11 independent reviews for Austria yoga & walking vacation

Reviews for Austria yoga & walking vacation

SHOW
9
2
0
0
0

review 14 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A fantastic hike to a mountain hut above the tree line in the snow. It felt like being on top of the world.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring lots of layers as the weather is different all the way round the hike from the valley to the peaks. Good waterproof boots will keep you comfortable & dry.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as the food was locally sourced & our hiking guide lives in the nearest city.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A fantastic experience from start to end. The house is beautifully decorated & the staff are warm & friendly. All the food was delicious but the plant based food for evening meal was incredible. The hikes were just the right amount of challenge , the scenery was breath taking & Petra our guide incredibly knowledgeable about the area & itís nature. The yoga was also great & helped stretch out our muscles along with the hot tub with views of snow capped mountains. Nirvana.

review 24 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Memorable - the amazing selection & presentation of food at every meal. Exciting - being above the snowline and watching 5 Ibex for several minutes.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

JUST DO IT!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, definitely to all.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely top rating. The staff - Ryan, Lottie, Beka, Ligita - were fabulous and couldn't do enough to ensure our vacation was perfect.

review 23 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The food, the team, the view, the hot tub, the walking, the yoga, the climbing, the rooms, the paragliding option! Everything.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It's worth the journey.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all of these areas. I was really impressed with the attitude towards sustainability - it inspired me to do the same.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Outstanding. I highly recommend it.

review 24 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The views on our walks were stunning. We had beautiful weather so the colours as autumn approached were amazing. The food was plentiful and delicious!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack for all seasons. Be in good shape to be able to fully enjoy the walks - our guide's pace was great but there's a lot of climbing!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We occasionally ate at local restaurants, run by local people. The water was heated by solar panels, food was composted and journeys only made by van when needed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A great week in the clean fresh Austrian air, with friendly and welcoming hosts - they made a great team. It's more hiking than yoga oriented as there's just one hour of yoga a day.

review 16 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The location, the people, the scenery, the weather, the hikes, the yoga, the food.... everything really!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to eat really interesting food, laugh a lot and make new friends.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 1 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The stunning scenery and beautifully fresh air.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Itís a great hiking vacation with a really reliable and kind mountain guide and some excellent yoga led by Rosie. The place is pretty remote which has both positives and slight downsides. You get to know everyone in the group pretty well as youíre with them everyday. If you go in the spring/summer, take the ski gondola up to the top, the view is incredible.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we ate in local places for lunch pretty often. All the food served at MoaAlm is organic.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Pretty good. Fantastic scenery. The food is good (vegetarian) although I didnít think there was enough of it for the evening meal, when you are most hungry after a dayís activity.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you Anna for your review - we are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at MoaAlm... very sorry though that you didn't feel there was enough food in the evenings and hate to think that you were suffering in silence - we will certainly take this on board and ensure that nobody feels they can't ask for more in future if they are still peckish! Very best wishes, Polly

review 13 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Great walks in stunning scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't forget your suntan cream. Don't forget you wet-gear.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - very much helped by the ever-helpful care of our hosts.

review 4 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Great location, magnificent views, wonderful walks, very interesting yoga sessions, delicious food, very welcoming and helpful staff.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

At the mountain retreat, you don't need to get worried about anything. You will just feel like you are at home where the very friendly staff will take care of your every needs, while you enjoy great walks in the surrounding mountains and hills with wonderful waterfalls and lakes and having very tasty and healthy food and Yoga training!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The source of the food at the retreat is from the local farmers. The food is very healthy and mostly vegetarian. We had lunch every day at a different local hut or restaurant.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent!

review 7 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole experience was memorable. Barbara is an amazing yoga teacher and started each day in a perfect way. The hiking was exceptional, from the local knowledge to the gorgeous views. Each hike was discussed before hand and terrain, challenge and scenery was incorporated for the groups likes and needs. Every meal was a taste sensation, again with all needs and tastes catered for using local and fresh produce. The atmosphere created by the staff is one of comfort, caring and openness which made for a very relaxing and comfortable break. Climbing Grossglockner was an amazing highlight and toasting marshmellows and chatting by firelight was also a memorable experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for lots of fresh air and have a reasonable amount of fitness, so you can enjoy all aspects of the vacation.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Places to eat on our hikes were at local restaurants, so hopefully local businesses benefited from our visit and also the building of the vacation providers business. As the vacation is actively walking and yoga, hopefully we didn't impact on the environment in a bad way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The whole vacation was an amazing experience. The only improvement would be to include a hot-tub to relieve achy limbs at the end of long, sumptuous walks :-) . Thank you to Barbara, Hubert, Nelson, Beatrix, Yvonne and team for putting in so much effort to make a truly memorable vacation,

review 26 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Pre-breakfast outdoor yoga with our wonderful teacher and a spectacular mountain view.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Come prepared for communal meals and group hiking. They are great features of this vacation.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was such a unique vacation. The people who run and work at Moa Alm are so interesting and enthusiastic it is a pleasure to live with them for a week. The scenery is beautiful. The mountain biking was thrilling. The food, mostly vegetarian was delicious.

review 16 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everything was perfect and far better than I could have imagined. The people of Moa Alm, the accommodation, the food and the stunning walks/ scenery

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is a great active / relax vacation with great people. Moa Alm is very unique. The yoga, walks, food and company was great. I love the communal eating part of the vacation where guests and staff sit together at the beginning and end of the day over great food. This is more like being on vacation with friends

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Moa Alm sources all their food from around their area, we stopped at local huts for food and drinks on our walks. They also have a cafe that is used by both local and travelers and they put on social events that again bring together the local and visiting communities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent -beyond expectations and I have already recommended to friends

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies