12 independent reviews for Skye and the Small Isles sailing vacation

Reviews for Skye and the Small Isles sailing vacation

SHOW
8
3
0
1
0

review 17 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The fantastic friendly crew helped make it an exciting vacation by making sure they did their best to help us see wildlife + stunning scenery & serving scrumptious meals. Having a couple of smaller boat trips as I struggle to walk made it extra special, getting closer to the seals + waterfall as well as seeing deer was extra special. I also really appreciated Natasha leaving a cup with teabag so I could enjoy an extra early cup of tea.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a sense of humour, flexibility & really relax! It is a wonderful trip. Don't be scared to ask if you want something at a different time as long as its not too difficult.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. I spent time & money visiting a local aquarium + buying local food & jewellery.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent & am very happy to tell everyone about it.

review 4 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Leaning over the bow of the ship watching dolphins enjoy the rush of the boat then joining up as a pod to race the seas jumping in unison.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be ready to enjoy delicious meals ie elastic waist bands. Dress warm to enjoy traveling on the bow of the ship.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the tour operator is involved in wildlife surveys and the crew very respectful of the environment. We were encouraged to shop locally and visit local sites.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Marvellous, I have dreamed of this and planned over three years to make it happen. This was a wonderful trip. The crew were generous with their time and talents. I look forward to trying another of their itineraries.

review 5 May 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The trips to Canna and the Shiants

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring clothes for every type of weather!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful! Comfortable boat - even if our cabin was a little cosy. Really good food. Friendly and helpful crew. Wonderful views and birdlife.

review 21 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing golden eagles

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You need to be fit to climb up and down ladder to cabins. If in non En suite cabins, there is no day light or ventilation. Not for the claustrophobic!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Slightly

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful opportunity to explore beautiful coastal waters around Jura and Mull. Food was outstanding, great crew. Very lucky with the mix of other passengers.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We do appreciate you taking the time. We are always very careful to send pictures of the stairs aboard our vessels and of the tender's boarding ladder to the people enquiring about a cruise as it is very important that our guests know what to expect. While there isn't a porthole in the cabin you had booked for your cruise, there is some ventilation. I would like to reassure you regarding our commitment to sustainable tourism. We always support local communities and employ the services of the local marina, shops, services, restaurants and guides. These suppliers employ local staff. We encourage our guests to visit locally important heritage sites, visit local gardens, craft shops and participate in cultural events. We also work with local wildlife rangers and tour guides. With regards to our environmental impact: We ask guests to bring their own water bottles which we refill. We do not use straws, plastic cutlery/plates, drink stirrers. We recycle all of our waste where it is possible to do so. We buy items with minimal packaging. Engine revolutions are kept to a minimum to reduce fuel consumption. We do not travel at night as we anchor in secluded anchorages and in two of our vessels the fuel consuming generators are switched off to give quiet ships. All fuel usage is recorded so that fuel consumption can be tightly monitored. Our company depends largely on the internet and word of mouth for marketing to reduce paper waste. We use low energy LEDs where possible. When purchasing equipment, priority is given to the products that consume less water, energy and fuel. Guests traveling all the way by public transport (bus, ferry or train) will receive a Green Voucher towards the cost of their cruise. We try to use seasonal and locally produced food when possible, which, unfortunately, isnt always the case, depending on the season and demand. Vegetarians and Vegans are catered for. We are also supporting various wildlife Trusts and were awarded, following a detailed inspection, The Green Tourism's Gold Award. I hope that this will be helpful. We hope to see you soon again for another Hebridean, marine adventure.

review 24 Apr 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 2 Oct 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The stunning views and landscapes

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If going at the beginning or end of the season expect changes! Enjoy the serendipity of unexpected places.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Probably only minimally except for around Oban with crewing, requistioning for the boat.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant, highly enjoyed it all

review 8 Sep 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Stunning scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't pack too much and if you haven't experienced a small boat vacation before, be prepared for small cabins.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people - use of restaurants, pubs, gift shops.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - great scenery, food and crew

review 28 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The wildlife and exceptional weathet

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book for all seasons and remember your binoculars watching a sea eagle and her young flying was beautiful

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Using the village shops on the island to benefit local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good, food and accommodation great and wildlife watching wondering where they would appear

review 11 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was a very peaceful vacation. We travelled to remote locations which made this a very relaxing trip. Not being in contact with the outside world, away from Covid and lockdown insanity, was a godsend. Skye and Canna - the King of Norways grave - were favourites and being to kayak on Lochaline, among seals.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The shop etc is closed on Sunday on Muck! Make sure you try kayaking

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefitted local people, especially on Canna. Good bar.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

5/5 We thoroughly enjoyed this and would look to book another. Fabulous food by Jenna!

review 8 Aug 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Anchoring in beautiful locations such as Loch Scavaig and Canna, and going ashore to walk and explore. Sad to say Wildlife at sea was a bit thin - perhaps we were unlucky.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

On St Hilda boat be aware that the 2 small cabins are actually VERY small and cramped, and not good if you are at all claustrophobic. Older less agile customers may have problems, and be better off in the larger boats (though not having been on them we cannot be sure!). Dont expect any comfy seating on deck. Probably all fine for younger passengers!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No not particularly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Enjoyable some of the time ! - on board we had good helpful staff, and good company.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. There are pictures of our three vessels' cabins on our website to help our future guests decide if this vacation is suitable for them. I am sorry if you didn't see these. I should have made sure that you had seen them. I would like to reassure you regarding our commitment to sustainable tourism. We always support local communities and employ the services of the local marina, shops, services, restaurants and guides. These suppliers employ local staff. We encourage our guests to visit locally important heritage sites, visit local gardens, craft shops and participate in cultural events. We also work with local wildlife rangers and tour guides. With regards to our environmental impact: We ask guests to bring their own water bottles which we refill. We do not use straws, plastic cutlery/plates, drink stirrers. We recycle all of our waste where possible. We buy items with minimal packaging. Engine revolutions are kept to a minimum to reduce fuel consumption. We do not travel at night as we anchor in secluded in anchorages and in two of our vessels the fuel consuming generators are switched off to give quiet ships. On St Hilda, where possible, we set the sails. All fuel usage is recorded so that fuel consumption can be tightly monitored. Our company depends largely on the internet and word of mouth for marketing to reduce paper waste. We try to use seasonal and locally produced food. Vegans are catered for. We use low energy LEDs where possible. We are also members of the Marine Conservation Society, the Shark Trust, The Hebridean Whake and Dolphin Trust an have been awarded the Green Tourism's Silver Award. I am very pleased that you enjoyed anchoring in secluded places of natural beauty and also sharing life aboard with our staff and other guests.

review 8 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Exploring the beautiful coastline around Mull, Loch Sunart and Loch Teacuis.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Wetsuits were really useful when kayaking. Thermals for the cooler times outside. Very snug and cosy in the lounge in the evening.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Fresh supplies bought in Tobermory. Great care taken in dealing with refuse.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent initial safety briefing and tour of boat with skipper, Christoph and chef and crew, Amy, really gave us confidence and enabled us to enjoy our time on this beautiful ketch. Superb scenery and wildlife. Christoph shared his knowledge about sailing and the local area and Amy served us some delicious, inventive meals. Wonderful company and an amazing experience.

review 4 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I was very happy that we found the puffins rock (Dn Mr) on Sanday. With another traveler I surrounded the peninsula with the help of a map with only a few details like some walls, the church and the silhouette of the island - no paths! But the puffins were exactly where they had been indicated on the map, and we had a wonderful, long walk. But I also enjoyed the boat trips - plenty of time to watch the sea, the sky, the birds, the seals, even some dolphins...

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy a wake-up-swimming from the boat in the morning - I wish I could continue to start my days like this! I brought several different shoes, but I found my waterproof sandals most practical for most purposes except for the longer walks.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We had mostly local (and very delicious!) food and bought souvenirs in the local shops and didn't leave any garbage on the islands.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I spent a wonderful, varied, exciting, relaxing and to my surprise even culinary week in Scotland with very nice people (travelers and crew). Of course none of us is used to share his room with three strangers, but everybody was very flexible and considerate and so we had a great time very close to nature. Thank you very much!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy