23 independent reviews for Split to Dubrovnik Luxury cruise, Croatia

Reviews for Split to Dubrovnik Luxury cruise, Croatia

SHOW
17
4
2
0
0

review 24 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Relaxing on the top deck of the boat as the islands passed by

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The lower deck cabins are fine as you spend minimal time there.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It did try to. But there needs to be a plastic recycle bin for the empty water bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic. Wonderful. Great food And very relaxing combined with great cultural scenes and town tours.

review 28 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Enjoying the beautiful Croatian coastline and the rich history of the region.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to interact with your fellow cruisers.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited the local people as it is very obvious that the Croatian economy is overwhelmingly reliant on tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A fantastic vacation. A beautiful boat, great food and stunning scenery

review 23 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The amazing sights we saw - all of them from Dubrovnik to Split

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

No need for posh clothes and take comfortable shoes for walking around

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly benefited local people but I'm not sure about the environmental impacts

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 13 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The visit to small islands and visit to the blue caves. And also the visit to the Oyster farm.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Avoid rooms at the lower deck towards the machine room if you like if you are not an early riser. Not advisable for honey mooners.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

OF COURSE

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good we were lucky to get a very good tour guide

review 10 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was all memorable from start to finish

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go prepared to chill out, relax & meet new people

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe so as the islands were unique and unspoilt

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It exceeded my expectations

review 6 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being on the boat on top deck in the mornings passing through beautiful scenery in total peace, and swimming in clear seas was a dream!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a chance, it was magic, very safe and we were very well looked after.... not much luggage required.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the vacation benefited local people, we ate in the towns, gained a greater knowledge about Croatia. Sadly the large cruise lines really ruin Dubrovnik . It no longer feels authentic but more like Disneyland which is sad.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Our vacation was fabulous, it was our first cruise and we'd do it again We felt secure and totally relaxed. The beautiful scenery was gorgeous and the food very good . We met some nice people too but it was not forced. Excellent experience.

review 30 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our vacation was all the more enjoyable because travelled at a leisurely pace and could stop to swim in quiet bays. The atmosphere on the boat was relaxed and informal, so the range of nationalities and ages got on well together. The crew were friendly and helpful as well as being knowledgeable about the places we were visiting.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for a quiet week of gentle cruising though with visits to busy towns along the way e.g. Split and Dubrovnik. The vacation is sold through a number of companies in different parts of the world which may create different expectations. The Norwegian family of five (including two teenage boys and a younger daughter) were told it was a family-oriented trip. I don't think they were disappointed, nor were the older travelers.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The boat and crew were locals from a village near Split. The meals on board were all locally sourced. Most nights we had dinner in local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An excellent introduction to small boat cruising. One family had their passports etc stolen before they started their vacation and the captain was able to adapt the itinerary so they could go to Zagreb and still make the last couple of days of the vacation. Can't do that with 2000 passengers!

review 22 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The friendliness of crew and fellow passengers. We were a diverse group from South Africa, Chile, America, Belgium, Slovenia and U.K. and ALL got on very well together. We had 21st birthday and 52nd anniversary ( ours!) whilst on board and much merriment shared by all. The captain’s dinner entertainment was brilliant.. Minja ( our tour guide) was excellent. Very informative about our daily visits and activities, extremely helpful in so many ways and always friendly, patient and kind. She is a treasure.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

No need to bring towels for after swimming, or ‘noodles’ for non-confident swimmers....both are provided. But DO bring beach/swimming shoes as beaches tend to be pebbly.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Many evening meals were ashore therefore sustained the catering industry.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was the best vacation we’ve had for a long time. Every day we had interesting shore stops with well informed local guides telling us the local history as we walked through towns or state parks. Then there were the terrific sea stops in beautiful coves with pristine blue water for our daily swimming. It was great fun to just jump off the back of the ship, though you could climb down the steps into the water if you preferred. On ‘lazy’ days you could just sun bathe on the sun deck or sit in the jacuzzi which was very relaxing, the choice is yours. I’ve rated this as a 5-star vacation but 5 is nowhere near high enough...it was excellent in every respect.

review 3 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scenery cruising around the islands

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be sociable and you will find new and interesting friends

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as we had at least one meal ashore each day on the various islands. We were very environmentally conscience but I am not sure all the islands were involved in litter picking or using plastic alternatives.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Came up to all my expectations. The boat was comfortable and the crew very helpful

review 29 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The islands hopping loved being out at sea

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

That I wouldn't pay extra for a balcony, always go on a swim the water is cold but wonderfully refreshing, go on all the walking trips, don't miss the wall walk in Dubrovnik it closes at 1930,

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

N/A

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great

review 8 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Riding around Maher national park

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don’t feel obliged to do all the guided tours

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really. It did often feel as if there were too many people visiting Croatia.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

For a purported luxury vacation there were a few issues; - transfer from flight to boat had us waiting t the airport for 1.5 hours - tea and coffee was charged outside the hours of breakfast -paid for an upper cabin and got a lower deck cabin. Staff were very good and couldn’t fault them.

Read the operator's response here:

Firstly my apologies, I am not sure why you were charged for a main deck cabin and provided with a lower deck, this should not have happened and we will refund you the difference – A lower deck cabin was £1445 and upper deck was £1595, so we will refund £300 immediately. Some sites in Croatia, especially Dubrovnik, can get crowded in peak season, though some of the itinerary is designed to avoid the crowds by visiting places such as Vis and Mljet. The authorities in Dubrovnik re now starting to limit the large cruise ships that visit, as it is not just the number of visitors, but also the way they visit that can cause issues. We do state on our trip information that tea and coffee are not included in the cost. The wait for the transfer is highly unusual, but can happen at busy times I am afraid – We are trying to limit the number of vehicles employed for transfers by passengers sharing vehicles..

review 30 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Taking a cruise is largely hassle free so is the ideal choice for people looking for a vacation where they don't have to engage their brain too much. The walking tours were mostly very good quality and a great way of spending time with people who really know their city as well as people who are passionate about their country and its rich history.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring inflatables, games, download entertainment and have plenty to do for teens because these cruises tend to target the over 50s. Our teens resorted to watching the TV in their room too often for my liking, whereas a few games on deck or more water inflatables could have solved that very quickly.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback.. I am a little surprised to to see that you don't think the cruise will have benefited the local economy. The vessel is owned and crewed by Croatians, and all the food served on board is bought locally. Additionally you will have eaten ashore on most nights providing income for all the small restaurants and cafes that line the ports, and many of which grow their own produce locally, including wine, cheese and olives. The vessels pays mooring fees to the small ports that larger vessels cannot access thus helping maintain the ports facilities.

review 14 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Swimming in the Mediterranean for the first time. Eating traditional Croatian food in restaurants overlooking the sea. Visiting buildings older than my country. It was all a rich tapestry of idyllic vacation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Try everything you get the chance to try. Learn at least a little conversational Croatian. Embrace the opportunity to act like a native and absorb a bit of the culture. Don't be afraid, be curious.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In that Croatia's economy is hugely dependent on tourism, and our cruise was both small and focused on local businesses and real people, yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Five stars, 10/10, A++.

review 2 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The ship was beautiful, the scenery unbelievable and the medieval Dalmatian coast is surreal.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Stay before and after your cruise in the Old Towns

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We travel several times a year, and my wife thinks this was our best trip ever.

review 23 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The natural beauty of the Croatian coastline, the friendly staff and interesting fellow passengers.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The cruise is made easy and comfortable by the very competent and experienced staff.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, our excursions off the boat involved recommendations to local restaurants and facilities

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I had an excellent vacation

review 19 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All. Great to have independent free time.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Croatia is expensive.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Possibly. Eating dinner and having a drink locally (on shore) greatis good for the islands.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great and thanks to the hardworking crew and of course Mario!

review 15 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Swimming off the back boat each day great fun great company. Beautiful stops each nite fab vacation thanks.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

have a few days in. Split before and after great area.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10 out of 10

review 24 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Swimming off the back of the boat in crystal clear water in bright sunshine and surrounded by a stunning backdrop of mountains. The mix of nationalities, whether by chance or by design, made a huge difference - UK, Australia, New Zealand, Austria, Norway, Northern Ireland and Russia all represented and all (mostly) prepared to share experiences and contribute to the group.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you understand where the crowds will be so you can plan your visits. Learn the basic phrases in the local language and try them out with a smile.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly helped locals, although if the meals on board had been smaller we'd have spent more ashore. If managed properly then the use of small ships rather than multi-thousand passenger big ships is far less intrusive on local communities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The help from Responsible Travel in selecting the cruise, arranging the add-on at the start of the trip, hotels, rail tickets and transfers meant a stress free vacation.

review 27 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Having a nautical experience while knowing there were professional sailors at the helm. Each arrival at a new island brought new excitement.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't take too much - a carry on cabin case should suffice. And bring a sense of humour - there's many new friends to make. It helps if you like talking:-) Some of the ports can be noisy at night with young party goers so ear plugs are useful if you want to get an early night sleep.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, local people benefit from the on-shore spend and eating out.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Just go - it's a wonderful experience and I really feel grateful to have been there. Our fellow sailors became the Majestic Moments (named after the boat). There were so many majestic moments I didn't want to leave our wonderful boat and the jolly crew, plus the fastest Captain on the Adriatic.

review 28 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The memory of relaxing on the sun deck as the ship cruised through the crystal clear blue water whilst we also enjoyed stunning scenery as we approached different islands.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to enjoy a vacation that is accurately described and be brave and swim from the ship.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

On the islands we visited we were able to buy products grown/made locally so benefiting the local community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent guide and staff on board the ship, very well organised and relaxing vacation with a good group of passengers on board. It exceeded our expectations.

review 2 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Captains dinner on board the boat, interacting with the group and staff.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepare for cooler weather & rain.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I felt it contributed to the local economies (small islands) without disrupting the local environment

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

9/10

review 3 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Entering small harbours and exploring them on foot

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

be sure you want to spend a lot of time talking to other people.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Up to a point. We could have had much more fresh fruit bought locally. We did not need our towels changing half way through. this should be optional.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Good . Beautiful ship, lovely staff.

review 22 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Docking at all the different ports of call, beautiful places like a setting from a time capsule

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't take your mobile phone is number one, as you disturb all your fellow passengers.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yep it sure did but the pricing was a bit steep for what you received

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The food we were served up was well below what we all expected for an upmarket cruise, other then that all good, I would rate it a 7 due to the poor standard of the meals served up.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies