11 independent reviews for Galapagos cruises

Reviews for Galapagos cruises

SHOW
8
3
0
0
0

review 2 Aug 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were so many memorable parts of our vacation in the Galapagos. Possibly the most exciting was getting within inches of so many different kinds of animals - blue footed boobies, sea lions, waved albatrosses, sea turtles, you name it.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Definitely use the wetsuits when you snorkel! And don't skip anything. The guides are great and make sure that each activity is accessible.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The guides and boat crew were all local and we were conscious of minimizing impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Both the week-long island-hopping tour on the Nemo II and the 3 or 4 days we spent on Isabella were wonderful. I highly recommend both.

review 5 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Snorkeling with the Galapagos penguins!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take an underwater camera, there's so much to see

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The boat was Galapagos built, owned and crewed. The guides were always ensuring we observed the national park rules.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Outstandingly fantastic, the realisation of one of my life dreams and it exceeded all expectations.

review 13 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Encounters with wildlife on land and snorkelling.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It was quite an active vacation with 3 to 5 activities a day and to get the most out of it you needed to go on all the walks and snorkelling trips, so be sure your up for that or else find something else to suit you.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the boat staff and the guide were local and so benefited as it provides a relatively good employment opportunity for them but I suspect they benefited me more than I did them. Tourism helps ensure conservation is on the agenda and helps to fund it. They make you very conscious of the need not to interfere with the animals or ecology but I'm sure tourism nevertheless has some negative impacts too, so it's a difficult balance but selfishly, I'm really glad I got to go there

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 18 Jun 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We had a fabulous guide. The Yate Aida Maria and its crew were terrific. Each island stop was so cool. The food was great.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go to the Galapago Islands!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I think it benefited the local economies, and I don't think we negatively impacted the environment...

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the best ever!

review 26 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Visiting two locations I have always wanted to visit, but never had the chance: Machu Picchu and the Galapagos. The sacred valley was also exceptional.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book early and don't worry, Responsible travel did a great job.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes indeed. The hotels and guides, the Yacht on the Galapagos all were environmentally directed and successful

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the best trips we have ever taken.

review 8 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were many memorable aspects of our vacation & I'd single out two: 1. Arriving at Machu Picchu in the mid-morning mist & seeing the site for the first time in this atmospheric way. Then the mist cleared & we were able to see the site in its full majesty. 2. A one-week cruise round the easterly islands of the Galapagos. The opportunity to get within feet of wildlife on land, e.g. sea lions & Blue Footed Boobies & to get close to sea life, e.g. sea lions & Eagle Rays.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be mindful that if traveling on a Galapagos cruise involving land based treks, the terrain can be a bit rough, e.g. lava fields. When we were there (March 2019) the temperature was estimated to be 35C & the hikes were tiring. Worth it - but tiring.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, e.g. the guides we had were local & were without exception, knowledgeable, excellent & thoughtful. The hotels we stayed in for some of the trip employed local people & used local produce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Overall, our vacation exploring parts of Peru, the Galapagos & Ecuador (Quito) was excellent. We had excellent guides, drivers & accommodation throughout our stay. The only downside was that some of the flights with Iberian Airlines were poor & their on-line booking system is rubbish (my technical assessment). Due to a late departure from Gatwick, runway repairs at Madrid we missed a connecting flight & spend a day in Madrid waiting for the next flight.

review 11 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Isla de san Bartolome

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do the trip by land , not by cruise. 6 days are enough to see the worthwile areas.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Nice and interesting . The Galapagos are overhyped and over marketed.

Read the operator's response here:

We're glad you enjoyed a land-based Galapagos trip with us, especially Bartolome. On the ground, we work with an Ecuador-based company and together we help to employ locals on the islands, book locally-owned Galapagos hotels and use guides are from the Galapagos all of which have to adhere to the Galapagos Park regulations in order to operate. Also, as part of the pre-departure information that we send to all our travelers, we include hints and tips on how to help protect the Galapagos - plastics use, saving energy and water, recycling and more - and for every Galapagos booking we receive we donate to the Galapagos Conservation Trust, to help protect this fragile environment.

review 26 Dec 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hard to find one most memorable. The entire trip was great; exceptionally well planned and organized. Ecuador is an amazing country.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Buy seasick patches. Made all the difference in the world. The key to a good Galapagos cruise in our estimation is the quality and talent of the guide.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. There was a conscious effort to promote responsible travel throughout our trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful.

review 8 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The Galapagos cruise itinerary was a once in a lifetime experience. The islands we visited were each very unique so we really were able to get an appreciation for the biodiversity of the region. Ending our trip in the cloud forest was spectacular -- the hiking was fantastic and the accommodations were comfortable and owned by individuals who were committed to the wellbeing of the environment and the local people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring more hiking/outdoor-appropriate clothing for this trip -- you will be spending a decent amount of time being active. Bring plenty of cash for tips and unexpected expenses (shopping, drinks on the boat, etc). Also, be aware that you will spend very little time in Quito unless you extend your trip to make it a point to come back another time and explore the city more. We felt a bit rushed in Quito and wished we had more time to visit the churches and other colonial sites.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I feel that the accommodations as well as the local guides and experts in Cotopaxi, the Galapagos, and the cloud forest were dedicated very much to reducing environmental impacts and supporting conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

All in all, a great vacation. Due to time restrictions, we could only be in Ecuador 9 days so we were limited with the amount of time we could spend in Quito and Cotopaxi. If I had to do it again, I would have made this vacation longer by another 3 or 4 days. But no major complaints! Great memories were made. Thank you for making this trip possible!

review 27 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Snorkelling with turtles, sealions and penguins. Getting so close to and seeing so many different animals and birds.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The sea water is cold you need a wetsuit! Take seasick pills, it can be rough and you don't want to ruin your trip. A cruise is a great way to see so much make the most of it :-)

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

There are a fair number of controls on the Galapagos to limit visitor numbers group sizes etc Wouldn't like to say for sure how much the local people benefitted from the vacation- all those working on the boat were from the islands.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great- the crew on the Angelito really looked after us. Galapagos is a special place to visit...I'll never be able to go wildlife watching get ever again, now I've been spoilt!

review 9 Dec 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Quoting my travel diary on the day we were visiting Isabela Island and in the evening had the opportunity to go to the beach on Puerto Villamil: The aquamarine water is so clear I can easily see my toes digging in the white sand of the seafloor. The water is shallow and warm, and so salty that I can float without any effort. The flavor of the salt is mixing with the taste of the coconut milk I had on the beach. The sun is setting and the clouds are getting darker. Gray pelicans and blue-footed boobies are flying above me, and frequently diving in the water just next to me for catching fish. I notice a sea lion swimming close to me. And then a penguin passing by me in the water. I notice there are three penguins. They look so playful but I guess they also are fishing. I float watching the last rays of light turning the sky orange. The birds continue their diving. The water is so warm. I don't want to leave.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for a rough sea so don't go if you get very sea sick, or at least bring good sea sickness medication. The weather can change quickly so it is a good idea to bring a rain coat, as well as sunblock with high spf. The days are quite hectic with hikes and snorkeling which at times may feel a bit exhausting but, then again, you get to see and experience a lot. Get ready for an amazing trip, and don't forget to take your camera!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I enjoyed the fact that we had two very professional naturalist guides with us the whole time (also required by the Galapagos National Park) who were not only telling us interesting facts about the environment and the conservation projects, but also making sure that we were following all of the National Park rules. All the crew members as well as the naturalist guides were local which was very nice. Also, we visited a few restaurants and shops which benefitted the local community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

For me, the cruise was a combination of agonizing sea sickness and the most wonderful trip I ever had. The M/S Galaven was a very comfortable ship with such a friendly and helpful crew and guides. We had a fantastic group of people on board so I had a great time although traveling solo. I was very pleased with the itinerary of the cruise which really made the most of the days. During the week we got to see practically everything which honestly made it feel well worth the investment. When planning my trip, I was so happy with the quick and helpful contacts from Responsible Travel. I was also very pleased with the operator's knowledgeable, kind and quick service.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy