24 independent reviews for Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh vacation in Vietnam

Reviews for Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh vacation in Vietnam

SHOW
11
11
2
0
0

review 30 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our trips to the Ben Tre coconut farm and our cycle tour to meet local families in Hanoi were our favourite parts of the trip.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take lots of toilet paper and a sleeping bag liner if using the overnight train.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We felt that our vacation benefitted local people directly by using local guides and services. Although it is difficult to reduce environmental impacts when traveling, we felt that the operator made every attempt to do so, for example by using public transport, encouraging the use of re- fillable water bottles and discouraging the use of single use plastics wherever possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a fantastic trip and would highly recommend it to others!

review 8 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sailing through the Mekong Delta; tasting the multitude of street food in Hanoi; visiting the lovely Hoi An. Touring around on the back of a motorbike in Hue!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to be on the move and up early each morning! Take food and drink supplies for the overnight train to Hue. Optional tour to the Cu Chi tunnels recommended! If you can, try to arrive the day before the tour starts and then have a few days after the tour ends to relax...ideally on one of the lovely islands!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Good interaction with local people and small businesses...tuk tuk drivers and coconut candy makers in the Mekong Delta; family cooked lunch in Hue; tailor in Hoi An! Water provided in the bus was great as everyone just brings their own refillable bottle.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great way to see a lot of this lovely country and to meet lots of very welcoming local people. Plenty of opportunities to link in with the group or to do your own thing, whichever suits you best. Our local tour guide, Duy, was brilliant...great fun and really contributed to a great vacation.

review 5 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The motorbike tour was absolutely fantastic; our drivers were fun and I always felt safe. The most beautiful part of the trip by far was Hoi An. It is very clean with beautiful shopping streets, high end and cheap (but good) tailors and an incredible beach. The hotels in Hue and Hoi An were stunning and both had a pool.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring a thermal keep cup (for hot or cold drinks) and a reusable straw and cutlery. Maybe even a Tupperware box if you have the room. The whole of Vietnam is very disposable and the rubbish problem is very visable in most areas unfortunately. Most coaches used have a big bottle of water you can fill your bottles from.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Trips like the one to the nunnery (with a beautiful vegan lunch) and to see the women making coconut sweets were nice additions to the trip that helped to support locals. Unfortunately a lot of the meals included in the trip came with bottled water and I didnít feel our vacation was environmentally friendly. We were given a tote bag at the beginning of the trip yet our tour guide did not encourage members to use it when purchasing goods.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The tour was an absolutely great way to see Vietnam in a short period of time. The boat trip in Halong Bay exceeded our expectations of comfort. The night train was an amazing experience but definitely not a comfortable one. The views from the window in the morning more than made up for it though! Our tour guide was lovely and tried her hardest to keep everyone happy. I would definitely recommend this tour but would suggest adding on an additional day in Hanoi to see some sights before meeting the rest of the group.

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Sophie, thanks so much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your time with us was. We just wanted to get in touch to address any concerns you had in relation to how you vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation. In any country where tap water isnít safe to drink, avoiding bottled water is difficult. In Vietnam, like in many hot countries, itís long been considered good customer service to provide visitors with chilled water when joining a day trip or sitting down to a meal. This continues to be the case in many places and part of what we do is educating both travelers and suppliers around this problem. We need to be considerate of our suppliersí wish to be hospitable, while letting them know that traveler values are changing and are happy with alternatives to individual bottles of water. We realise this is a really important issue for our travelers so one small thing weíve done in Vietnam is to have refillable water available in our private buses and some hotels. We train our leaders on how to speak about responsible travel, but how they deliver this on trip does vary with each leaderís unique style. We appreciate the feedback that your leader didnít encourage use of the tote bags and have shared your feedback with their manager for further training and development.

review 11 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cruise on Ha Lon Bay.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

There is not enough time to see Hanoi or Saigon.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The guide was rude, vindictive and generally unhelpful. The guide did not give us much information on the history and culture on the places we travelled through. His behaviour results in my downrating this trip to - It was Ok

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Winifred, We write with reference to your recent correspondence to us regarding your travels on our Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh Vacation in Vietnam. This is simply a quick email to let you know that we have received your important contact. Your comments are incredibly valuable to us and we will be taking some time in order to look into the matters raised as we also appreciate that it is important to you that we understand your experience. Your correspondence has been passed onto our Customer Relations team who will liaise with all appropriate personnel in Australia and overseas. Please allow us up to 28 business days to reply however we do endeavour to respond to you sooner. In the meantime, should you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us. If you prefer to discuss your comments and concerns over the phone, please provide us with your best contact number so we can arrange a call during business hours.

review 2 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Every day brought another great experience however, the highlight for me was visiting the coconut gardens in the Mekong Delta.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This vacation was organised very well and was comfortable throughout in terms of accommodation. My only tip would be to bring your own pillow case and sheet for the overnight train journey.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. I felt local guides were used and homestay lunches provided. There were always large water containers to refill our bottles. We were encouraged to say no to plastic bags and use a canvas bag. Small steps but important nonetheless.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

5 stars. I absolutely loved the places we visited and was surprised at how good the accommodation was. Our tour guide was brilliant too.

review 20 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Halong Bay

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just go for it!!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we were able to eat in a KOTO know one teach one restaurant which was delicious

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent well worth the long journey

review 4 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I'm afraid it was that intangible mix of the group which happened by luck which made vacation, It could have been good without the right people, everything was perfectly timetabled, but the enjoyment was from the singing on the overnight train, the complete bonding we had as a group. Oh and the food was fab, the countryside was fab, the towns... fab... actually all was fab

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is not a relaxation and swimming tour, swimming happens but there is always other stuff to do

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Grief yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic (glad to be at home to unwind.. I like that sort of vacation!!)

review 7 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting veterans from the war at an abandoned checkpoint, hearing history in the citadel, eating with a family in their home, war remnants museum, scooter tour in the villages.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Try everything - food, climbs, rides, meet local families - it's the best way to see the country

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our bags were made by local disabled craft people, and we had local guides and visited local families and businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic - never a wasted moment and every day different. Made me want to return again.

review 1 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The people we travelled with and our funny and very caring guide Thanh!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book it!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good value for money and well planned.

review 7 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Halong Bay and Hue

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for moving around regularly

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Good

review 21 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Rowing down the mekong delta.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Maybe tag on cambodia to this trip as a number of our group did this.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We visited local centers and supported local business.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic. We had a wonderful guide tao for which nothing was too much trouble.

review 25 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Ha long bay and spending the night on the boat. The cave at the bay was also phenomenal.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go. Go. Go. Very reasonably priced, flawless execution, accommodations wonderful, very well taken care of. And fun!!! Can't wait to go on another trip.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes very much so. The guide was instrumental and employing local residents. Doing the laundry for us, a lovely dinner at a residence house, employing motorbike drivers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. I gave five stars because it's the best vacation I've been on recently. I can't say in my whole life but it was fantastic. Our tour operator does an awesome job. The guide was so great for the job. Knowledgeable, organized, friendly and kind, just can't say enough good things about Vinh. Seamless.

review 12 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Climbing Mount Kinabalu was exhausting but amazing! Traveling through the Vietnamese countryside on the back of a motorbike. Watching the sun rise over Angkor Wat.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you have a plenty of storage space on your camera/phone - you'll take hundreds of photos!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes - this is something that all the guides were very keen for us to be aware of

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

excellent! I did three trips in one and whilst it meant living out of a suitcase for a month, it was well worth it!

review 30 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Halong Bay Cruise, cycling trip in Hoi An, motorbike ride in Hue, overnight train from Hanoi to Hue.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring good mood along!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really, at least not that I am particularly aware of.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Perfect.

review 29 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The ancient town of Hoi An.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Leave room in your suitcase. You'll want to buy a lot!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely the people. Environmental decisions are made with the best intentions, but in any country where you can't drink the tap water, avoiding disposable plastic bottles is difficult.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic

review 16 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Getting to know the country and its culture, meeting local people and learning about their daily life was very interesting and memorable. All the activities: motorbikes, cycling, boats, etc were also very exiting, full of new experiences. The food was always great but the best meal for me was the one we have inside a nunnery.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be curious about the country and its people and ask questions to your guides, they are full of information.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. We stayed in local hotels, ate in local restaurants, all the guides were locals and we shopped in markets and local shops. We tried to reduce environmental impact but I think some work need to be done on reducing the consumption of small plastic bottles of water.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, very interesting and exciting. Very well organized.

review 26 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sunset from our comfy boat on Halong Bay was very special, as was wandering about the Citadel at Hue, and the lantern lit streets of Hoi An.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The night train is a challenge, comfy but very noisy! Take ear plugs and eye shades and don't expect to get much sleep.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We had one supper with a local family, otherwise not particularly as using lots of transport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fascinating country, and very moving to see first hand all that the Vietnamese endured during "the Amercian war". Hotels were comfy, it was very well organised and good value with an excellent tour leader.

review 13 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of it - truly, a great decision to go. Wonderful people to travel with in a truly special country. Healing Bay & Hoi An take some beating.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it - you won't regret it.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It was geared toward behaving responsibly for the environment & as a good tourist. No bad thing.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Utterly memorable. I loved it!

review 25 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Whilst in Hoi An, going out on a scooter trip organised by ourselves (5 of us) and seeing the real Vietnam we wouldn't have normally seen. The Local area, meeting the guide's wife and being allowed to see his house, a really memorable trip. The other great trip was also on scooters to the Imperial Citadel. This again was great, we had really good drivers and again saw a lot of the local area not normally seen as unable to get much more than a bike down the lanes. I hope they keep this particular trip in the itinerary.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go with an open mind. Be friendly and it will be given in return.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I did.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A most enjoyable time. It makes you appreciate what you have at home and take for granted.

review 17 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was great but the most memorable part was probably the motorbike tour through the countryside around Hue.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

As with all group travel, it helps to "go with the flow" in order to get the most from your trip. I was with people who were at least 15 years younger than me and I occasionally had to remind myself that I had been their age once!! Having said that they were all very friendly and we all got on OK. There was another group we came across where I would have been one of the youngest...you don't know what the demographic of the groups will be...it's all part of the adventure! The trip itself is more about experiencing or getting to know the culture and customs of the Vietnamese and is not a "sightseeing tour" in the traditional sense - there is no wall to wall commentary but if you've read up a bit beforehand or take your Lonely Planet guide with you, then you can supplement the information given by the tour leader. The true value of the tour leader is their local insight.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to some extent. We were encouraged to refill our water bottles from a large water container which our tour leader bought along the way. We visited a craft workshop which employs disabled people and teaches them a craft. We also had dinner at Koto in Hanoi which is run by former street children or children from deprived backgrounds. Our transportation was mainly by tour bus. The overnight train was probably the most environmentally friendly mode of transport (though there were options to take bike or cyclo tours in certain cities) but this was probably offset by the flight from Hue to Hanoi! It's hard to combine environmentally friendly transportation with such a busy schedule with so much ground to cover.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good - I truly enjoyed the whole experience.

review 27 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The cruise in Halong Bay and the Mekong River outing

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Budget for an additional day at Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City respectively. Plus carry sample garments for stitching at Hoi An.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I'm not sure.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

My wife and I enjoyed ourselves. We had great company and the outings we well planned.

review 18 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Had a wonderful group of people on the tour, aged from 19 to 70, singles, couples. We all got on really well and enjoyed spending time together. Riding round Hue on the back of a motorbike.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax, let the guide take the strain!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we went to local restaurants and family run rather than commercial shopping outlets

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Best vacation ever!!!

review 2 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were so many memorable moments on this fantastic trip but Halong Bay was wonderful and so was the Mekong Delta Tour. The best thing about the trip was our local guide Lam, he made the tour enjoyable and fun and kept us entertained and informed during our long coach trips. He gave us insight into the people and culture of Vietnam and we were all sad to leave him at the end of our 10 days.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for some very long days and the heat! Travel light! Beware of bag snatchers in Saigon.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I'm sure the trip benefitted local people as we were spending money everywhere we went and constantly tipping. I'm not sure about the environmental impact. I was very disappointed with the environmental damage at Halong Bay, the water is polluted with rubbish already, I hate to think how this will be in a few years to come. I worry about the pollution of the rivers and sea as the the Vietnamese do not seem to have a handle on this. I liked the the idea of supporting the industries in the Mekong Delta such as the Coconut industies.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic experience, would recommend it and would book another vacation with the operator.

review 25 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Difficult to choose just one part - the Halong Bay overnight boat trip was fascinating, the trip into the Mekong Delta most enjoyable, but perhaps the two days in Hoi An gave us the best flavour of the country - varied activities and relaxing.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It can be wet and quite cold in Hanoi in early March - a fleece and waterproof are a wise precaution. You don't need many clothes - light, informal wear (with an opportunity for cheap, high quality laundry in Hoi An. Arrange to spend a day in Hanoi before the start of the trip (it doesn't start until 18:00 on the first day) and a day in Saigon at the end (don't miss the water puppet theatre.)

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Apart from the visit to the Koto restaurant in Saigon at the end, we were not really made aware of this aspect of the trip, although the optional excursion by bicycle and the cookery course in Hoi An brought us more into contact with local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Good value for money. The itinerary was clear and accurate, excellent guide, adequate hotels and good transport. Fulfilled our expectations.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies