9 independent reviews for Orkney & Shetland self drive holiday, Scotland

Reviews for Orkney & Shetland self drive holiday, Scotland

SHOW
6
3
0
0
0

review 13 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The boat trip to see birds and seals, but all of it was great.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It really doesn't always rain in Orkney and Shetland. Sundays are a bit quiet in Lerwick, though.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I would hope so. We travelled by train, ferry and (er..) car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 31 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Orkney: Ring of Brodcar, Broch of Gurness, Skara Brae, Kirkwal Cathedral. Shetland: Noss bird reserve

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Orkney mileages are a bit more accessable, Shetland is misty icaland mag wilderness, though mileages will be greater. There is much to see within 30 miles of Lerwick.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Wildlife conservation and archaeological findings are supported by tourism and using bicycles to travel creates less environmental impact. It may influence others to try this approach.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Marvellous.

review 16 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Low cloud on single track roads with passing places

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a good variety of clothes I had to buy a jumper as it was so cold then the next day the sun came out!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes by providing employment not only on vacation trade but numerous little craft./ engineering exhibits hotels

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Taking the weather into account have had better vacations. However we thoroughly enjoyed meeting the people who were proud to show us their skills. Scenery would have looked better without low cloud. Would love to return but itís a long way from home and we are both getting older . Great for younger people

review 15 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The archeology and history in both Orkneys and Shetlands. The Noss boat outing and Sumburgh Head photo opportunities with puffins.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Local independent hotels were used which used local produce in catering; ferries used rather than flying, a boat trip was included with a very experienced and knowledgable pair of local guides.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful vacation. We were given excellent information by the operator who answered all our questions . They also contacted us while on vacation when a boat trip had to be cancelled because of bad weather and rearranged it for the following day.

review 12 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Firstly the flights from Manchester to Aberdeen then Aberdeen to Sumburgh were very smooth, my wife and I had not flown for over 17 years! Manchester was very busy, even at 6.45am on Monday morning but Aberdeen and Sumburgh were much calmer/quieter. Busta House was our first hotel for 3 nights, very nice, food and staff excellent, Aald Harbour our B & B in Lerwick was also very nice, breakfasts lovely, Lynette very helpful. The tour with Allen Fraser was very good and flexible

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Stay longer than 6 nights ! We had a tour on day 2 but only south of Shetland, we would like to see Yell and Unst if we go again. Lerwick can be very busy at weekend so maybe stay out of town if you prefer a quieter night! Highly recommend Gurkha Kitchen [best curry !] Da Steak Hoose [massive meals] and The String [book as very small/busy]

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Considering everything we did quite a bit, our daughter had a horse ride / kayaking booked which went well, we were lucky with the weather, a few days with rain/wind but generally better than expected.

review 21 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Orkney historical sites

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Research as much as you can

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

very informative - I would have liked conversation with more locals

Read the operator's response here:

This vacation includes stays at locally-owned and operated hotels in Orkney and Shetland, typical of the type of accommodation we use and both of which we have worked with for many years. The customer was also booked on a local wildlife boat trip but unfortunately this did not operate due to adverse weather conditions. We always strive to ensure that economic benefit from visitors contributes directly to the local community.

review 25 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We enjoyed the whole trip but most of all we liked the archeology - it was easily accessible and everywhere.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make a special trip to the Skerries Bistro and enjoy not just a wonderful meal but also a multi-chambered cairn in the car park. We had the personal services of an archeologist on a tour of the Tomb of the Otters for a small fee.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We tried to support local crafters and museums.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An excellent vacation which was quite an adventure.

review 4 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Day trip to Papa Westray

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you want a good restaurant you need to book before you leave home.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We went late in the season and people such as the Spiggie Hotel, the boat out to see whales etc would have been empty otherwise.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 25 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Getting to travel around both Isles and seeing how beauiful they are and getting to fuss wild Shetland Ponies

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

For the time of year we went, which was mid October, make sure you have got warm, thermal clothing. If you are wanting to see the Puffins, Dolphins etc to go before September.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely, because some of the local areas rely on tourism, the local people are some welcoming and enjoy speaking with tourists. Also any donatins are ploughed stright into the local areas to help keep local tourist sights in a good condition and to preserve them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was fantastic to see the contrast in both Isles and to see the nature, unspoilt beauty. The wealth of wildlife and to see them in a nature environment. The wealth of history and to see how the areas have evolved throughout the years. Also the possibilty of seeing the northern lights.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies