8 independent reviews for Family volunteering with turtles in Costa Rica

Reviews for Family volunteering with turtles in Costa Rica

SHOW
7
1
0
0
0

review 8 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

One night we were walking along the length of the beach in the dead of night and could clearly see the Milky Way illuminated and lots of shooting stars, whilst holding the hands of my three little girls and my husband - it was the most magical experience we had and an overwhelming sense of peace and happiness. We absolutely loved the whole experience being on the Turtle Conservation project - the joy on my children's faces seeing a turtle laying eggs was beautiful and one morning we got a knock on the door at 6am and run down to the beach to be greeted by hundreds of newly hatched baby turtles walking across the sand and into the sea. We made some truly incredible family memories that will be with us for the rest of our lives.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to be hands on and go with the flow. The more you put in, the more you will get out of the experience. Our three young children (7, 10, 12) learnt to wash up their own plates after the communal meals, and had to get used to waking up at different times in the night to go on patrol, plus sometimes having to be up at 7am to check the rain gauge. Take part in the activities offered - the beach cleans, the recycling afternoons, the tree planting sessions and go on some of the local excursions offered - we took a lot from seeing local football tournaments, visiting the local fishing community, attending the local school's end of year talent show and doing voluntary work at the office. All the extra activities and experiences gave us a far better insight into life in Costa Rica and the Conservation efforts the local community were doing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes! We could see the money going directly into the local community - from the Cabana Hires, all the cooks and assistants, the locally sourced food, the taxi drivers, the research projects and all the supporting staff - the money went directly into the community. Also the trips organised - exploring the Mangroves by boat, experiencing the fishing village community and their 20 year efforts into protecting turtles, visiting the man that recycles for the whole area in his own home, working in the nursery to help grow more trees - we knew our tourist dollar was helping people directly and not going into a multi national vacation chain.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a totally life enriching experience for the whole family. My children learnt more in one month in Costa Rica than a years worth of school, and took so much from the experience. It really was a once in a life time experience and we are grateful for Responsible Travel for giving us this incredible opportunity

review 4 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Coming across Olive Ridley turtles nesting at Playa Costa de Oro and collecting the eggs to put safely in the hatchery. Also one night we came across some hatchlings on the beach - beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for beach patrols at any time of the night and to walk for two hours looking for nesting turtles. We went for 2 weeks at the end of August and saw 6 turtles. There were definitely more in the second week. The eggs in the hatchery hadn't yet started to hatch. I went with a 6 year old and 8 year old and they both loved it. Embrace opportunities to visit other sites, e.g. the fishing village, and to help with local projects, e.g. at the tree nursery at the office.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - we helped with a local reforestation project, collected litter along the beach and helped protect the turtles and their eggs from poachers. We also helped with local initiatives such as planting by the bus stop to encourage local people from dumping litter there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Totally life changing experience.

review 13 Jan 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Working with the turtles, the contact with them, releasing the hatchlings, knowing that you're doing something helpful for sea turtles.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to live in a basic and hot place and then enjoy!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, you can do a good job for the turtles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The whole family had a really great time with lovely people, very helpful and friendly and with much contact with turtles, adults and hatchlings.

review 2 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Oh my goodness, so many! The friendliness of the people, the beautiful surroundings, we were on the beach surrounded by lush green. The musical cacophony of all the surrounding wildlife. Holding a baby turtle for the first time, watching 126 of them crawl to the sea, knowing that you have helped them have a chance at survival. Being mesmorised by the Mummy turtle, while she lays her eggs and knowing you are part of something fantastic, when you count them and protect them. The fantastic conversations you have on night patrol. The wonderful knowledge of the project coordinators and how they make you feel like family. The monkeys in the trees, throwing their discarded almond shells on our heads. My sons constant state of excitement, at everything he was surrounded by and holding a turtle egg. That type of experience, could never be taught in a classroom.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do not go with any preconceptions, relax and go with the flow. The projects are organised, however, nature is unpredictable and the more fluid you are as a person, the more enjoyable you will find it. Bring a really fantastic night camera. There was so much wonderful stuff that happened at night, however, you can't use a flash at night, in case it disturbs the turtles, so if you can invest in a good night camera, it will be worth it. If you are going with children, remember, your children will mirror your response. There are a lot of late night patrols, and they will get tired as the week goes on, especially, if they are playing in the sea in the day time. However, if you are motivated, they will be motivated. My son, never waivered from wanting to do the night patrols. Maybe, bring some energy boosting treats for them, as some patrols are longer than others. Make sure you invest in good waterproofs, as the reason Costa Rica is so green, is due to it's sunshine and wonderful downpours. Also, a good pair of waterproof walking shoes. At night, even if is not raining you may have to walk through a slight bit of water. Lots of socks, if you don't want to put on damp socks the next night. Learn a little bit of Spanish, not so much that you will have difficulty getting around, more so, because, everyone is so friendly, that it is lovely to engage in banter with them. Always keep a bit of money for the end of the project. I found everything was organised really well throughout, however, a slight hiccup on my last day meant I had to pay for a coach. This wasn't a problem for us, however, there was a guy who was also returning on that day, who had no money, if we hadn't helped him out, he would've been stuck. Make sure you have everything you need, as you are in quite a remote part. I brought a few snacks with me and that kept my hungry son going in between meal times and when I didn't want to get out of bed yet! Just enjoy it!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, even more than I originally thought. The food was cooked by the locals and it was wonderful being able to share their food all together. The food was absolutely delicious. The accommodation we stayed in was a place owned by a local, who rents it out. The project itself, has locals involved. We went on night patrol with a few. The transportation and first night hotel is either family run or someone from the community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I wish I had, had the chance to stay longer, it is such a wonderful experience. The fact that you are able to live within the community, right on the beach and take part in some wonderful hands on research. You are involved completely right from the start, from handling the eggs, baby turtles, to washing the equipment the next day. It really was a fantastic vacation.

review 12 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Watching turtles laying their eggs and releasing newly hatched baby turtles into the sea

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Keep packing to a minimum - lightweight quick dry clothes - and take walking shoes for the beach.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Our accommodation was owned by local people who lived on the same land. All meals provided by local women. The project definitely reduced our environmental impact as tourists and the whole project was aimed at supporting conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely to be recommended. An amazing experience for all of us. Our daughters (age 14 and 9) enjoyed every minute. It's a vacation we will always remember.

review 5 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Going out on patrol late in the evening, with clear skies and being able to see the whole Milky Way and shooting stars, following by finding a turtle and rescuing the eggs as the turtle was laying them. Building the shelter next to the hatchery was great fun and a fabulous team bonding experience for us a family together with the other volunteers. Being on beach patrol at sunrise and seeing a Sea Turtle making its way back into the ocean having just laid its eggs was also a magical moment.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Buy very lightweight long trousers for the evening / late-night patrols. Donít wear shorts as you will likely get eaten alive by bugs. Come stocked with snacks if you have young children. Make the effort to go on every single patrol you are given. Keep asking how you can help and be as involved as you can be.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes very much in terms of supporting sea turtle conservation and also the environment re:the beach clean. The only local people we saw were the guide and some kids and our cooks. We would have liked to have had more involvement with the local community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely amazing. Memories that will last a lifetime.

review 16 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole vacations was an amazing experience, from seeing the turtles and collecting the eggs to visiting the school for a celebration day and learning to surf.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Learn some Spanish, get stuck in and if you love turtles and wildlife this is your perfect vacation!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes in all respects

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Our children have given it 5 stars and have talked about it constantly. It has changed their out look, which was the aim of the vacation!

review 19 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This project and experience was absolutely amazing. As a family of 4 (2 adults & 2 children, 8 & 10 yrs old) we decided it was important to not just have a vacation but to do something that would play a part in making a different to our environment for the future. Our 8 year old son, in particular had an interest in Turtles so we decided this would be a great project to work on. We weren't disappointed. The location was stunning, remote (so off the tourist route, which we loved) and gave us an feeling of living a little like a local family and we loved being constantly in the outdoors. Our children met & played with the local kids which was incredible and everyone was so welcoming. The turtle conservation work in particular was incredible, the night patrols & hatchery work made us really appreciate the work undertaken by all volunteers and the project team and we felt honoured to think that we made a little difference to the Olive Ridley Turtle Conservation program.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't expect the luxury's of home and know that you will quickly understand and appreciate you can enjoy a pure, happy time without not not much at all. All facilities and services are available and the food it terrific given the location. Go into the vacation with a open mind, be prepared to muck in, learn heaps, have fun and you won't be disappointed. As a family we were made so welcome by volunteers and locals alike. We had plenty of time during the days to do what we wanted and we never got restless, infact we go into relax & go slow mode quite quickly and the days just flew! Having the Spanish language wasn't essential but was helpful in getting to know the locals.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we felt the project really gave back to the local community and respected their lifestyle & views. We stayed in a family cabana as part of a local families property and they were so helpful, kind & generous. We understand that our fees went to paying them for our stay. We learnt a great deal about the environment & the turtles and that the project did everything it could to reduce environmental impacts ie composting, lighting, etc. The project provided a presence on the beach but not in a way that dictated to took over from the way the locals live there lives. There are some really dedicated local people who believe in the cause and are so grateful for the support they receive from volunteers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing, so humbling, incredible to think we could do a little bit to help and have fun at the same time. As a young family, our kids really have an appreciation for conservation work, have a deeper connection and understanding that animals and the environment require our help to keep it safe, they realise the human impact on the environment isn't always positive and that it requires true dedication & a commitment to make a difference.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies