8 independent reviews for The Silk Road small group tour

Reviews for The Silk Road small group tour

SHOW
5
2
1
0
0

review 1 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Scenery in Kyrgyzstan, amazing!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Advertised as Leisure/Moderate, not altogether sure that this is a fair description.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly benefited local economy, given the amount of coach travel Iím not sure there was any environmental benefits.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An informative, interesting, and awe inspiring vacation.

review 11 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

So many 'Wow' moments would be impossible to choose just one favourite!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Dollars are widely taken in many shops and markets (although you will also need the local money for smaller purchases and some restaurants). Pounds and Euros can be changed at Exchange facilities but aren't so recognised 'on the street'. The country as a whole is far more westernised than I expected so no real issues about dress code.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Our guide was local, we had several meals at family homes and stayed in small traditional hotels where possible. Large water containers provided so we could fill up our smaller bottles rather than buy new all the time.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Magical. Khiva was amazing and I was worried the trip had peaked too soon, but Bukhara and Samarkand were both just as incredible in their own right, as was the overnight yurt.

review 25 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The culture and architecture. Guides were very knowledgeable and gave a great history of the silk road itself.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared and take some sturdy walking shoes

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefit was that we used local hotels and not hotel chains owned outside the country and shopped at locally owned shops.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A great introduction to the STANS and the silk road

review 10 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hard to say - lots of fantastic elements and a great variety! Spending the night in a yurt in the Jeti-Oguz valley was a fun, unique and very comfortable experience. Really enjoyed experiencing the train travel

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The hiking days were more leisurely than I had expected, and I imagine this was tailored to our group which covered a wide age range. Furthermore there are a few long distances in the coach, particularly in Kyrgyzstan. As such, this trip might not best suited to people who are keen for a lot of walking in the outdoors. Equally there aren't any rest days, just short periods (i.e. a few hours) and evenings which are free so it is quite intense - but worth it for everything that's included in the schedule!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

With the exception of where we stayed in Almaty, all the hotels were small and (I think) locally owned businesses. We were introduced to local craftspeople when it came to souvenir shopping opportunities who would teach us about their crafts. There were no flights during the tour despite covering large geographical areas (we travelled by coach and train). We couldn't drink tapwater but to reduce plastic waste we were asked to bring our own bottles to refill from large bottles for the group.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was fantastic - loved learning about the history and culture of Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan. We had fantastic local guides and the countries were both beautiful and welcoming places. I'm definitely keen to return and see more of Central Asia!

review 20 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Swimming in the lake in the desert.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Unless you know your history well , 10 day trip is good introduction to the culture and lifestyle in Uzbekistan

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes eating and shopping helped the locals as they heavily rely on tourism. Having been provided large water cans each day helped reduce using small individual bottles .

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

7

review 7 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Bukhara Ancient Citadel, Registan Square Samarkand, Train journey to Almaty

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It's full on from the moment you arrive so plenty of stamina is required. Consider taking probiotics before your vacation to avoid stomach/bowel problems.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I would like to think so. We ate at a local family's in Kyrgyzstan and stayed in a Yurt Camp run by locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I enjoyed our vacation very much although I would have liked to have had some free time which was meant to happen but never did!! We usually arrived after 5 to the hotel which meant little time to relax.

review 28 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Uzbekistan as a whole was the most interesting part of the trip. The night in a yurt in the mountains in Kyrgyzstan came a close second, with spectacular views of the Milky Way.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you try the local food. Take socks and a torch for your night in the yurt, and a spoon and fork for picnic lunches. Take a fabric carrier bag for your shopping so you don't have to use a plastic bag.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We visited local restaurants and bought local food. Plastic water bottles are a real problem creating litter almost everywhere. We were encouraged (rightly so) to hold onto and refill one smaller plastic bottle from a larger bottle supplied by the leader.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a really memorable experience, full of contrast.

review 11 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The livestock market at Kashgar.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It was very hot throughout, so take loose, cool clothing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Supported local people by eating in some homes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was very interesting, with an insight into post Russian life. The scenery in Kyrgyzstan was spectacular. The only downside was the guide in China was poor and we didn't spend enough time in the market.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies