9 independent reviews for Walking and painting vacation in Crete

Reviews for Walking and painting vacation in Crete

SHOW
8
1
0
0
0

review 23 Oct 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walk to the gorge.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a walking pole if you use one.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 17 Oct 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hiking, walking through the small villages, the varied landscape.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 13 Oct 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everything. I completed 12 paintings/drawings most while being outside with my travel companions. I painted in olive groves, on the seacoast, in front of ancient churches, and on one of my two terraces. Each walk/ hike was filled with beautiful scenery cultural historical ahorticultural and geologic information. Our hosts were wonderful and like family. The family that owned our apartments also treated us so well. The pool was great. breakfasts huge and delicious, and the local foods and wines delicious and inexpensive. Our little village was so charming and safe . I could go on and on. Oh my gosh I had such a great week.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Practice taking long walks and bring just sandals you can wear in the sea and athletic shoes for the walks/hike. They are good about accommodating however people of different physical abilities. I brought my own watercolors and others brought gouache but we were particular about our art supplies. I did use their acrylics. There is no pressure and beginner artists would do fine.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we took public busses, ate and drank local products, went to local museums.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the best trips of my life and I hope to repeat it next year.

review 25 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Loved all of it - lovely location that was so beautiful, great company, good walking, fun painting - a good introduction to Crete!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book it!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Of course - used the local taverna overlooking the sea most nights - delicious food and very friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very warm and friendly organisers who made you very welcome.

review 23 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The hosts, Camille and Iakovos, their local knowledge, the varied walks and locations for painting, and the company of the small group of fellow participants.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Travel light, take a sun hat and beach shoes for swimming in the sea and be prepared for a stress free vacation in a lovely quiet corner of Crete.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We stayed in accommodation and ate in restaurants belonging to friendly local people and we got around on foot or on local buses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I had wonderful time.

review 23 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hard to pick out one aspect alone but probably the walks up in the hills.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't be afraid to attempt any of the walks and don't worry if you are not an experienced painter.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the activities were effectively carbon neutral and trod lightly on the earth. None of my group had cars and travelled locally by bus. Small local tavernas and producers benefitted from our custom.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Overall a very lovely experience led by a great couple whose approach was flexible to suit differing abilities. I intend to return.

review 18 May 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The fabulous walks in the hidden parts of Crete, led by charming and informative hosts

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The season doesn’t really start until the 15th May when more places would be open and the weather might be a bit warmer

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate in local restaurants. We took buses or walked everywhere

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A great success. Beautiful and varied walks and encouraging painting sessions.

Read the operator's response here:

Many thanks indeed for your positive and considered review. We would like to point out out that the later start to the season was only this year because of Covid restrictions only recently relaxed. Usually tavernas and cafes are open from the end of April.

review 22 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Really friendly and interactive group. Camille and her partner Jacob were warm, gentle and welcoming, it set the tone for the group. Jacob knows the area very well and was an excellent guide. Lovely part of Crete. Enjoyed painting in locations.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Practical Support for painting but limited teaching. Walks maybe would be better starting early so not so hot rather than 9-9.30am.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Recycling at accommodation. Used local buses to get around further afield. Supported small out of the way hotel in Nopigia

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Good.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. In answer to your comments, we do not advertise the painting workshops with tuition, although Camille often gives this in response to requests for help. The aim of the workshops is for guests to enjoy painting 'en plein air' or in the studio with like-minded vacation makers, whatever their experience. As for starting the walks earlier, we can change the start time in response to people's needs but most do not want to start earlier than 09.00

review 12 Oct 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I visited Crete in September and was warmly welcomed by Camille & Iakovos. Due to COVID, I've got a bespoke vacation as a result! :) Every day we discussed and planned our next day programme and it was as per my wishes and interest. We did walks to various locations and every place we went was different with beautiful views and surroundings. My interest as an artist was to reflect on all the new images and colors, and I have a lot of photographs I took during the walks and plan to do a series of Crete paintings. After the walks and rest, Camille and I went to sketching sessions outside and I enjoyed them as well, and we had wonderful talks about art and life. Thanks to Camille I tried egg tempera technique first time and I loved the experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Get your sketchbooks and walking boots ready and you will never forget the experience!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The experience is unique as you will visit places that you will not see otherwise - real rural Crete with small villages, ancient churches, olive groves and herds of goats. It is "all inclusive" but in a very organic and natural way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Camile and Iakovos are amazing hosts, warm, friendly, attentive and supportive, and I would highly recommend their tours.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy