12 independent reviews for Montenegro activity vacation, adrenaline adventure

Reviews for Montenegro activity vacation, adrenaline adventure

SHOW
11
1
0
0
0

review 4 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We have to split that question. The most memorable part was the fantastic scenery, the most exciting was the either the horse riding, canyoning or quad biking. Depends who you ask.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Stan and Gorca put on a fantastic trip but make sure you have a good choice of boots and clothing

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did. Not sure how any trip like this involving aeroplanes cars and minibuses to move people around could possibly reduce environmental impacts however.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant. Great hosts and well organised. They managed to cater for a family with very awkward dietary requirements.

review 27 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All parts of the vacation were brilliant, but as a family of 5 we all liked different things. We all loved the zip wiring across the Tara Canyon and rafting as we saw stunning scenery in a thrilling way!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring some warm clothes, the evenings can be chilly!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Stan encouraged us to support the small local farmers by buying berries and honey from them. The environmental impact of our stay seemed minimal.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant. Stan and Goca were a brilliant team in organising, welcoming, preparing and leading us on our days activities and their children were so welcoming to our three children making the whole experience so much easier. The accommodation was perfect for us and nothing was too much trouble. When our arrival was delayed by a day, Stan did everything he could to ensure we didn't miss out on anything, he didn't make a big deal out of it at all. This is the perfect family vacation if you are keen to experience Montenegro, have a go at some physically activities including some with a bit of a buzz and have a chance to chill out. I highly recommend!! Thank you Stan and Goca for making this such a great experience for us all

review 19 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I liked the white water rafting and my 17 year old loved the canyoning. My daughter loved the horse riding. We all loved stand hospitality and his wifeís delicious food

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Definitely take advantage of the tours as itís a beautiful place

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we went to local shops and the trips were provided by local companies

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A very different vacation with an excellent host who made the vacation so easy. It was brilliant.

review 9 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Certainly canyoning, but all the activities were run seamlessly by some great people and we had fabulous time overall

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Prepare for all sorts of weather. We had to use the bin bags for waterproofs when we got cough while cycling in the mountains. Buy wild strawberries from the street vendors

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the activities were run by local people - they were all very knowledgeable and passionate about their country which was great.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

5 stars! Stanko & Goca were so hospitable, friendly, helpful and flexible. They made a great experience, an unforgettable one. Thank you both

review 7 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The activities we did were all pretty memorable. The scenery is beautiful and the canyoning was a highlight for my husband and our two older children. However, the most memorable part was to be welcomed by our hosts Stan and Gotza as if we were family, hearing their stories about the region and feeling like we were a part of the real Montenegro. It wasn't 5* luxury but the experience gave us so much more.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure to pack rain jackets and a warm jumper as the weather in the mountains can turn very quickly!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it did benefit local people as a lot of the activities we did (zip wiring, rafting and canyoning) were organised by local companies. The operator also seems to employ locals for their building needs etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fabulous and interesting. Everything was very well organised. Our hosts were very warm and welcoming, and helped us get a flavour of the real Montenegro from telling us more about the history of the place to cooking local meals. The nature is absolutely stunning in some places. We all felt a sense of achievement once we got home from our various activities and plumped in our lounge chairs to read a book or relax. We highly recommend it!

review 12 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most exciting part of our travel was the canyoning! The walk is 1.5 km and there are jumps up to 10 metres high. Local guides (who are also search rescuers) help you with the canyoning and also make pictures. All equipment are provided. Really outstanding experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just go for it and be prepared for a lot of physical activity. Also bring different kind of clothes because the weather and temperature changes quickly on the mountains.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes because the activities were all organised by locals. We ate food from the local area and on the last night we were taken to a national restaurant for dinner.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We stayed for 5 nights and did activities everyday except the day of arrival. We did our activities in the day and usually had the rest of the day (4pm onwards) to ourselves. The places we went to were beautiful and you will find a wide variety of sceneries all located very close to each other. We'd recommend it to families, couples and groups of friends looking for a unique vacation full of adventure and fun. Stan (our host) was very accommodating and picked us up/dropped us off from the airport. He can provide suggestions for activities according to your preferences.

review 11 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being with our children doing new and exciting activities together, despite their 7 yr age gap. Paragliding was pretty awesome too! (3 children; two 17yr olds and one 10yr old)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it! It was fabulous. Stan and Goca are fantastic hosts and Goca makes the best pies in Montenegro!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it was good to support the local families selling fruit and to use local guides and shops.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!! The flexibility of the itinerary and Stan and Goca's care and enthusiasm were fabulous, as well as their willingness to share local knowledge and history.Jen, Bertie, Katharine, Fizzy and Henry.

review 2 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Climbing up babintuk mountain.. but so many others came close....canyoning and swimming in glacial lakes. Beautiful scenery.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is a must do trip for anyone looking for physical and mental challenge and beautiful scenery coupled with fantastic hosts, company and food.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes where trips needed expert guides they were all locals and we stopped at local villagers market stalls for supplies and treats.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The best ever....and ive travelled alot!

review 16 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We enjoyed every minute of our stay. It's difficult to pick out one particular highlight because it was all fantastic. From wild swimming to rafting to cycling and trekking - an amazing experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring appropriate clothing and bags of energy!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - Stan is very supportive of local farms and businesses and also encouraged us to use them. He explained a lot about nature conservation and is passionate about preserving the natural beauty and character of the local area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Outstanding. We made some great family memories here. The Durmitor region is stunning and totally unspoiled. The camp is perfectly located, but what was most impressive was the hospitality provided by Stan and Goca - genuinely lovely people who go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. The range of activities is great and there are plenty of other options to choose from. It was a full-on few days but Goca's amazing cooking kept us well fuelled! We'll be back!

review 9 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We've just returned from a one week family vacation in Zabljak. Stan and Gorska were fantastic hosts and the other two families staying there were great company. The accommodation is comfortable, homely and spacious. There was a great range of well-planned activities, all pretty close to our camp - hiking, white water rafting, swimming, 850m zip line across the Tara valley, biking, canyoning and horse riding. We would love to have tried the paragliding too but ran out of time! Great local food and good atmosphere in the nearby town. Being up in the mountains it was warm but not too hot (cooler in the evenings) which was ideal as the activities are quite strenuous.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 18 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Stan is a fantastic camp director! We cannot recommend this experience highly enough. Stan went out of his way to provide us with challenging and exciting activities each day in Durmitor National Park with skilled local guides. We arrived a day late due to an airline delay so Stan included our missed activities on the last day of our stay. Instead of leaving in the morning, we spent time on another mountain peak, ate a delicious traditional meal and departed late in the day. Stan also re-arranged the activities based on the current mountain weather, saving our hike up Bobatov Kuk for a beautiful sunny day so we would have the best views.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Stan is warm and personable and very committed to providing a memorable experience. He also went above and beyond to schedule sailing and sightseeing for us at the beach after our official 6 days was over in the National Park.

review 30 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The canyoning was the best! Mickey was a great tour leader and it was an adventure that I had not had before. Be brave and go for it on the jumps!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, by using local tour guides, I know that we were feeding the local economy. I would suggest providing guests with large jugs of water instead and asking guests to bring refillable water bottles so as not to use so many small water bottles for daily lunch trips.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great! It was the perfect mix of adventure and relaxation. It was a week of being in nature, which is what I had hoped for, but also provided mornings and evenings to relax and read a book.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies