Janet White Spunner review 12 Nov 2019
1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?
Seeing all the animals
2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?
It’s not safe to leave your tent in the night! I brought a Uriwell with me!! Brilliant! Others used a cut down 5 litre water container. A leopard walked through our camp one morning at 5am!Best shopping was at the Falls in Livingstone and I was the only one that had time there. Everyone else was walking the Falls. I took the helicopter ride over the Falls
3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?
Not really. I expected we would all be using filter bottles for our water. Mine had a faulty lid I expected they would have a spare bottle I could buy but Bibi our driver did not approve of them and only one other person had one hot water for tea and coffee was supplied but no drinking water. We had to buy all our own water. I thought this was a foolish policy in heat of 38-40! When we needed to drink at least 3 litres a day each. If someone had become dehydrated the operator might have been blamed. We did reuse plastic bottles filling from 5 ltr containers. We had no chance to buy locally made items as souvenirs except at the airport. I did not walk at the Falls and opted to spend time at the excellent array of stalls of locally made objects and purchased a number of lovely items. I think this could be included as a stop on the tour and help money go back to the villages. I thought we might have had fish one night when we were on the boat, in fact we saw a catch of fish and I was very disappointed when we had supermarket mince!!
4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?
The game viewing was excellent. People should be warned that climbing on to
the jeep is not easy!!!The literature told us we’d have a welcome drink and sundowner on the boat and that we’d be able to buy drinks at their bar. No bar, no drinks!! Also on the long drive through Namibia our guide had no local cash so would not stop in the town we passed through to use a toilet We stopped soon after the town to use the ‘bush’
Read the operator's response here:
Hi Janet, thank you for your review and your detailed feedback. Whilst I’m pleased to hear that overall you had an enjoyable time away, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the way water supply on this trip. The way in which water is managed during a trip will vary from country to country, however for all our trips, we encourage the use of reusable filter bottles and have partnered with Water-to-Go for this particular reason. I appreciate your suggestion to have water filter bottles available for purchase locally, and this is something we will consider.