gravel tracks so you don't go very fast. You might want cycling gloves or similar to use for the canoeing and cycling and we had padded cycling shorts for the cycling which we appreciated given how bumpy some of the gravel tracks were. Eating out and alcohol (especially in restaurants) is quite expensive so plan accordingly.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the accommodation was with locally run hotels or B&Bs and the modes of travel have low impact. It is possible that more could be done to recycle the containers for the packed lunches or else use less plastic containers. Having said that more than enough food was provided for the packed lunches.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was very good. It was certainly quite tiring but very enjoyable. It was well organised and Carmen was very helpful.

review 30 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The week of touring Sweden's countryside on our own with some support was amazing, breathtaking and so enjoyable! Carmen was welcoming, informative and very organised. The equipment, support and food provided was high quality and suited to our needs. The mountain bikes with panniers and map carriers were very easy to use and lock up at various stops, tent and camping gear was top notch, BnB's fabulous with fantastic hosts. Carmen transported our luggage daily with no hassles while we rode, paddled or walked to our next destination. Maps and notes were provided at the beginning of our trip that were detailed and informative. The highlight was the day canoeing the freshwater lakes, stopping for lunch at a remote location with a picnic lunch provided and then camping beside the last lake in a tent that was already set up. To top this day off we picked fresh raspberries to eat with the feast that was provided for dinner. Nothing was too much trouble, difficult dietary needs were accommodated, every thing ran smoothly from day one to finish. Every day was immensely enjoyed, a week full of activity that was completed at our pace.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you love off the beaten track locations and visiting local places then book this vacation! The variety of activities allowed us to do and see so much and gave us opportunities to use different muscles daily. Pack nicks (bike pants if you are delicate!) for the riding day, suncream and mozzie spray a must. And a good camera as the views are amazing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As we walked, rode or paddled every day and stayed in local BnB's this vacation really benefits the local communities and reduces carbon emissions. The only time a small car was used was to transport our luggage and this was combined with other guests traveling the opposite direction.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic! This week was one of an 8 week European adventure for us visiting 12 countries and was by far a front runner in value for money, experiences and attention to detail. Well done Carmen on offering such a great experience that suited our needs and level of fitness.

review 15 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Canoeing down the lakes from Mariefred. Wonderful scenery, great fun, swimming off rocks and picnicking on the lakeside.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do some cycling and walking before you go, to get your muscles in a bit of shape. Also - ladies especially - take with you, or ask for, a gel saddle pad as the bike saddles are quite hard!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We spent money locally, especially on food and used a lot of public transport or our own muscles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was fantastic - a really good way of seeing a country and having fun at the same time. And perfectly organised.

review 10 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Loved it all. All trails were easy to follow and really beautiful. We had a great time. The accommodation selected by Carmen was all of a very high quality, and provided an excellent taste of real Sweden. This was a perfect vacation for a fairly active family with 12 and 15 year olds. The days are fairly active, so book thIs if you want an active week.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

There was a bit of wet weather around although we got fairly lucky, so pack appropriately. We didn't take walking boots for the hiking day, a good pair of waterproof trainers is enough. Make sure you have enough time in Stockholm, it is worth it. We also booked a follow up week on the island of Uto, which was fantastic, so maybe consider this if you want another week.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we stayed in small bed and breakfasts, and Swedish owned hotels in Stockholm.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very highly, if you are active and want a well planned mix of cycling, kayaking and walking in the depths of the Swedish countryside then go for it. A good vacation for families with teenagers

review 4 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Visiting the archipelago

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If cycling invest I'm gel saddle covers - amazon do some £3-4! Carry water snacks & fruit

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable, the operator (Carmen) couldn't have done more, from the moment I started organising it 'til we left Sweden.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy