19 independent reviews for Turquoise Coast luxury gulet cruise, Turkey

Reviews for Turquoise Coast luxury gulet cruise, Turkey

SHOW
16
2
1
0
0

review 25 Jul 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scenery was beautiful, and the staff were excellent, particularly ďHasanĒ with my grandchildren.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The weather was a bit hot, try to go earlier than July.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, everyone was conscious of it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We are a family who live in different part of the world, and to go on vacation together is our treat. Responsible Travel, did very well in Croatia a few years ago, and even better in Turkey. Looking forward to the next one, with your help.

review 11 Oct 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were so many! Boarding Fortuna and realising that it really was a luxury cruise! Our cabin and all the amenities/facilities exceeded our expectations by far, as did the wonderful service we received from our Captain and crew. The wonderful food, all freshly prepared and a great variety. Diving from the ship into crystal clear waters. Snorkeling and kayaking. Having plenty of time to explore some hidden gems in areas not generally visited by tourists. One particular afternoon sailing across a dead calm sea with the beautiful mountains as a gorgeous backdrop. Stargazing at night, then going to bed listening to the little waves gently lapping against the hull. However probably our favourite memory will be of our fellow passengers! We all bonded pretty much at once, and sharing such a journey with such a lovely group made everything even more perfect. The friendships we made are going to continue, and our group is already talking about possibly making another trip together.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Donít pack much. We pretty much lived in swimsuits with just a beach wear cover up and shorts/tshirts/sundress for the shore excursions. Beach shoes a good idea. We changed for the evening meal into something a bit more dressy but thereís no need to take a lot of different outfits. Take a light cardigan or jacket for evenings or perhaps something warmer if particularly early or late in the season. Shoes arenít worn on board so you only need casual shoes for shore excursions. Thereís hanging space in the cabin plus several large drawers and cupboards but your suitcase will probably be stored under the bed so itís best to unpack what you think youíll need. You need to be able to manage the stairs to the cabins. Prepare to relax and have fun!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Talking to people in Bodrum made us realise what a huge and positive effect the small ship cruise industry has for local people, being responsible for employing a great many people both directly and indirectly. We noted the small "rubbish collecting" boats which came out to meet the ships in all sorts of places and took the ships rubbish away for sorting and disposal. We also noted that nothing at all was dumped overboard which was to be expected but still reassuring to see.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This vacation was pretty much perfect in every way. Stunning and ever-changing scenery, interesting and fun fellow travelers to chat with, or just curl up in the sun or in a quiet corner to read or doze. Fantastic meals from our chef and five star service from captain and crew. Plus great service during the booking and pre-trip process. Many thanks to you all!

review 26 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 12 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

My fellow passenger, and the very interesting, varied and high quality food.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Always be open and welcoming to what will be a small ship's complement of passengers and crew.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Only indirectly, as the ship would be serviced and maintained as part of what is now a large local maritime support industry employing many hundreds of local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Superb in every way.

review 6 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The boat, the people, the staff, the trips.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just do it!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I LOVED it and was so sad to leave.

review 21 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The experience of being at sea in a relatively small vessel crewed by obviously very skilled people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be realistic about this not being a five star cruise liner. The Gulet is comfortable,adequately equipped for sleeping and eating but spaces are necessarily less generous than on cruise ships. Our cook performed miracles in providing excellent meals of good quality and quantity but it is not an a la carte variety.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Any tourism business is good for the host country.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Superb. Unreservedly an unmissable experience.

review 26 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The gorgeous gulet and meeting great people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go in July or August when the weather is more predictable.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I enjoyed it but would have loved a few more choices in terms of daily activities.

review 21 Oct 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being on the Gulet along Turkeyís stunning Turquoise Coast was beautiful and restful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring books - there is a lot of down-time! Pack enough sunscreen - there are very few days with access to shops.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No. The litter on some of the shores is appalling! Boat operators could be working with local communities to facilitate garbage collection.The prevalence of single-use water bottles was distressing! At the very least, larger refillable water containers could be used on board. Surely solar power and / or solar hot water would save money AND reduce the need for noisy diesel motors! When the motor wasnít running there was no air-conditioning - making the cabins very uncomfortable - and no hot water for showers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Mostly enjoyable.

Read the operator's response here:

Hello Ursula. Thank you for your feedback, i am pleased that you enjoyed your cruise. The litter is sometimes poor in some areas. The vessels team, and many others, do run a beach clean up in November - They are too busy working on the ships from March - October to do any other time. This is an issue that is not created by the vessels, but is a (world) wide problem, and one that they do what they can to mitigate. Unfortunately current technology does not provide a reasonable alternative to diesel engines - We hope they will come soon, but, like no doubt the plane that you used to get to Turkey, until suitable technology is available, there are no practical alternatives. The generator is turned on when the motor is stopped, that means hot water too. Only from 2.00 am to 7.30 am are both the generator and engines stopped. Water bottles are used because the passengers on board ask for cold water, and the vessels don't have a good way yet of having a large watercooler that keeps the water cold all the time.

review 25 Sep 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting new friends

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Arrive in a hotel early in Bodrum if possible, to join the Gulet in harbour.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, co-passengers and ourselves were in a 'bubble' on board in order to be Covid-secure.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic!

review 20 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 14 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 15 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We loved being on the boat, seeing the islands, a wish come true.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Donít pack too much!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so. We brought water bottles, but plastic bottles of water were given every day.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The cruise was wonderful! Our cabin was comfortable and bathroom more spacious than expected. The crew was warm and friendly, the 2 cruise managers were knowledgeable and helpful. The food delicious at every meal.

review 16 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The Gulet Cruise

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy yourselves

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Mainly the local travel company. Spent a little on the few trips ashore.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent company, crew, boat, weather and scenery

review 24 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Getting away from it all, and seeing things we would have never seen otherwise.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just do it!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This vacation was a 10 out of 10! What a great time. Thank you.

review 18 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Daily swimming and other water activities in the most beautiful and secluded bays.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't bother taking too many clothes or shoes. It's all very informal

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really other than the odd purchase from local traders and paying entrance fees for visits to places of interest

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very relaxing and comfortable with good friendly service on board

review 10 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The couple who had booked to sail on this gulet, cancelled at the last minute, so I was the sole passenger on board and was treated like royalty by the crew of 3.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The itinerary was pretty flexible IE we weren't allowed to visit Greek island of Simi. Also, gulet living space would have been pretty cramped if all 4 cabins were occupied.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefitted locals definitely. The Data Peninsula seems to be largely beautifully preserved and protected in its natural state; unspoiled by commercial developments.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10 out of 10. Charming, professional, hard-working crew; superb service and delicious cuisine

review 3 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The food was excellent, in fact too good and we tended to overeat three fine meals daily. The fresh caught fish we had was the best we've had in our memory. The crew was very attentive.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You don't need much. Make sure to bring a sweater or sweatshirt since the sea is cool on warm days and evenings. Bring books and perhaps a local tour guide although wifi is usually available.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, all work done by locals. Very clean limited use of resources.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very relaxing, comfortable and nothing like the liner cruises.

review 17 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting great new friends.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Call the local rep to find out where the boat is on the day of departure or have the rep place a sign on the harbour walkway in instances where the boat is docked behind another boat and therefore not instantly visible.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really. More sailing rather than motoring would have made it a better trip and reduced environmental impacts. More separation of waste should be available. Reduction in single use plastics would also support conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent! The captain and crew crew were lovely and the food was of a high standard. However, guests' food preferences were not well catered for despite prior requests for food likes and dislikes. Often the protein was described incorrectly by crew. The itinerary was great, although an extra day in Greece would have been good. It would also have been good to know when we were going to be docked in a harbour versus a bay. We were plagued by flies on the Friday in Turkey. WiFi was poor and could only take 9 connections, we were told. Cabins were hot at night (in October!) as air conditioning was scarcely available.

Read the operator's response here:

Hello David, thank you for your feedback and I am glad to see you enjoyed the vacation. The vessels we use for these cruises can and do sail where they can - as much as anything it helps keep the costs down as well as being better for the environment. However the week you were cruising there were some unseasonal high winds which meant that the itinerary had to be altered and that it was not possible to sail due to the prevailing conditions. Normally the end of September and October are very pleasant, but we did have problems for 2 weeks in September and 2 weeks in October this year. The captain discussed the itinerary with everyone on board and did try to accommodate everyone's wishes within what was safely possible. The itinerary does state whether you will be in port or a bay each day, but as the itinerary had to be changed, and on one night the passengers requested to stay in a bay rather than the port. The captain should keep all passengers informed fo the plan for that day in the daily briefing, though it is possible the weather dictated some late changes. With the air-conditioning it is usually turned off sometime after midnight, but the captain will always keep it on if requetsed. Wifi is a little hit and miss, and is worse when the weather isn't so good as that is when everyone wants to use it. Also, the vessel is at the mercy of the local infrastructure and Greece is certainly not as good as Turkey. Re waste and plastic. I couldn't agree more, and the vessels captain and crew too. Practicalities of sailing on these very small ships do retsrict what can be done. However I believe that most water is provided in pitchers at meals, with plasctic bottled water only provided in your cabin and on deck where it isn't practical to offer a water cooler or jugs of water. I am very surprised to hear that food preferences were not well catered for, Yilmaz, your service manager speaks excellent English and usually discusses every meal with bth the chef and the clients to make sure everyone is well informed. I will check why this wasn't the case for you. I hope you enjoyed the whole experience, we have provided your feedback to the vessel so they can see if there is anything they could improve on. Many thanks Powell Ettinger

review 5 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Great boat, super food, good company

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be aware the air con is not the best and take your own wine, no choice

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

A little

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic. The tour operator was efficient, professional and friendly.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy