11 independent reviews for Montenegro hiking vacations, self guided

Reviews for Montenegro hiking vacations, self guided

SHOW
9
2
0
0
0

review 21 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walks in the hills above Kotor Bay and Budva were probably the highlight of our 4-week vacation. The views and scenery were beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I hadn't realised how flexible the operator would be, hence we had anticipated following their 6-day program as scheduled. However when we got there we realised that it would work better for us to shift the order of the walks and to skip one of them. This was absolutely no problem and the operator were completely OK and helpful with the changes we made. I wish I'd realised how flexible the program could be while we were in the planning phase. We upgraded to the 4-star accommodation and it exceeded our expectation. We were inside to old town in Kotor and we were in a great spot in Budva. Definitely get the gpx files. It makes things so easy I don't think you could possibly get lost.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Tourism is an important industry for Montenegro, hence there's a benefit to the local people by visiting.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We loved this vacation. Montengro is beautiful. The walks were really nice. The operator were very flexible and supported us in all respects.

review 31 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It's hard to pick one part when the scenery is as beautiful as what we saw. Some of the hikes we didn't see any other people and it was quite special feeling almost alone with the environment and the views surrounding us.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It's hot, lots of water and suncream! But the best part about it all is we did almost no planning for the trip once we'd booked it. The company provide the maps and phone and arrange everything else for you, it was super easy. And everyone we met were really friendly and helpful, you could have asked for a nicer bunch of people

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I would say definitely benefited local communities, the hikes tended to either start or finish in more remote areas so we brought food and drink from local people who are not necessarily in the tourist hotpots.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the best, it had everything. Stunning hikes during the day and then we could relax back at the hotel and on the beaches, swimming and snorkeling. The whole team were amazing and they do all the hard work for you (besides the hike but that makes the view so much more special). I can't recommend them enough, and we'll definitely use them again to explore the surrounding areas next time we get to go back.

review 28 Aug 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It's hard to pick one part when the scenery is as beautiful as what we saw. Some of the hikes we didn't see any other people and it was quite special feeling almost alone with the environment and the views surrounding us.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It's hot, lots of water and suncream! But the best part about it all is we did almost no planning for the trip once we'd booked it. The company provide the maps and phone and arrange everything else for you, it was super easy. And everyone we met were really friendly and helpful, you could have asked for a nicer bunch of people

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I would say definitely benefited local communities, the hikes tended to either start or finish in more remote areas so we brought food and drink from local people who are not necessarily in the tourist hotpots

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the best, it had everything. Stunning hikes during the day and then we could relax back at the hotel and on the beaches, swimming and snorkeling. The whole team at the operator were amazing and they do all the hard work for you (besides the hike but that makes the view so much more special). I can't recommend them enough, and we'll definitely use them again to explore the surrounding areas next time we get to go back.

review 19 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Amazing views, varied walks and seamless logistics by organizers.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring enough water and food. One kilometer can be very different from another depending on terrain. It takes longer than expected by so worth it.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes indeed!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Perfect!

review 9 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beautiful scenery of Kotor Bay seen from the hilltops, and walking / boat trip in the Lochven and Skadar Lake national parks.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It was very hot walking in June, suggest to go earlier in season.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully it benefited local people, as local guides and drivers employed and we stayed in small hotels. As it was a walking vacation, the environmental impact was minimized, albeit we had car transfers to and from starts and end points of walks.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a great vacation, a beautiful country (unfortunately being overbuilt in the main resorts which luckily we avoided), and we were given clear information about the walks. Particular thanks to Claudio, our link for the Kotor section of the vacation, who was extremely helpful and to Vladimir's invaluable assistance via the mobile phone we were given.

review 13 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walk from Katun Goles to the next Katun over the ridge

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Recommended!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it did

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 8 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This whole vacation has been just incredible, to say one part is better than another is difficult.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go into the mountains, wear good boots.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited local people

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the most memorable vacations of my life.

review 10 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were many. For the first part of our hiking vacation we were in the north of Montenegro and we really liked the simplicity, natural beauty and hospitality of the area called 'summer pastures'. We liked that the vacation offered almost Alpine surroundings and the dramatic coast.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack for all weathers and following the trail isn't that easy at times as signing can be poor and maps not always up to date. Enjoy making the most of meeting people along the way and try to get to know them as it will give you a greater appreciation of local culture.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because we were not part of a big tour group. We used local taxis, stayed in family run businesses. Didn't find any evidence of supporting conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Congratulations to Vlado who was very patient with us and did a great job organising our day to day travel requests and who ensured he left no stone unturned to ensure we had a good vacation.

review 14 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The wonderful walks amidst stunning and varying scenery. Montenegro has an abundance of natural beauty, high mountains, alpine walks, lovely coastline. Meeting a shepherd with his flock of sheep & herd of goats with their tinkling bells high up in the mountains one morning. A lovely, smiling man in his timeless pursuit... We are medium level, experienced walkers and enjoyed the challenges presented by some of the walks. Meeting the helpful, our tour operators who were delightful people. They looked after us on this self-guided walking week.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you are well briefed on each walk & study details of individual trails. Challenges involved in some of the tricky descents are understated. Discuss any questions with the tour operator.. We were concerned about one particularly long, steep uphill walk in the sun. We phoned Vlad & he suggested doing the walk in reverse so problem solved! We were driven to the top & walked down. Bring rain gear, serious walking boots and all the usual walking clothes. Our first walk was on April 29th and it bucketed rain for four hours. Rest of our time it was ideal walking weather.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it did benefit local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We really enjoyed our walking week in Montenegro. The walks were exhilarating. It was exciting to experience a very different European country. We would recommend this vacation.

review 21 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hiking up and down Prutas in Durmitor was really amazing - it was challenging and highly rewarding. We felt really proud and happy. But it is hard to choose the most exciting experience - the views around the bay of Kotor were breath taking, the walk from Vranjak to the Biogradska lake was colourful and relaxing, rafting on Tara river was fun and the friendliness of local people touching.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Some hikes could be challenging for families with children and a good health condition is a must. Feel free to share your concerns and wishes with the vacation provider, they have been very helpful and flexible with what we asked for, including last minutes changes because of stormy weather. It is good to have a day or two planned for other activities than hiking - for us this was rafting on Tara river or a day on the Buljarica beach close to Petrovac. It is necessary to be able to read the map on the self-guided walks, event though the tracks are mostly well marked. Be prepared for all kinds of weather! In mid-June, we had temperatures from 16 to 34 degrees. If you have doubts do not worry too much and go for this vacation - with the country alone, the services of the vacation provider and an open mind, you are sure to have a great, great time.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We hope so because this was indeed our intention. The proposed itinerary included public transport transfers, by bus and train, where possible. We mostly stayed in small hotels, including a mountain hut. We ate vegetarian food, reached out and supported local people as much as possible. Sustainable tourism also means to us that you travel with an open mind, respect and patience, thriving to contribute to the livelihoods of small local businesses and being thankful for any new experience on the way. We would have wished for more public transport transfers, or local driving arrangements, instead of taxis.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This vacation has been the most wonderful and amazing experience. Every corner you turn in Montenegro is just beautiful, fairy-tale beautiful, and we left thinking there must be another travel to this country (maybe for the autumn colours?). The vacation provider has been very reliable, helpful and flexible, and every person we came in contact with through the agency, before or during our vacation, has been friendly, honest and welcoming. They were just a call away, open to our wishes for the itinerary and the changes that we made, sometimes on the same day, were never a problem. At no point during this travel we felt unsafe or nervous, quite the contrary. We gained lots of inspiration, energy and beautiful memories. One of our best vacations. Warmly recommended!

review 10 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walk to Crvena Greda in Durmitor National Park and the one from Eco-Katun Vranjak via Goles to Biogradsko Jezero. These were fabulous walks, with varied landscape and conditions, stunning views. Very few other people: we felt we had the mountains to ourselves.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it! We wanted to walk every day and our made-to-measure itinerary included 5-8 hours walking per day, apart from the day rafting in the Tara canyon, which was actually a good break in the middle of the week. If you want less walking, do a day's kayaking on Lake Skadar, which we left out. Make sure to include at least one night staying in a Katun. We were in Vranjak. We would also recommend flying to and from Dubrovnik. This allows you to visit the Ostrog monastery on the way to Durmitor and the journey is not that long (though there can be delays at the frontiers).And of course visiting Dubrovnik is a must. We found that the local map provided for Durmitor was sufficiently detailed to allow us to improvise and deviate at times from the prescribed walks. You will have to be reasonably fit to do the walks we did, since there are quite some height differences and the terrain was occasionally tricky. I went on long walks during the two weeks before going to Montenegro to get my legs and lungs in shape.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The company who organised our vacation is a small family company and uses local people (drivers, guides, accommodation providers, etc). We found all the people friendly, helpful and, above all, knowledgeable. Staying in a Katun and having a lunch at the farm in Goles will have helped the locals. And our stay hopefully generally benefited the Montenegran economy. They have invested in good infrastructure: roads are good, hotels, etc. and we had the impression that these should be more used by visitors. As for environmental impact, since we were on foot for the majority of the time, we hopefully helped by not being in motorised transport. Also we were almost always eating locally sourced food. The generally well-marked walking routes help to control where humans go in the vast tracts of unspoiled nature.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Really great. The vacation providers were very responsive to our needs and wishes and it was no problem to make some adjustments we requested subsequent to the initial booking (we had originally indicated we would fly to Podgorica and then changed to Dubrovnik - where we found Vlado waiting for us on arrival). Organisation was faultless throughout, including the important feature of transporting our luggage. The company was very reliable and provided us with equipment such as maps, local mobile phone and GPS (which we didn't in fact need to use). Our only observation is that we felt that the written descriptions provided of the walks could have been more detailed, in particular giving more information on which parts are difficult or exposed (I had the Rother Wanderführer with me, which in my view provided the right level of detail). The week that the company arranged for us was extremely enjoyable, varied and interesting and allowed us a real insight into this wonderful country.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies