10 independent reviews for Isle of Mull and Small Isles explorer

Reviews for Isle of Mull and Small Isles explorer

SHOW
9
1
0
0
0

review 29 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing large pods of dolphins swimming alongside.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

-you need to be reasonably fit to negotiate ladders etc. bring water and wind proof clothing. Be prepared for charge of itinerary according to weather conditions.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Low waste, locally sourced food.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful crew. Efficient adaptable captain, amazing chef, and ‘deckie’ with great environmental knowledge.

review 9 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The entire trip was most memorable with many different highlights.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't hesitate just book it. We are really pleased that we did!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used products and services of local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An excellent adventure.

review 24 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing dolphins swimming around our boat 3 days in a row! The puffins and the beauty of the remote islands.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for changing weather conditions. Bring waterproof and warm clothing. Definitely pack some binoculars. There is so much to see.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We bought and ate mussels from a local mussel farm. We helped island trade on Iona. Most of our destinations were unspoilt by mass tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing. Would definitely do another cruise with this company.

review 22 Apr 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting like minded interesting people both guests and crew, great views, walks, food

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

come prepared for some great walking, a bit rugged in places

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

definitely

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, and will think about a repeat.

review 9 May 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting a pod of dolphins was lovely and also close encounters with puffins thanks to Christoph ??

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take very little luggage with you because the cabins are tiny.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Difficult to tell, not sure…

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The kindness and the professionalism of Christoph and his crew was heartwarming. Comfort was basic on board. My cabin was extremely small.

Read the operator's response here:

We really appreciate you taking the time to write some comments regarding your cruise with us. Our three vessels are small cruise ships and Gemini’s cabins ensuite are small but they have been carefully designed when the boat was entirely refurbished recently, and equipped with all modern conveniences. There are pictures of our three vessels' cabins on our website to help our future guests decide if this vacation is suitable for them. What is very special and a delight, is that, as they are small cruise ships, our vessels can take their passengers in places of unspoilt beauty which bigger vessels would not be able to visit. I would like to reassure you regarding our commitment to sustainable tourism. We always support local communities and employ the services of the local marina, shops, services, restaurants and guides. These suppliers employ local staff. We encourage our guests to visit locally important heritage sites, visit local gardens, craft shops and participate in cultural events. We also work with local wildlife rangers and tour guides. With regards to our environmental impact: We ask guests to bring their own water bottles which we refill. We do not use straws, plastic cutlery/plates, drink stirrers. We recycle all of our waste where it is possible to do so. We buy items with minimal packaging. Engine revolutions are kept to a minimum to reduce fuel consumption. We do not travel at night as we anchor in secluded anchorages and in two of our vessels the fuel consuming generators are switched off to give quiet ships. All fuel usage is recorded so that fuel consumption can be tightly monitored. Our company depends largely on the internet and word of mouth for marketing to reduce paper waste. We use low energy LEDs where possible. When purchasing equipment, priority is given to the products that consume less water, energy and fuel. Guests traveling all the way by public transport (bus, ferry or train) will receive a Green Voucher towards the cost of their cruise. We try to use seasonal and locally produced food when possible, which, unfortunately, isn’t always the case, depending on the season and demand. Vegetarians and Vegans are catered for. We are also supporting various wildlife Trusts and were awarded, following a detailed inspection, The Green Tourism's Gold Award. I hope that this will be helpful. We hope to see you soon again for another Hebridean, marine adventure.

review 28 Sep 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Stunning scenery. Seeing two white tailed eagles. The food!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

To expect to see wonderful scenery but to be flexible as the weather dictates the programme. Travel light - the cabins are small.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I recommend putting NcNean's distillery on the programme as it is trying to be fully sustainable. We visited some local shops and spent money with them, as well as a couple of pubs. I don't remember visiting a conservation project but by visiting by boat rather than as individuals in cars you reduce your carbon footprint and get a much better view.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent crew who ensured we had a good time whatever the weather. Will's food was amazing! I would highly recommend your company and its cruises to other people as I really enjoyed it. My only disappointment was not seeing a golden eagle - just a lot of buzzards!

review 15 Sep 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole experience was great but the excellent food and the relaxed atmosphere on the boat were special. And we were incredibly lucky with the weather.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Hope for as good weather as we had.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As far as we could tell, the food was locally sourced. A motorised boat cannot have zero carbon footprint but i don't think we were environmentally unfriendly. The nature of the vacation was such that we did not did not directly support the locally economy through spending.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A wonderful and memorable vacation and a great way to see the islands.

review 13 Sep 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The fab company, super Captain and brilliant cook.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The boat accommodation is cosy with little storage so only take what you need.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I thoroughly enjoy my vacation. Couldn’t ask for more helpful and kind hosts. Food first rate. Nothing was too much trouble.

review 21 Jul 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Mull and the Small Isles were just so beautiful, and the sea unbelievably calm. In normal times I would be booking an exotic international trip- i.e.to the Maldives. This trip was even better than exotic international! The team were absolutely superb, food excellent. A wonderful experience. I will be booking again.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just book!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The trip definitely supported conservation. All supplies were sourced locally

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely superb!

review 28 Jun 2021

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing Dolphins swim along with the boat was memorable, as was walking on the islands we stopped at. Difficult to pick favourites really.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for all weathers! And just relax and enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I would like to think so, by choosing a locally based business this keeps the money in the area.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy