37 independent reviews for B&B self drive tour of Tasmania, meet the locals

Reviews for B&B self drive tour of Tasmania, meet the locals

SHOW
23
10
3
1
0

review 1 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Wildlife and scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Purchase a good road map and "Tasmania's national parks and reserves including 60 Great Short Walks".

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all three. All the people we dealt with through the operator were conservationally minded.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Best vacation ever!!!

review 1 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The overwhelming beauty that Tasmania has to offer - pristine wilderness combined with outstanding food and wine - friendly and generous people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take advantage of using this professional service to plan your vacation - they will exceed your expectations

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were definitely made aware of the importance of protecting our environment and supporting those that are putting in a huge effort to protect our most valuable resources.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Simply excellent

review 26 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Bruny Island and its wildlife was special as was Maria Island. The national parks also were always a delight. Hobart is also special.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Use the tour operator we used for guidance and ideas and where to stay.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes defenitely

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Outstanding - Ten out of ten and a gold star

review 7 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We spent almost 4 weeks in Tasmania and had a wonderful time every day. Each area was different and we did so many varied activities that it is impossible to compare them. However, we loved the hiking that we did in every place we went despite the inclement weather. The food was delicious and if one has a chance to eat a dinner at B&B prepared by the host, do it. The meals we had were absolutely delicious and we often ate with other guests.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you plan on hiking you should be prepared for rain and bring rain pants, rain coats, and even a very warm coat. We had lots of rain, some sleet and even a bit of snow.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing. We were sorry when it was time to come home.

review 26 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everything! This was an amazing vacation of a lifetime, superbly organised by the tour operator with excellently chosen accommodation, locations and no-hassle car hire. Fine weather added to the delight but Tassie is friendly, bags to do and a haven for nature lovers, peace and quiet (with adventures if you're an adrenalin junkie!)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book through the tour operator we used! Susie treats you as an individual and will bespoke your trip wthout hassle. Go for a mix of eco retreats and de-luxe accomodation to get the full experience. The itieray pack is comprehenisve and easy to understand and follow. Hire a car using Susie's recommendation as it covers absoutely everything with no unexpected 'add-ons; when you arrive at the airport.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely. All accommodation owners were passionate about tourism and protecting the natural environment. Some of the places we used were off-grid and run by couples wh cared deeply about protecting wildlife and rain forests.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant! Despite the long journey it's very tempting to consider another trip. Tourism is still relatvely low key, roads are quiet and towns, villages are small but it's a fascinating mix of wilderness and new cultures. Just go!

review 5 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Maria Island walking trip, Pumphouse Point, the wildlife, the Flinders Island experience at Rob and Lorraine’s Partridge Farm, Sean’s pork belly at Jackey’s Marsh Wilderness Retreat....the local food and wine throughout the trip was lovely.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Work out how you want to spend your time - whether it be walking, seeking out wildlife, beaches, food and drink - and Susie will plan a trip accordingly.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we stayed at many wilderness retreats which were eco friendly and consumed predominantly locally produced food and wine!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A fantastic trip made so by Susie from the tour company who knows the remote and special places to visit.

review 4 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The Arthur River

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ensure you include the North West of Tassie in your itinerary. The Tarkine is magnificent and may be in trouble from greedy people.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefitted locals, yes. Unfortunately most forms of tourism have an impact on the environment but many of the places we went to and the guides we used are minimising their impact on the environment and supporting conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Stupendous. the best ever.

review 27 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Great food, wine and stunning scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The biggest error for most travelers to Tasmania is to only spend a week to 10 days traveling around Tasmania. Tasmania has so much to see, do yourselves a favour and stay longer. You will be rewarded with the many different places/experiences that Tasmania has to offer.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much so. We stayed in many ecologically based accomodation eating local foods and minimising our footprint.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fabulous, would go back in a heartbeat!

review 23 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Susie from the vacation company organised a varied and interesting itinerary for us, providing great accommodation at different places around the island. Memorable days included a Forest Lodge Walk with a an expert in ecology, an historical stay at the atmospheric Brickendon Estate, opportunities to get up close to native animals and bird life, golf on an old farm course...very different, the Wall - a magnificent 100 metre carving, meeting and staying with island residents and enjoying stunning scenery and coastlines.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do some research before you begin having conversations with the travel advisor and be clear what your interests are so that a customised itinerary can be tailored to best suit your needs.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in small hotels and B&B accommodation, used local experts and wildlife reserve guides, ate local specialities, used a very good guide on 60 Great Short Walks to cut down on car usage and learned about a variety conservation projects.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - we would highly recommend it.

review 14 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Every day was the same: exposure to fantastic flora, fauna, people, geology, architecture, weather... There were no let downs as we worked our way through an amazing itinerary.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We included a couple of days in Melbourne as we adjusted to the time change and Sydney at the closure of our trip. Both were fabulously interesting. We would suggest others to include such visits and booking it in a small hotel in the middle of the city so that walking and use of the excellent public transportation is practical and makes life less stressful. The Sydney visit included a tour of the Opera House which for us was really special.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We think that the visits to the conservation areas will add to the interest and funding of more such efforts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Five starts for Susie and the people she helped us get to know.

review 8 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We loved everything about our Tasmania drive trip. We especially enjoyed the boat ride on the Tasman Coast. We had a perfect, clear day. We enjoyed all the animal life, national parks, people and the B&Bs. The entire trip met our expectations and we were very pleased.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We worked with Susie and were able to come up with an itinerary for the time we had and places we wanted to visit. It worked great. Susie had everything ready for us and kept in touch.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all of the above. Australia is a very clean country and we respected everything they asked us as tourists to do.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a fantastic vacation and trip and we did get to see lots of Tasmania in a week. Driving was easy and the directions Susie sent made it very easy to get around. Thanks We would highly recommend this way of travel. We like to do drive on our own trips and not bus trips with lots of other travelers. This was perfect for us. It gave us enough free time our own to do exploring and walking. We will plan another trip this way.

review 6 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We enjoyed it all, but Bruny Island was outstanding

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book it for a longer time at least 2 weeks!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it did, we felt we were contributing to the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excelant

review 22 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting other travelers and the wildlife.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

To take more time. We were limited to the length of time we could take and felt we had just scratched the surface.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt we were supporting tourism and gaining an insight into the projects supporting endangered species. The eco lodges we visited were examples of energy conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic if a little short. Would definitely return.

review 20 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walking at lake st claire

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bushwalk as much as possible

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I appreciate the effort Susie made to fulfill all those criteria, and I was very impressed with the environmental awareness we encountered, particularly with the Maria Island cruise.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good

review 17 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Wineglass Bay and Gordon River Cruises as we got to meet the locals

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ensure it is a B&B vacation as we were disappointed we only stayed 3 nights at a B&B out of 11 nights. Not what the trip was marketed as.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not entirely

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We were disappointed that we only had 3 nights B & B out of 11 nights when we had booked a self drive B & B meet the locals. One of the accommodations had a moldy bathroom and another had no self catering and did not provide a restaurant. Overall most of the accommodation was of an excellent standard and allowed us to prepare breakfast self catering as it was not B & B. We were disappointed we did not get to meet the locals in their homes as we expected. Some of the reception staff we encountered were not keen to share local knowledge which we would most likely have obtained in the expected trip. I have done multiple tours where responsible travel is practiced by the tour companies (buying local, using local suppliers, employing locals, charitable involvement) which I don't feel this tour represented that as we didn't stay with locals much.

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Penny Thank you for taking the time to make these comments. I am concerned that you found some elements of your trip disappointing. Although I use many B&Bs on the island – I am the only travel company that does - unfortunately there are no quality B&Bs in many parts of Tasmania’s wilderness and national park areas that you chose to visit, and in fact none at all in a couple of the areas. In addition some B&Bs only have double rooms so they weren’t suitable for you and your mum, hence I recommended the accommodation that I felt to be most suitable. I can promise you that all the accommodation I use is very carefully chosen for being privately owned if not family-run, well located in places that have very little alternatives and give guests the chance to enjoy as many local experiences as possible; and are value for money while falling within a client's budget. I almost always get extremely positive reviews by my clients and if ever there are negative comments I take them on board immediately and follow up very thoroughly, and I will certainly stop booking anywhere that isn't up to standard. Please do let me know where the bathroom was mouldy and I will investigate immediately as that is not acceptable, likewise where you say locals weren’t happy to share information, which is also very un-Tasmanian! I am going to be spending several weeks in Tassie myself shortly, as I do every year, to carry out my annual quality control checks and I will take all your comments very seriously. Please do email me in more detail if you would like to add any further comments that I could follow up on. I do my very best to give a clear indication on my lengthy itineraries of what to expect. The itinerary description on the Responsible Travel website does states that the accommodation comprises of B&Bs, self catering wilderness cabins and convict cottages. I send out itineraries that are as comprehensive as possible well in advance with lots of useful information about the type of accommodation that has been booked, with web links, and ask my clients to read through them carefully especially the ‘need to know information’ so they have the chance to see exactly where they will be staying and what additional provisions may be required. I am always happy to make some alternative suggestions to an itinerary if I am made aware that some of it might not have been as expected. If you feel I can be any more detailed in this way I am happy to try and do so. The ‘meet the locals’ refers to the wildlife as much as the people and I hope you had the chance to meet both. I heard from one of your B&B owners that you were lucky enough to see a Tasmanian devil in the wild which is a real bonus. You will be happy to know that my company makes a substantial annual donation to the Tasmanian Land Conservancy Fund every year and also to the Save the Orange-Bellied Parrot Fund so you can rest assured that in addition to supporting local operators, your trip will have contributed to some desperately needed causes which will help conserve the local and critically endangered flora and fauna. I do hope you have some lovely memories of Tasmania. I was delighted to receive your email during your trip saying you were having a fantastic time so clearly there were some very positive elements to it as well. Thank you again for taking the time to send a review. Susie

review 10 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was amazing!! We had originally planned to rent a cooper van but Susie recommended a self drive and prebooked accommodation. She asked what we would like to see and I said historic places, wilderness areas, animals, birds and sea life and she planned the trip around that. It was all memorable and exciting: Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary, Harpers on the Beach B&B, Tasman Island Cruise, Port Arthur Historic Site, Freycinet Retreat, Devils in the Dark, Arthur River Cruise, Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village, Launceston B&B Retreat.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We are from Canada and I was worried about driving on the wrong side of the road but despite the fact that we traveled over 1000 K over 2 weeks I had no problems. The traffic was minimal and the drivers mostly curteous. We were provided with very detailed route directions but still found the use of a gps important as many of the roads and streets are not obviously marked.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tasmania has a wonderful local feeling with everyone promoting products from their own areas and since there is such an abundance of local handicrafts, produce and seafood, their are lots of choices. The self drive car we were given was a compact VW but efficient, automatic, and great to drive. The route planned by Susie covered almost all the places we wanted to see and protection of the animals and environment and conservation was obvious in all the venues.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I have traveled the world for the past 50 years and this is my most interesting and rewarding vacation to date.

review 5 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The entire trip was superb total immersion in wildlife contact amongst friendly inspiring people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't rush around. Talking to local people is fascinating. The wildlife experiences are magical and let the wildlife come to you.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We learnt a lot about government policy and attitude to conservation. It inspired many debates.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely what we wanted. Learnt a lot about conservation. Stayed in tranquil surroundings. Saw lots of wildlife and met interesting people.

review 2 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the sparkle back in my wife's eyes again.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We left time in between booked tours to wander around the local area. Highly recommend this idea.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We only shopped locally, especially the souvenirs. So hopefully we supported the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 29 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting our hosts and guides

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Contact our tour operator, she has been fantastic in arranging our trip.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic experience Tasmania is a brilliant place to visit, great diversity in landscape and wildlife.

review 25 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting local people, enjoying the local food and understanding the history of the location.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Planning is key. Good to plan optional places to eat and visit. If unsure of local roads / directions, get a GPS.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, for sure.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 19 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Close encounters with wildlife and wonderful scenery. Accommodation was superb.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Consider staying at Cradle Mountain for a couple of days as weather can be bad at the mountains and longer stays offer a better opportunity for good views.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, would definitely recommend to other travelers.

review 8 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Overland track. Normally we like to do independent self guided walking but we were so glad that we did the guided Cradle Huts walk for a number of reasons. The accommodation is great, this really was walking the Overland in luxury with most stuff provided for you, very helpful check lists at the start etc. We were also lucky with a very nice group of people but when walking you never felt rushed or crowded in any way. A huge shout out though to the guides Joel and Vito who were superb in looking after everyone. These guys work incredibly hard, moving stuff each day, doing superb cooking every evening etc but again it was their knowledge of the path, landscape and wildlife that made such a difference. Vito on occasion would stop and take a photo himself which says it all. This was a real highlight of the vacation, no cars, no roads, no internet at true wilderness in awe inspiring scenery with superb variety each day including the weather! Amazing views wherever you looked.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

For us in visiting Australia for the first time deciding where to go with only 3 weeks available was tough. Best to concentrate on one area. Sydney and Tasmania turned out to be a perfect combination of big city buzz and then the superb open spaces of Tasmania.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in particular, the conservation of the Cradle Mountain National Park.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Recommend Tassie. Why go to Tasmania? Possible to get an overview of the island in 2 weeks, but longer would be better. In no particular order scenery, open spaces, wildlife, Hospitality/wine and food, climate. In one word ,variety. You never knew what was around the corner.

review 18 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our trip was planned with the great advice and assistance of Susie de Carteret from the vacation provider. "Most" memorable really does not apply for us. Each stop and tour had its own value and memories, all notable for a variety of reasons.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book with Susie, stay in Tassie at least 2 weeks, don't hesitate to stay longer if possible.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The way each stop was organized and the ecological values of the citizens and government of Tasmania make it difficult NOT to benefit both the economy and the ecology.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Outstanding! Not a low point in 16 days. Regarding the star rating below , again , we don't think along the lines of "best" or "favourite", so can't check 5 stars , BUT we DO consider it a 5 star vacation!

review 2 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The total experience was great. No most memorable as all first rate.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Leave it to Susie once you give general guidelines.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes but not greatly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Great choice of accommodation and activities.

review 15 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Difficult to pick only one. Time spent in Stanley was magical, especially if you count the Arthur River cruise. What a beautiful place. Such lovely people hosting us in each B&B that we stayed in, each with their own ways of expressing warmth and attentiveness.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Definitely go via this vacation provider. We were referred to Susie via Responsible Travel and she made the vacation stress free with her amazing knowledge of local attractions and accommodation.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes indeed. We stayed away from corporate lodgings (except once and that was our fault). The Forest Lodge for example uses totally sustainable power and is a great example of how you can live off the grid without sacrificing comfort (or great food!)

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Truly excellent. We are already thinking about how and when we'll be going back.

review 22 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We had many unforgettable experiences, but probably the most memorable was the visit to Rosemary & Sean Norwood at Forest Walks Lodge. It was the combination of: what an 'eco' lodge can be, good food, and an excellent guided walk.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do not lose your passports two days before you are due to travel. Susie managed to rebook for us at very short notice. Her performance was outstanding and we are very grateful. Make sure she knows exactly what you are looking for and she will do everything she can to fit it in.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all three questions in a small way. Apart from Hobart we stayed in B&B's and felt we were making a contribution directly into the local community. We also felt that they were doing all they can to operate with minimum impact on the environment. In addition Susie makes a contribution directly to the "Tasmanian Land Conservancy".

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Tasmania has a lot to offer and as we said before we have many unforgetable memories. We could have spent more than the four weeks we were there.

review 17 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was all fantastic and memorable - so varied and interesting with all the different activities we wanted to do. We absolutely loved visiting Mountain Valley Wilderness Retreat and seeing the wildlife there and the nearby Leven Canyon was fabulous and delightfully uncrowded with walks and wonderful views. Flinders Island was a brilliant place to unwind at the start of our vacation and the Three Capes Track was the icing on the cake at the end with spectacular cliff scenery and paths and accommodation so well thought out. On Flinders Island we explored, climbed a mountain, swam in the sea, walked on deserted beaches, saw a wide variety of wildlife, stayed on friendly Partridge Farm, relaxed and ate delicious food! We spent New Year at Corinna where we were able to discover the beauty, peace and quiet of the rainforest and explore by canoe and kayak and on foot. We had an amazing flight down to the South West Wilderness with Par Avion tours which was a very special day out. We visited the wildlife sanctuary at Bonorong where we had a personal welcome and tour and saw incredible tall trees and waterfalls in Mount Field National Park. We saw penguins in Stanley and had the most wonderful cruise on the Arthur River aboard the MV George Robinson during which we learnt a lot about the rainforest from our guide. We packed so much into our twenty days in Tasmania - it was truly wonderful - and everywhere we went, we found people very friendly and helpful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Susie has lots of ideas and knows some wonderful places to stay. We had several discussions at some length to make sure we got a vacation that suited us and our interests and budget! I would say it is worth taking time to look at the websites of the places she recommends that you might visit and do a little of your own research to help her tweak the vacation so that it really is tailor made to your requirements, for example we decided to spend three nights at Corinna rather than two and to miss out Cradle Mountain with its many tourists in preference for more remote and less visited areas. When traveling to different places, Susie's directions are very good. Food is quite expensive but petrol is cheap.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because we bought a Parks Pass and spent a lot of time in the National Parks. We also left the car behind and spent three days walking the Three Capes Track which is run by the National Parks with "Eco-lodge" accommodation. We visited and therefore contributed to the Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary which runs conservation projects. The places we stayed were run by local people and we supported local businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This vacation was a special one to celebrate our sixtieth birthdays and it fulfilled all our hopes and dreams. I would like to give it 5 stars. The only reason I haven't is that I am fortunate enough to have been on a couple of other amazing, if quite different, vacations in my lifetime and so I can't honestly say it is simply the best but I can say it is definitely one of the best!!

review 18 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Can't decide between taking a rainforest walk at Jackeys Marsh, sitting on the deck of our lodge at Freycinet morning and evening or seeing the wombats on Maria Island.....

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Explore as much as you can. Take the small roads and enjoy the adventure. Go Eco.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

By staying with locals in smaller accommodation we got to know the hosts well and appreciated their local projects.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. A lovely range of stops around the East and Central areas of Tasmania. Thank you for listening to our wishes and organising accordingly.

review 13 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cradle Mountain NP & Beauty Point Cottages.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Need to allocate at least 2full days for Cradle Mountain NP. Spend minimum 2 nights at Beauty Point Cottages. Great hosts!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Mildly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 8 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Traveling around

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring appropriate clothes for all weather and decent hiking gear

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 26 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cradle mountain

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The vacation provider changed itinerary without discussion and expected us to spot it in the supplied detailed itinerary. We did not and it ruined the first part of our vacation. One site had bridge construction going on from October which spoiled our birds and mammal viewing in that area. Research the sites and book yourselves as it would work out less expensive and you are in control of the itinerary.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The vacation supported conservation and I guess some money went to the locals, Most monetary benefits went to the travel agent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I would certainly do it differently if I were to do it again. I will not use a travel agent and would give strong consideration using a motorhome or a car and arrange accommodation myself.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Abraham I was very troubled to receive the review of your vacation which has been forwarded to me for comments by Responsible Travel. From the tone of your WhatsApp message sent on day two of your trip I was not entirely surprised, although I am perplexed by your comments, as are your hosts. Your comments certainly require a full response. You and I planned your itinerary in close consultation over the course of a great many emails, phone calls and messages. As with all my guests' itineraries, I created it to your specific criteria which was to see as many mammals and birds as possible and enjoy landscapes and photography, all within a week long period. Hence I arranged for you to stay in a number of places including two private 'Land for Wildlife' reserves that are little known but consistently cited as being absolutely outstanding highlights for my visitors to Tasmania. This is apparent by the many reviews that can be seen on the Responsible Travel website, and many more referencing my services elsewhere. To address your comment on point 2; in my very first email I gave you a number of ideas and options, which were whittled down by you over the course of a fortnight, and you also took independent advice from your friend who had spent a long time in Tasmania. You were anxious to keep the price as low as possible, which I entirely appreciate and I did my very best to accommodate this without compromising on your experience. We discussed the motorhome option, which I do not provide, and you agreed with my view that it was not necessarily cheaper nor would it give you the same type of experience. We eventually agreed on accommodation and tours that you were happy with. I sent your final itinerary by email on 20 October, a total of 15 pages, which was some two months prior to your trip allowing plenty of time for any queries or amendments, and subsequently a hard copy by post on 14 November with accompanying maps and brochures including a detailed nature and walking guide produced by the Tasmanian Parks & Wildlife service. At no point did I (or would I) make a change to your itinerary as you have claimed. If requested, I would have been more than happy to make any changes or give any further advice. Your WhatsApp message to me on day two of your itinerary accused me of having ruined your vacation by not including Narawntapu, a remote National Park on the north coast near Devonport where you were staying, I believe with friends, under private arrangements which I was not involved in other than to arrange rental car pick up. While I had referenced it in my initial reply along with many other suggestions, it was not referred to again by you or me. Within my final itineraries I include suggestions for optional visits based on my own experience as well as recommendations by my clients and my guides, and I apologise if you would have liked more, but I also provide a lot of reference literature that aids in your own research, and I am confident that in the course of our extensive planning I provided you with as much as I could have done. I cannot find out which bridge you are referring to in your comment, but as I am sure you understand and as I specifically point out in my 'Need to Know' information in your itinerary, roads and bridges change on a daily basis in Tasmania due to the dramatic weather systems. I welcome any feedback that might improve my clients' visits, although I have had no other comments or advice from guests or guides relating to such a bridge or any impact on wildlife viewing. In fact if anything the wildlife at Mountain Valley appears to have been particularly prolific this season with up to seven devils a night being reported! I personally spoke to your guides/accommodation owners from both Mountain Valley and Inala both before your arrival to ensure you were given an exemplary experience, and again on your departure, and they assured me that you had seen many species and had appeared happy with your stays with them. Inala in particular reported back that you had been very happy and had loved your time there, which I was thrilled to hear, and the owner was subsequently disappointed that you gave Inala a mediocre rating. Inala is a private 1500 acre Land for Wildlife conservation area with abundant wildlife, all the endemic birds many of which nest on the property and the guides are renowned as being some of the best in Australia. Regarding your comment on point 3; I am the only Tasmanian travel specialist in the world despite the plethora of Australian specialist travel companies. This is partly due to the challenging, diverse landscapes and minimal infrastructure making Tasmanian itineraries unusually difficult to arrange; but also because there is very little profit to be made in booking anything but the most mainstream of Tasmanian vacations. I set up my business after twenty years' traveling around off beaten track Tasmania not for financial reward but through a personal passion for the island, so I could share my experiences with others and give something back to the islanders who have so willingly opened up their homes and shared their remarkable lives and that of their precious wildlife with me. I make substantial annual donations to the Tasmanian Land Conservancy and the Save the Orange-bellied Parrot Fund both of which are vital for the conservation of Tasmania's most endangered species. Regarding your comment on point 4; seeing endemic and endangered birds and mammals, most of which are nocturnal and many found nowhere else on earth, in their natural habitat is a huge privilege that comes from staying at off the grid places like Mountain Valley and Inala Bruny whose owners have literally devoted their lives over decades to protect their land from mainstream tourism development and other interference by man. It is just not possible to experience these places less expensively or by motorhome which is fortunate for the ongoing survival of the flora and fauna. Many of the reviews on my Responsible Travel page state that they would simply never have found many places without me. I accept that for those who prefer to stay in mainstream tourist hotels, caravan parks and in more developed areas it is possible to arrange a perfectly enjoyable self-drive vacation, and many visitors do just that, albeit often at greater expense than they would through me and with far less wildlife interaction. I would never pretend to offer that sort of vacation experience, and if I did you would not have found me via Responsible Travel due to their stringent membership policy. I take immense pride in arranging tailor made vacations in Tasmania that provide outstanding experiences especially but not exclusively for birding and wildlife spotting, and I go to the greatest lengths I can to ensure that my clients have the most enjoyable trip possible. I was quite devastated to read your comments and I am truly very disappointed that you feel this not to be the case. I do hope you have some wonderful memories of Tasmania, because it is a very special island that continues to enthral and mesmerise visitors from all over the world. Best wishes Susie

review 19 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being able to explore the vast little nooks and crannies of Tasmania and mixing with the local people. It's where you discover the rich ties people have with their island, discover the passionate local knowledge, and explore the 'off the beaten track' beauty of Tasmania. A standout for us was the Beauty Point Cottages - a piece of paradise coupled with amazing hosts Col &Barb.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go into the local Information Centres to discover what is of interest to you in each area. We found a lot of hidden treasures this way. Check that accomodation suits you and your interests, and what is in the surrounding area for you to do/see. Get up early and get into it!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Supporting locals wherever we could (boat tours etc) definately helps the local economy, as well as keep these businesses afloat. Tasmania relies so heavily on tourism. Thought that Tasmania was amazingly clean, something the other states in Australia could take a lesson from. Everyone there is obviously conscious of the environment and conservation of their beautiful state.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The trip of a lifetime. We took a month to meander around, still didn't see everything of course, but covered an amazing amount of ground.

review 2 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Staying at various different locations on the island and seeing new things each day! Especially loved Bonorong and MONA as well as all the walks and hikes I managed to go on.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Give yourself a good amount of time to stay in Tasmania, a week minimum, but ideally I would have stayed for 2!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt like Tasmania was a very environmentally conscious place and most places that I visited and stayed at were passionate about environment and conservation which was great to be a part of. I also really enjoyed all the local food/art/activities/etc and it was lovely to see that there is a strong sense of community and support of local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I went in with very minimal expectations and an open mind, the adventure that I had in Tasmania was most definitely something that I will remember for life and was amazing experience. Susie did a wonderful job with planning my itinerary and I found it to be perfectly balanced! All the places I stayed at exceeded my expectations and I would recommend each and every one of them to future travelers! Well worth the money and priceless in the experiences it brought me.

review 24 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

no one thing really - the whole experience was just great

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

contact Susie who runs this trip

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

all of the above

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

excellent

Read the operator's response here:

I am thrilled that Peter and Trish had such a wonderful time. It was a pleasure arranging their vacation which took them all over the island and offshore to Tasmania's other most beautiful little islands too, and I know that all the B&Bs thoroughly enjoyed hosting them. I wish them all the very best on their return home to NZ.

review 23 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There wasn't a day we didn't enjoy, but Flinders Island was definitely the highlight for us. From the easy going flight to the friendliness of everyone we met, to the deserted beaches - we really felt we had got away from it all. The included tour ensured we got the most out of our stay and Gary kept us well entertained. Other highspots included being truly spoilt at Beauty Point Cottages, wonderful French cooking from Remi at Glencoe Roral Retreats, the Arthur River Cruise and, of course, seeing quoll, platypus and Tasmanian Devils at Mountain Valley.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Let Susie know what your interests are and she will do the rest! Daytime driving was stress-free and the itinerary was well-paced so take time to follow Susie's recommendations for coffee stops etc.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes in that we stayed mainly in small family run places, with food obtained locally or grown in the garden, so food miles minimised wherever possible. Also had the chance to see conservation projects close-up at several places and speak and learn directly from those involved.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We'll be back - can't speak more highly than that.

Read the operator's response here:

I am thrilled that Kathy and Andy had such a wonderful vacation in Tasmania with me. Getting off the beaten track in Tassie reaps such fantastic rewards, more than anywhere else I have ever been to, especially for those who love wildlife, meeting locals and leaving the rest of the world behind. Flinders Island is an absolute gem yet only a handful of visitors to Tassie make the extra little effort to get there - despite it being such a stress free trip to make! Thanks for putting your trust in me, Kathy - it was an absolute pleasure to arrange your vacation.

review 26 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole of Tasmania is just awesome;so every part of the travel is memorable. A full circle we are doing; Devonport ,Lauceston , Swansea, Coles Bay, Horbart < Tarraleah, Queenstown, Strahan,Cradle Mountain , Burnee etc. Plenty of attractions from the Drives ,ever changing sceneries,from rugged cliffs , river gorges to great scenic rolling plains , hills and quaint townships, wild life Santuaries,wild animals, wild flowers and Blooming gardens. Its refreshing as every part of our journeys are full of anticipation; wild lives a plenty ...wow we even got to see Whales at the Wineglass Bay cruises. If you love nature and history you will love Tasmania. Horbart probably the only big city where in addition to nature and wilderness you have a great mix of people ,events and life styles , art , crafts , music...everything. All the Cruises are great including the Train Rides and food .The detail planning, customised together with Susie was fantastic and we had smooth sailing all the way with the Schedules and with two reliabale relatively new SUVs from Budet Car(one with GPS which is a great help). Thank you Susie.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do a min 2 weeks , if not 3 weeks will be ideal, spreading them out among those towns

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes....we see and appreciate the works like Bonorong Santuaries, night devil feeding in Cradle mountain etc......it definitletly helps the local from the point of using local cruises , excursions, local shops and produce.. Yes the enviroment impact part is much emphasized generally, practiced and therefore support conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Awesome. would have extended it to 3 weeks if we had digested and found out more of what are available

Read the operator's response here:

It was such a pleasure to arrange this itinerary for HH and his group of friends. They were open minded to the itinerary so I was able to create one that enabled them to see the best of Tasmania, including the east coast, the west coast and the Central Highlands in the fairly limited time they had on the island, and they were able to take advantage of the fact that Tasmania has wonderful accommodation that is perfectly suited to small groups. I was thrilled to be able to provide fantastic, personalised experiences through my contacts that enabled them to get really close to the wildlife and nature in intimate surroundings. Seeing a whale on the Wineglass Bay Cruise is very special and a great reason to visit in Tasmania's spring. I hope they can come back one day and enjoy some other just as beautiful but completely different parts of Tassie one day.

review 5 Dec 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Encountering the Tassie wildlife from close-up, in many cases. Eagles, echidnas, platypodes, wallabies, pademelons, superb fairy wrens. We greatly enjoy being in the presence of animals and observing their behaviour so that was a real highlight!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure payment details are well sorted ahead of time, and allow lots more driving time than indicated - as there are lots of worthwhile stopping spots along the way. Some advice regarding restaurants in Tassie: Many eateries close early and/or only take reservations well ahead of time.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we greatly enjoyed staying in local B&Bs and meeting the owners, many of whom are concerned about conservation and actively take a part in it. The self-driving aspect of our vacation perhaps did not do much to reduce environmental impact. That being said, we did not contribute to any new road kill -- so in that sense, we reduced our environmental footprint! The local Tassie produce was delicious and we definitely helped the local economy in eating as much as we did.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Given that our prior plans had fallen through, and given that we contacted Susie last minute, she put together an incredibly well-thought out, detailed and wonderful itinerary that respected our wishes and made for an amazing, once-in-a lifetime vacation. We got to see most of what we had wanted to see - and more. We would most definitely book with Susie again. It was a fantastic tour of the island, the memories from which we we will savour for the rest of our lives.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies