16 independent reviews for Highlights of Morocco vacation

Reviews for Highlights of Morocco vacation

SHOW
2
12
2
0
0

review 6 Jan 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The visit to Kasbah Ait Benhaddou.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't underestimate how chilly the hotels can be - without any heating, the rooms get very cold during the evening. The food can get very repetitive, especially for vegetarians - you might want to bring something to liven it up, like Marmite. You will spend a lot of time on the minibus with some very long days traveling, so you may want to bring music, podcasts, books, etc.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very difficult to tell.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Generally very enjoyable. We saw some fascinating historic sites, and some wonderful scenery. However, our guide tended to rush us from the sites rather too fast, and there was definitely too much hanging around in shops getting the heavy sell.

review 12 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Going off the beaten track. The amazing tour guide Jerry who is a credit to the tour operator

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This was a moderately challenging trek but most of us found it very hard. Would be helpful if the tour operator gave a clue about what this description meant (eg being able to use a step machine at speed for several hours)

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I would use this tour operator again and recommend it

review 2 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The camel ride into & out of the desert - not knowing whether I would survive the lurches down over the top of the dunes!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you for eg need to follow a particular diet (I need to eat high fibre foods) to make sure to buy enough in the supermarket in Fes at the start of the vacation, as the items may not be available elsewhere until you reach Marakech.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I enjoyed it, but it wouldn't be top of the list.

review 18 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The camel trek into the Sahara Desert

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be careful not to eat uncleaned fruits and vegetables.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 10 Jan 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Spending the evening and night in the desert. It was so peaceful and quiet.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack lots of layers. It gets colder than England in winter at night. Instead of buying bottled water, use water purification tablets instead. We did and had no stomach bug issues. Do leave the group and go do your own thing once in a while.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In a lot of ways, yes. I spent new year day with the children at the local school (school is supported by the operator.) I was glad not to see lots of tourist rubbish strewn about especially in the desert

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good! It would have been fantastic if we had some spare seats on the minibus!

review 5 Jan 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Staying in a village deep in the High Atlas Mountains. The silence was awesome and the views were never-ending. It was a privilege to witness a little of Berber village life and to learn about their community.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do not underestimate how cold it will be if you go during November/December! Forget any "glam" clothes and concentrate on the thermals! Take lots of antiseptic hand gel and use it all the time.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Difficult to tell how much locals benefited, but have no reason to believe they didn't. Had excellent local guide and driver, frequented "authentic" places to eat etc and saw evidence of the tour operator supporting local schooling.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A great learning experience in a country of huge contrasts.

review 25 Nov 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Two things in particular, seeing the sunrise in the Sahara desert, and the night sky in the Atlas Mountains. Just such a wonderful experience!!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just go for it, an excellent trip.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes particularly in the Atlas Mountains.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 25 Nov 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The trip was so varied and interesting that it is hard to identify any one thing... but i really enjoyed the Todra gorge walk, desert trip and Essaouira.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take enough warm clothes in nov... donít go to the tourist dinner/entertainment in Fez.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - it was good to visit the local school that the operator supports. Sometimes the cooperatives we visited were a bit pushy in trying to sell things and the prices not that competitive it would seem.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent vacation with something for everyone.

review 21 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The people that I travelled with, the desert and the Atlas Mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

To do as much research as possible on the places visited because it is very intense and too much to absorb during the trip.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was great, I have many wonderful memories.

review 1 Apr 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The group and the Atlas Mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Read your pre departure information clearly and be open minded.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the cooks in the Atlas Mountains were local people, the trip contributed to their wages we also visited the school.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

8/10

review 7 Jan 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The desert! It's so engaging standing on sand dunes in the middle of nowhere in the desert and watch the sunrise. Camel trekking was also very interesting - the camels are so cute and the ride up and down and in between the dunes was quite an experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a more detailed look at the trip notes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. I definitely contributed quite a fair amount to the economy spending on all the delicious food and lovely souvenirs. Not sure about impact to the environment cos I don't know how things were done at the hotels and restaurants I was in.

review 5 Jan 2007

We are back but our suitcases are not yet. Nevertheless, we had a great time. To answer your questions...

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of the trip was the night in the Sahara desert. We slept under the stars, had ice on the sleeping bags but watched a glorious sunrise...

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take lots of warm clothing, it is Africa but with a high altitude. To avoid disappointments read the Morocco Lonely Planet about how to bargain.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we did provide with our trip for some local employment. We saw a school in the same village where our gite was, and were told by our guide Mustapha that the tour company provided for the windows. In that climate and altitude you certainly needed glass in the windows. We also noticed that except for some plastic bags caught in the fields or after a flood Morocco is very clean; people sweep in front of their houses daily, sprinkle water onto dusty roads, pick up garbage.

4. Any other comments?

Definitely rate this between 4 and 5 stars. Driver Magide and guide Mustapha - super!!, always accommodating and pleasant. We specially liked the big variety of activities and landscapes. We saw a huge piece of land and feel now we know Morocco quite well.

review 19 Nov 2006

My trip was magnificent. I have seen and experienced so many amazing things. I recommend this to everyone who wants an adventure with the contrasts of the busy cities and the beautiful star filled peaceful Sahara desert. Five stars from me. Thanks muchly.

review 17 Dec 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sleeping under the stars in the desert.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Plenty of warm clothes for winter months and be flexible in case weather conditions change the plan.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

review 23 Apr 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sleeping under the stars in the desert & walking in the High Atlas mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book it for the spring... the flowers are amazing... have never seen so many anywhere. Don't pack too much and take extra bags for all the fabulous textiles, carpets, shoes, fossils, crystals, wood inlay and food you will want to bring back.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we were shown round by locals and our guide Mustapha was sensitive about not exploiting local animals or people.

4. Any other comments?

**** Great vacation. Many stories to tell the grandchildren, I would not hesitate to recommend it to a friend. One of the best vacations I have been on. Will certainly book with you again.

review 22 Oct 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Loved getting off the beaten track - desert, mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Reasonably yes.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies