8 independent reviews for Learn Spanish and walking vacation, Spanish Pyrenees

Reviews for Learn Spanish and walking vacation, Spanish Pyrenees

SHOW
6
2
0
0
0

review 12 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scenery, both from the accommodation and later to the huge cliffs and canyons in the national park.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Good boots (you can borrow trekking poles) because some paths are rocky. Plan to speak Spanish much of the day even if you make loads of mistakes. Our group did pretty well though lapsed into English later in the day.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, local guides, eating out a few times. Accommodation has geothermal heating, solar panels, rain water tanks etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Good. We were very well looked after by our hosts, healthy good food. Lovely big room with a view with no single supplement. Excellent teacher and guides (all in Spanish). I regained a bit of confidence in speaking Spanish. This was my second visit and I hope to go back.

review 9 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The enjoyable Spanish lessons with the local teacher who brought the language to life in an accessible way.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Everything has been really carefully thought out, you will want for nothing. It does what it says on the tin - both walking and Spanish lessons. You need to enjoy both these things to get the most from this week.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All of the above. The teachers were local, much of the lovely food was locally sourced or home grown. A lot of emphasis was given to enjoying and respecting the local wildlife.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful.

review 9 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Spending a week with a wonderful group of people: fellow language learners/walkers, our hosts and the professionals they arranged to teach and guide us, all against the backdrop of the Spanish Pyrenees.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Donít be afraid to give your food preferences! Lucy and Simon really do want to know what you like.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly benefited local people. The teacher and guide were local. All food cooked at the house is locally sourced. We visited a sanctuary for rescued birds of prey and learned much about the bearded eagle.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent in every regard.

review 7 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Visiting the Spanish Pyrenees and the wonderful hosts who could not have been more attentive

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Come with enthusiasm for learning Spanish and and good walking boots for the lovely walks

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely, the food was locally sourced and local products were used. The guides and Spanish teachers were local

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I would rate it very highly, 5 stars and would like to return

review 13 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Every day was different. The one that stands out was the trip to St Juan de Plan, a small village up in the mountains with fascinating local museums, idyllic scenery and an excellent restaurant.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

A reasonable fluency in Spanish is essential.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All guides and teachers were local Spaniards. Accommodation had been designed to minimise environmental impact and as much food as possible was organic and home-grown.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Activities were varied, well planned and very well organised. The accommodation was excellent and the food interesting and varied. Our hosts looked after us extremely well in every way.

review 19 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Pulling over to let a tourist single decker bus pass us on a track high up a mountain in the Ordessa National Park! Oh and visiting a neighbours house with many of the original features intact.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Lots of activity for the brain and the body 12 hours a day! Go prepared for a variety of weather conditions. The excursions are excellent guided treks high in the Pyrenees.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the guides, food and tutors were local so definitely benefitted the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A great way to improve your Spanish and learn about the Pyrenees at the same time. The accommodation, food and hospitality provided were wonderful.

review 8 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

An extraordinary vacation in a spectacular region of the Pyrenees. Lucy and Simon were perfect hosts - they have thought of everything for the comfort and well-being of their guests. As a single traveler I greatly appreciated their warm welcome. Their local knowledge of this special place gave me a real insight into the the local culture, history, geology, flora and fauna.. Delicious food and wine freshly prepared from local suppliers was also most welcome. Their exceptional organisation and well thought out itinerary made the week memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just book it and go! Now!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. Lucy and Simon take great care in using products locally sourced. The guides were of exceptional ability, and also local. The farmhouse itself is beautifully converted to maintain the charm of this ancient building, but with every modern convenience.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent in every respect. I cannot recommend it highly enough

review 17 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Lovely accommodating hosts, stunning surroundings, meeting interesting new people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for traveling to different destinations/places of interest on most days. Be prepared for long days.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A most fantastic experience. Busy, packed with much information, new experiences and activities.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy